11/10 Pepper PMPS 393, AMPS 88, +1 199, +2 273, +6 407

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nancy&Pepper (GA)

Member Since 2012
previous condo

I was going to get up in the early morning hours to test Pepper, but our power went out and I didn't wake up till +9. I tested Pepper right away and holy cow! I don't know how much lower he might have gone earlier. I was going to test again in an hour (that would actually be in a half an hour from now as I post this). Should I be testing sooner? And I actually gave him 5 units last night instead of 4.75 units because I couldn't for the life of me get the plunger on the syringe to stop at 4.75. It either stopped at 5.0 or at 4.5 and after 3 tries and wasting Lantus I gave up and gave him the 5.0 units because i thought he was probably going to get a dose increase anyway by tomorrow. Now I want to know - at AMPS in two and a half hours, assuming he's above 200, should I give him 5.0 units or try 4.75 again? And if he's not above 200, what do I do then? I've certainly never had that problem before!

Update: It looks like he's still dropping. Now I'm getting worried. What should I be doing?
 
Re: 11/10 Pepper PMPS 393, +3 370, +9 78, +11 68 - Worried

First, let's see where Pepper's at when AMPS rolls around. Just so you're prepared, you may want to look over this info on dealing with low pre-shots.

I doubt that Pepper went lower than the 78 while you were asleep. If the numbers are continuing to drop, chances are they weren't lower. I also think you were fine to increase. It had been 6 cycles since your last increase. (FWIW, you might have used a new syringe if you couldn't measure the dose accurately with the one you were using.)
 
Re: 11/10 Pepper PMPS 393, +3 370, +9 78, +11 68 - Worried

So relieved you are there, Sienne. I did use a new syringe each time I tried to get the correct dose from the vial. I didn't want to chance contaminating the Lantus. I will look at the link about dealing with low numbers. I've read it before but I can't seem to remember any of it now!
 
Re: 11/10 Pepper PMPS 393, +3 370, +9 78, +11 68 - Worried

Nancy

Sienne asked me to check in on you as she has some errands. First, I need just a quick moment to read the condo and look at Pepper's SS.

Could you please take down the 911? We gotcha covered now :-D :-D :-D BRB!
 
Re: 11/10 Pepper PMPS 393, +3 370, +9 78, +11 68 - Worried

Nancy

A few questions for you:
1. Do you have plenty of strips and a reliable meter?

2. Do you have a can or two of HC food with gravy and some syrup/honey/karo?

3. Are you able to be there all day to test/monitor him?

4. Are you comfortable with shooting a green number? Someone will be with you. I'll stay with you and if I have to leave, I'll be sure another experienced member is with you.
 
Re: 11/10 Pepper PMPS 393, +3 370, +9 78, +11 68 - Worried

Hi, Thanks for being there! Yes, I have plenty of strips and a Relion micro meter. I have some Gravy Lover's Fancy Feast and both Karo syrup and honey - which is best? I will be home all day, so I can monitor. I have read that newbies shouldn't shoot below 200, so should I really shoot if he's low? I'm nervous.
 
Re: 11/10 Pepper PMPS 393, +3 370, +9 78, +11 68 - Worried

Hi Nancy, welcome to LantusLand! I haven't visited before but wanted to stop in to say hello. Marje is the best and she will give you excellent advice.

I wanted to clarify something that Sienne said. You always use a new syringe when giving a shot (unless there is absolutely no other choice). What she meant was if you couldn't measure accurately with the syringe that you had, just throw it away and get another one for this shot. Someone suggested to us a long time ago (it might have been Sienne :-D ), to twist the plunger to squeeze out drops (rather than pushing straight up).
Liz, Zener's other mom
 
Re: 11/10 Pepper PMPS 393, +3 370, +9 78, +11 68 - Worried

Hi Liz. When I re-read it I realized what she meant, but I tried three different syringes and I couldn't seem to get the dose right with any of them. And I had heard the advice about twisting the plunger like a screw and that didn't seem to make it move upward at all. I may have to practice with one and some water.
 
Re: 11/10 Pepper PMPS 393, +3 370, +9 78, +11 68 - Worried

Don't be nervous. We won't leave you :-D :-D I want to ask you to not feed him, please, ok?

