11/10 Marley Lantus AMPS 129, +2 100, +3 100, +4 106, PMPS 235, +2 175, +4 195

Jdubs

Member Since 2022
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-49-5-72-5-5-92-pmps-228-2-248-10-175.270588/

Interesting his last night +10 was 174, then his AMPS was 142 . I gave him a bt of food first and then in a very out of character for him, just before I was going to give him his shot and the other bit of food, he went out for an hour!!! So I didnt end up giving him his insulin til 45 mins later than I should. I tested him and he was 129...so this became his AMPS

So yesterday this morning +10 174 I gave him a snack
AMPS 142 but I didnt get the shot in, but he did have some food.
45 minutes later 129

So I put the 142 on the speed sheet as +11 from yesterday and I put the AMPS as 129

I thought this was interesting as with food without insulin he'd normally have a rise - or stay the same.

Do you think that is a sign hes making his own insulin
Or that he hasn't reached nadir yet from last nights shot?

Or is it impossible to say?

I feel like I will need to be on hypo watch today.

I mean, I know that is an everyday thing, but particularly today.
 
Last edited:
Cats on a very small dose of insulin often see their numbers drop after food. That's because their pancreas are contributing to insulin. In Marley's case it is possibly a late nadir on account of bounce clearing. Numbers can drop all the way to the end of the cycle and even spill over on to the next cycle (before onset).
 
His numbers are really looking good of late! Watch for some extra momentum today from bounce clearing. The higher depot is still at play.
When do you have to leave for work?
 
She you say extra momentum so you mean that he might go high or go low?
I’m imagining you mean low otherwise it wouldn’t matter when I had to leave?

so I have some jobs to do from home so I can stay here til plus 4

I’m still at that flexible job so I can work around d Markey.

it’s a hassle and adds extra hours with the journies and I do have quite a few other things to do……. but obviously that becomes irrelevant if he’s in any danger

do you have any idea when the most vulnerable time might be or is there absolutely no way of knowing. I’m guessing the later!
 
Yea his numbers have been great eh!

Tgank you so so much for all your help with him!!


I know he was making headway slowly but he seemed to really respond the the CBD oil. That’s when he really got more consistent

mum about to run out and gutted to see the brand I get doesn’t seem to be available in the uk anymore……
 
She you say extra momentum so you mean that he might go high or go low?
I’m imagining you mean low otherwise it wouldn’t matter when I had to leave?
Yes, sorry, I meant downward momentum. Try and feed and test every hour till +4?
 
He's behaving very differently today.

The last few weeks now its colder he is usually in by +1 (having spent a few hours pre amp reshot out and about) But today hes out and no sign of him.

I wonder what is going on!

So I haven't yet managed the +1 feed
 
The cat feeder thing is so tricky. As if he doesnt eat it and it gets to the next hour, the food disappears as the bowl moves on to the next feed. Also I have been putting it on my bed because that is where he is usually asleep by +1 but I know he will change where he sleeps. Sometimes when it goes off and I know he's clocked the noise, he cant actually be bothered to get up. If I put a finger of food in front of him he eats it, or if I move the bowl to where he is he eats it but he just loves his sleep and sometimes will happily not move!
 
Well...the high carb food arrived last night but it isnt actually high carb. It was too difficult to see from the website as they had ingredients but not the breakdown I needed for the calculator. I went off the recommendation from here that it was a viable brand and that the ones with potato pushed the carb number up .....but anyway now I have the tins and pushes with the right data on it turns out its all lowish carb. It was a game that didnt work out.

I have some specified definite hc (from another list someone else gave me on here) on my next shop but I haven't booked a delivery date. Was trying to put it as late as poss for economical reasons, but will book it in for ASAP now.
 
Will he not eat his usual raw food if a little honey is added to it? That's people who feed raw do to increase carb% .
 
That is what I originally wanted to do but I felt like some people were saying it was better to get actual HC food with carbs as they release sugars bit slower than honey or actual sugar due to complexity of molecule.

But essentially it would feel healthier for Marley and its much easier for me if we could stick to his raw food with a good quality honey.

That is what I did the night of his hypo. To be honest it didnt increase it that much until I used the yoghurt...but I think I took people too literally and put in the tiniest amount of honey. How much honey do I actually need to put in to a teaspoon of food?
 
