11/10 Phoenix Stalling Need Answer

Status
Not open for further replies.

Scdal

Member Since 2020
I have been propping Phoenix’s BG up all day with fancy feast hc and honey. He has eaten 2 whole cans of fancy feast hc as well as honey. It is now time for his insulin. I have been posting on the Lantus forum but no one is answering. I got in trouble for putting 911 in my title earlier today because I couldn't get a response.

I desperately need advice. I have had to skip 2 doses in two days because of low numbers. Phoenix was been getting 9.5 units for the last 2 days. Should I give him 4 units or skip? Please Respond
 
It was 99.
So same as the +10? Is that after no food for two hours, or did you have to feed to keep it that high?

Also, how are you holding up and are you able to monitor closely overnight? It looks like you’ve had a bit of a stressful run lately…
 
So same as the +10? Is that after no food for two hours, or did you have to feed to keep it that high?

Also, how are you holding up and are you able to monitor closely overnight? It looks like you’ve had a bit of a stressful run lately…
No, that was with no food but he was stuffed. For breakfast, he ate a cup of chicken hearts and liver, then lunch was three quarters of a cup chicken hearts, dinner was one half cup of chicken hearts plus a beef meatball with vitamins. In between this, he had 2 cans of fancy feast hc and honey.

It is almost an hour past his PMPS. I decided to give him 4.5 units instead of 9.5. I am terrified this is still going to keep him low.

I am exhausted! I live by myself on five acres. I have hardly been able to do anything all day. Just to walk to the end of my driveway and back takes about 15 minutes. I have been checking Phoenix every 20 minutes all day. He has a tendency to drop fast.

I really do appreciate your help. I hate to say this, but I think the no response on the Lantus board is deliberate.
 
That’s a lot of food.

I don’t like to give dosing advice, but I do think it’s a wise choice to have shot something rather than skipped. He’s shown historically that a skipped shot leads to high numbers, so hopefully the reduced dose will keep a lid on things and also let you get a bit of sleep. It’s just so hard to think clearly when one is exhausted. And remember, you’re not shooting the 99, you’re shooting where he’s heading in a few hours.

I do wonder whether Phoenix’s allergies/ asthma and/or the addition of levalbuteral is playing a role in this. It doesn’t seem that it’s commonly prescribed for cats and I saw your note about his respiration rate going up after treatment. Don’t know what, if anything, to make of that, but good that you noted it in your spreadsheet.

I can’t stick around all night but I will check in on you later. Hope you have an uneventful evening. Seems that your stress level is pretty high right now so take a deep breath and hang in as best as you can. I completely understand. :bighug:
 
Well I must have missed something for you to think it's deliberate...

Anyhoo, having just been on the Lantus board, I personally did not look at your thread tonight because it had the same (similar?) title as this morning, so I thought you had just forgotten to change title (and therefore I prioritized a few other cats/post hypos I'd been following). Speaking for myself, if I had seen a PS number and something like "pm dose help please" I'd have popped on over
 
That’s a lot of food.

I don’t like to give dosing advice, but I do think it’s a wise choice to have shot something rather than skipped. He’s shown historically that a skipped shot leads to high numbers, so hopefully the reduced dose will keep a lid on things and also let you get a bit of sleep. It’s just so hard to think clearly when one is exhausted. And remember, you’re not shooting the 99, you’re shooting where he’s heading in a few hours.

I do wonder whether Phoenix’s allergies/ asthma and/or the addition of levalbuteral is playing a role in this. It doesn’t seem that it’s commonly prescribed for cats and I saw your note about his respiration rate going up after treatment. Don’t know what, if anything, to make of that, but good that you noted it in your spreadsheet.

I can’t stick around all night but I will check in on you later. Hope you have an uneventful evening. Seems that your stress level is pretty high right now so take a deep breath and hang in as best as you can. I completely understand. :bighug:
Thank you so much for your help. Phoenix's BG at +1 was 247. I didn't want to give him a full dose because I thought he would go lower than he already had.
Phoenix's breathing worries me. He has been taking levalbuterol since Saturday. It doesn't seem to be helping much. I need to find someone on this forum who has a cat with asthma. I am going to call his vet tomorrow but they are very bad about responding.
 
For asthma, my cat (non-diabetic) used a Flovent inhaler that fit into an AeroKat chamber. Are you familiar?
No, Phoenix had his first asthma attack in June. The vet recommended I give Phoenix Zyrtec. He has been fine since until this week. He gave me a prescription for the Levalbuterol. It is not helping much. Phoenix is not gasping but his breathing is faster than it should be. I can see his chest moving faster when he is laying down. I am going to call his vet again in the morning. Thank you for your help.
 
For asthma, my cat (non-diabetic) used a Flovent inhaler that fit into an AeroKat chamber. Are you familiar?
I want to thank you for your help last night. It was very kind of you and very much appreciated. I was frantic and very tired. Even though I have gained some experience in handling low numbers, Phoenix’s BG has been dropping so dramatically lately that I don't know how to handle it. According to the guidelines, he wasn't due for an insulin decrease. Yet, I was terrified to give him a full dose last night due to his low numbers all day.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top