Let me give you some options. Yes, the sticky does state new members should not shoot below 150. But the caveat is most new members don't have much data when they see that first lower number. You do. Granted, we don't know how he reacts to HC food so that is something to consider. He might be carb sensitive or he might not be. Also, in terms of honey vs karo...ECID. Some time IF he gets low enough to need it, try one and the next time try the other and see which works better for him. I believe Sienne uses honey but it didn't work well for Gracie. I only use karo or something similar when she's in the 20s but I know her so we'll be more conservative with Pepper and won't let him go that low before we have you use karo or honey, ok?

So....back to the options:
1. if he's still coming down, you can stall without feeding, test every 20 mins, and see if he rises and then shoot the full dose (5u) on the rise. This depends on how long you can stall without messing up your schedule too much. We make up the stalled time in 15 min increments each cycle or 30 mins one cycle a day;

2. you can shoot a reduced dose on time

3. you can skip

IMHO, if he's still coming down, I'd opt for door number one. Normally, I like to see members shoot full dose on time when kitty is above 50 and it's safe. BUT....we don't know yet how he reacts to food management and I think it is a wise decision to stall a bit and see if he starts back up. Especially because he hasn't been low, his liver should start to panic and raise his numbers.

Regarding door #2, even if you shoot a reduced dose...or BCS as we call it....the depot will from the larger doses will still affect this cycle and so you could still see a busy cycle with low numbers. You likely wouldn't see effects until a subsequent cycle.

So think about it, post his +12 when you get it, don't feed, don't shoot (unless he is quickly rising....then go ahead and shoot your 5u).

Questions? :-D :-D :-D
 
Re: 11/10 Pepper PMPS 393, +3 370, +9 78, +11 68 - Worried

I think would like to try stalling until he rises. That sounds pretty good. So, if he's rising, but only a little bit, is that still the time to shoot? I mean, he just needs to be rising not falling still?
 
Re: 11/10 Pepper PMPS 393, +3 370, +9 78, +11 68 - Worried

Nancy,
I have a feeling the same thing happened with Pepper that KT does often - she didn't eat thru the nighttime cycle thus the dose works on the bg that's there. The numbers keep dropping thru the cycle because there's no food there to work on. I agree with Sienne, when you caught that +9, she most likely had NOT gone lower than that, she's still falling. You've got the BESTEST advisors we have in Sienne and Marje! You'll be fine! I know it's scary!

BIG HUG!
 
Re: 11/10 Pepper PMPS 393, +3 370, +9 78, +11 68 - Worried

I think stalling is a great option.

I think I'd like to see him over 100 for you to just shoot on time, ok? We will still have you watch him closely. So if you are comfortable doing it, if he's over 100, shoot, feed him a good meal of LC, and then I'll want you to get a +1 and +2.

If he's under 100, don't feed, post, and we'll talk about it ;-)

eta: nancy...I've got to test and feed Gracie right now. So if you get the +12 and post...just give me a few minutes, k? I'll be back!! It won't take me more than 10 mins with her.
 
Re: 11/10 Pepper PMPS 393, +3 370, +9 78, +11 68 - Worried

Nancy --

Before you insert the syringe into the vial, do you move the plunger up and down a couple of times? There's a silicone lubricant in the syringe. If you move the plunger up and down, it helps to spread it out so you get a smoother movement and you are usually able to dial in the dose by twisting the plunger.

I agree with Marje -- stalling is fine. I would just not want you to get too far off schedule. I also tend to think that since Pepper hasn't seen green numbers, you're probably going to see a bounce at some point.
 
Re: 11/10 Pepper PMPS 393, +3 370, +9 78, +11 68 - Worried

Hi there, just another handy hint re syringes that I find works for me, when I grab a new one out of the box, I take off the cap and slide the plunger up and down quite a few times, to sort of get it lubed up! then I draw a teensy amount into the syringe and fire it straight back out into the sink, keeping my finger on the plunger afterwards so it stays tight against the needle end, and then draw the 'real' dose in at that time. Twisting to squeeze out a drop at a time often works too. I find this makes for less bubbles, seems to lube up the plunger a little bit and sometimes makes it easier to tweek out a half dose. since most of us rarely use up a whole vial before it expires, automatically wasting just a smidge each time to get a proper dose works for me. Just a thought!

sounds like your kitty is keeping you busy!!!
 
