Thank you! But nervous wreck over here. But I have faith in the people helping us here.A new lowest PS, congrats! It’ll get more comfortable with time, I promise.
Good luck with the increase! Hoping for some safe surfs![]()
It is scary as the numbers get a bit lower than you are used to! We all understand.A little scary. Just under 300, but going up to 3u as said here yesterday. I was very nervous after several days of high bounce. But I trust the people here know a LOT more than I.
So here we go!
I'm try the +1.5 tonight.
I know this is going to sound goofy, but I haven't switched over just to Relion for 2 reasons. 1- it requires 0.5 for the blood drop and if not often gives me error readings. And 2- His glucose numbers look better than they actually are.:/ And I don't like that. The fact that they're so different still (341vs253 just now), proves that point to me. I realize that this all started by using human meters for pets, but that's because it's all that was available. Science shows that glucose is measured differently on humans vs cats. I've seen it before, but just looking it up now, it says this. So aren't I getting an actual accurate idea of his true readings using my pet meter? When I go back to the doctor eventually, and she takes a test and it shows it's not 100 like my human meter at home is showing me, but a good 170-200? That's going to be a problem, no?Why not switch to the Relion completely? Nico's numbers will already look better and it's what most use anyway.
Regardless, looking better already, you're doing great!
Thanks! It's why I haven't bothered switching. But it would be good to know what the equivalent would be in numbers when he's doing better. Like say the 300's. If my pet meter says that it's much better than the human. It's confusing indeed.Jumping in to say we do have members that use pet calibrate meters (@Laurie&Petey and others) and an adjustment is made to the lowest number in the SS (BG < 68 instead of 50). Maybe Laurie can weigh in on the pros and cons. I imagine it’d be easier to get (more aligned) advice with the human meter, but the low adjustment helps avoid major hypos). I made the switch from pet to human and I’ve also used a Libre here or there… all 3 give different numbers. What I’ve found now that we’re almost a year into the human meter is that it gets very hard to make a full switch after you’ve grown familiar with a certain set of numbers… it also gets difficult to switch from human to pet because it feels like a massive step backwards when the numbers increase (even though technically the same). Regardless, it’s important to use what you’re comfortable with and can manage.
Thanks for the tag @Briana + Binx1- it requires 0.5 for the blood drop and if not often gives me error readings. And 2- His glucose numbers look better than they actually are.:/ And I don't like that
I was figuring accuracy was more important to me at this stage really. Not being a pro, I was very concerned and I'd already had the meter for another. She went into quick remission so I only use it for spot checking now.Thanks for the tag @Briana + Binx
The two reasons you listed are why I still use the AT3 too. It's also an easier conversation with my vet who is also using and comparing with a pet meter. And I guess I'm just not very frugal if I'm willing to pay for those strips!
That being said, we are the rare few. And I never drive myself crazy trying to use both. Once in awhile when he is pretty low, I do test on my Relion out of curiosity and that number is verrry low in those cases.
I think it really comes down to how much money would you like to save!![]()
The pet meter spreadsheet will turn lime (too low) for 67 or less, and my understanding is 70 to 130 is ideal and of course we want them in the greens as much as possible which will be 99 - 68.I was figuring accuracy was more important to me at this stage really. Not being a pro, I was very concerned and I'd already had the meter for another. She went into quick remission so I only use it for spot checking now.
But how do you know what the good, not so good, bad, and REALLY bad numbers are?
I think I read before 70 is hypo, and under 120 is good? But not positive. Aside from that I have no clue.
My vet originally insisted it HAD to be a pet meter the first time I bought it. So I never looked at human ones.
I am so going to find today right now. I've actually taken a break and for the last 2 whole days, haven't read anything for either Nico or my newly diagnosed cancer kitty. It was getting to the point I was constantly reading and kept falling asleep with the phone in my hand.The pet meter spreadsheet will turn lime (too low) for 67 or less, and my understanding is 70 to 130 is ideal and of course we want them in the greens as much as possible which will be 99 - 68.
We all started out in those scary numbers, you're already seeing progress so that is good!
There is a sticky for pet meters too that is a great reference when you're not overwhelmed with info.
Thanks! I also wanted to know what he was doing comparatively with the human meter. Where his colors would be if going by that.I personally went back and forth between pet meter and human meter a few times over the years, and I would just suggest for your own sanity to pick a meter and stick with it. Typically the difference between pet meters and human meters is greater at higher ranges, and will get closer at lower blood glucose values.
Moreover, all meters can have an allowable +/-15-20% variance per FDA standards for accuracy. What might be helpful to consider is that you are looking at the overall trends and patterns in BG values over several days regardless of the meter you use.
There's a tab in my spreadsheet with important info that I copied from someone else. It has helped many times when panic sets in and I can't think straight. Another good reason to pick one meter or the other so you can follow one set of guideliness.I definitely need to find that link, so thank you for telling me about it.

Yes, with the human meter reference numbers. There isn’t a TR dosing method link that is specifically written for pet meter users.I just thought of something, if I do stick with the pet meter, I need to find out what the dose is to not go up. We're doing the TR method and Wendy told me last night we don't go up if it's below 200. But that's the human meter I guess? I definitely need to find that link, so thank you for telling me about it.
You’re welcome, and btw no criticism here, I did probably hundreds of comparisons myself between my pet and human meter, so I completely understand the inclinationThanks! I also wanted to know what he was doing comparatively with the human meter. Where his colors would be if going by that.![]()
Regardless of meter. The only difference for action points in the TR dosing method is that for newly diagnosed cats you reduce if under 68 on the AT and under 50 with a human meter. Where it becomes tricky is for cats that have been diabetic for over a year, the reduction point changes to under 40 on a human meter - but we have no equivalent for the pet meter. Also, the other way cats can earn reductions is a week under 100 on the human meter. Again, we don't have the equivalent for the pet meter. I'm also saying AT, as that is more commonly used than the Advocate pet meter.Wendy told me last night we don't go up if it's below 200. But that's the human meter I guess?
Yes, thank you I did not mean to imply there was a sticky for pet meters. Sorry about that. Wendy and others always fill in those blanks for me when needed.Whoops I wrote too quickly, my brain went straight at the suggestion there was a link on the forum somewhere specific to TR written for pet meter use, and that’s perhaps not what was meant. Sorry for any confusion; I’m glad Wendy clarified![]()