Re: 11/10 Pepper PMPS 393, +3 370, +9 78, +11 68, +12 79

Hi Nancy

Just saw the +12. That could be meter variance but my guess is he's on his way up. If it were me (the newbie me not the oldie me :lol: :lol: :lol: ), I'd shoot the full dose now and feed. And then be sure and get a +1 and +2.

What do you think? You can stall another 15-20 mins if you are more comfortable with it.
 
Re: 11/10 Pepper PMPS 393, +3 370, +9 78, +11 68, +12 79

Would it make him go too high if I stall about 15 minutes? Or do you think the best thing to do is shoot now?
 
Re: 11/10 Pepper PMPS 393, +3 370, +9 78, +11 68, +12 79

Welll....my crystal ball is not working so well today for Pepper ;-) Some of these cats can really zoom in a short amount of time but I think if you are more comfortable waiting 15 mins, that is totally fine.

I wouldn't let you shoot if I didn't think it was safe. But I also know that first time is scary especially if you don't know how he will respond to food.

I'll see you in 15 with his first number. If he's up even more, I'd suggest you shoot. That way, you don't have to worry about making up any time.

Sound like a plan?
 
Re: 11/10 Pepper PMPS 393, +3 370, +9 78, +11 68, +12 79, 88

Yup.I would. And feed. Could you please get a +1 and post?

Great job!!
 
Re: 11/10 Pepper PMPS 393, +3 370, +9 78, +11 68, +12 79, 88

Nice shooting!!

I'm going to be gone for a while and won't be able to check in (I don't think).

Remember, you'll want to start a new thread with the 88 as your AMPS for today.
 
Re: 11/10 Pepper PMPS 393, +3 370, +9 78, +11 68, +12 79, 88

Thanks Sienne, I didn't know I neededto start a new thread. And thanks for your help!

Nancy
 
Re: 11/10 Pepper PMPS 393, +3 370, +9 78, +11 68, +12 79, 88

If this is you're 11/10 condo, it's fine. (Most people start with the AM cycle. No worries.)
 
Re: 11/10 Pepper PMPS 393, AMPS 88, +1 199

Yes..go ahead and feed him and test again at +2. If he's still on the way up....and I think he will be, then give him a break and just test mid cycle.

On your SS, could you please put the 79 in the +11 column? So it would show in that column as "68; 79 @ 12". Then in the AMPS, you can put "88 @ 12.25". That way we know you stalled.

Great job!
 
Re: 11/10 Pepper PMPS 393, AMPS 88, +1 199

I revised the SS. The +11 won't stay green for some reason. Thanks for all your help. I'll post again at +2.

Nancy
 
Re: 11/10 Pepper PMPS 393, AMPS 88, +1 199

The SS is set up for numbers so when you add a symbol, the rules don't apply. Just put your cursor in the box you want to color green then go up to the editing tools bar above the SS itself and click on the "text background color" option which is a white colored "A" in a dark background. When you click on it, you'll see a bunch of. Odors. Select the green we use. voila!
 
Re: 11/10 Pepper PMPS 393, AMPS 88, +1 199, +2 273

It's now +2. Pepper is at 273. Headed back up, I hope he doesn't go too high. Many, many thanks to Marje and everyone for all the guidance and hand-holding. You saved me from a full-blown panic attack!
 
Re: 11/10 Pepper PMPS 393, AMPS 88, +1 199, +2 273

NOW he's going to bounce like a big rubber ball so don't panic when you see even higher numbers. Mr. Liver is just doing his job, panicking a bit because he doesn't yet think that low is 'normal'.

KT and I are doing the LOW dance from not eating overnight....

MR. Pepper, I'm sorry I called you a 'she', our Pepper IS a 'she'...please forgive me if I do it again too, OK?

HUGS NANCY! You did GREAT!!! Next time it won't be quite as scary, time after that will be even better!
 
Re: 11/10 Pepper PMPS 393, AMPS 88, +1 199, +2 273

you did super, nancy!!! Looks like you get some time off now.

have a great day!
 
Re: 11/10 Pepper PMPS 393, AMPS 88, +1 199, +2 273

I hope you have a great day too, Marje! Lyresa - I think you might be right about Pepper dropping low because he didn't eat all night. I usually feed him at +3 before I head off to bed, but he only ate a few bites. I leave food out for him overnight, too, but he never touches it. Hope KT doesn't give you too much trouble today!

Nancy
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top