The cat feeder thing is so tricky. As if he doesnt eat it and it gets to the next hour, the food disappears as the bowl moves on to the next feed. Also I have been putting it on my bed because that is where he is usually asleep by +1 but I know he will change where he sleeps. Sometimes when it goes off and I know he's clocked the noise, he cant actually be bothered to get up. If I put a finger of food in front of him he eats it, or if I move the bowl to where he is he eats it but he just loves his sleep and sometimes will happily not move!
That sounds just like my Herman which is why I am hesitant to get an auto feeder. Herman rarely goes to to seek food because he has trained me so well to bring his snacks to him, wherever he may be (and yes, that’s often in my bed - if you told me a year ago I would be feeding my cat stinky wet food in bed with me I’d gave not believed it!)
 
Cats on a very small dose of insulin often see their numbers drop after food. That's because their pancreas are contributing to insulin. In Marley's case it is possibly a late nadir on account of bounce clearing. Numbers can drop all the way to the end of the cycle and even spill over on to the next cycle (before onset).
Just read this and am wondering to myself if that might apply to Herman now and if when he has a low preshot (like this morning) if I should go straight to mc instead of lc.
 
How much honey do I actually need to put in to a teaspoon of food?
It can be as little as a drop. It all depends on how much you want to carb him up which will be a function of what kind of cycle is underway and where he is in the cycle. Later in the cycle, you typically need less carbs to give his numbers a boost. It also depends on how carb sensitive he is.

It's a bit of trial and error and can take a few attempts to figure out.
 
Looking like a repeat of yesterday. Give a snack and get a +3?
You could even feed him the 5-6% food you have, if he will eat that.
 
It can be as little as a drop. It all depends on how much you want to carb him up which will be a function of what kind of cycle is underway and where he is in the cycle. Later in the cycle, you typically need less carbs to give his numbers a boost. It also depends on how carb sensitive he is.

It's a bit of trial and error and can take a few attempts to figure out.
Ok great thank you.
Looking like a repeat of yesterday. Give a snack and get a +3?
You could even feed him the 5-6% food you have, if he will eat that.
I will def test at +3 and feed.

Ideally I'd prefer to stick to his normal food until he goes too low.

Doesn't more healing happen in the lower numbers, (as long as he is safe) and the pancreas more likely to wake up when in the low numbers?

If the dose is insulin dose is too high for a raw diet, I would rather lower the dose than feed slightly higher carb less natural (cooked) to make the dose work...if that makes sense.......?
 
That sounds just like my Herman which is why I am hesitant to get an auto feeder. Herman rarely goes to to seek food because he has trained me so well to bring his snacks to him, wherever he may be (and yes, that’s often in my bed - if you told me a year ago I would be feeding my cat stinky wet food in bed with me I’d gave not believed it!)
What we do for our cats!!!



I am going to persevere with the cat feeder as I really need to get a better job that will require me to be out of the house more.

So I am going to have to wait on him less and see if that helps!!
 
Doesn't more healing happen in the lower numbers, (as long as he is safe) and the pancreas more likely to wake up when in the low numbers?
Yes. 50-100 mg/dl on a human meter is the range when pancreas get a chance to heal. The reason I suggested slightly higher carbs was to prevent a dip below 50 or a sharp dive which can contribute to bouncing.

If the dose is insulin dose is too high for a raw diet, I would rather lower the dose than feed slightly higher carb less natural (cooked) to make the dose work...if that makes sense.......?
Sometimes you have to intervene with higher carbs to slow drops. Either to prevent a reduction - reductions earned in bounce clearing cycles often fail - that way you can keep them at a good dose. The other reason is to flatten the curve since sharp drops trigger bounces.

Today, Marley is clearing a bounce and the higher depot is still at play. You also have to leave for work after +4. Feeding carbs earlier in the cycle is better (than feeding them later) since the insulin action is stronger then. Feeding carbs later can reduce duration and cause a sharp rise in numbers.


Using Food to Manipulate the Curve
 
Goodness its so complicated!!

Ok I cant pretend I fully understand as I keep thinking ive grasped it then 10 more questions come into my mind!

Didnt he already clear the bounce and that is how he can be low?

Sorry if I am a really slow learner and thank you
 
+3 100

So he stabilised at 100

Do you think I'd be safe as he's stayed at the same number to stay with his LC?
 
No worries. thank you! Perfect.

So.....+4 106

But because his cat food is in an automatic feeder and he was so late having his shot today. He has actually had all his feed, the +4 feed was actually at +3 hours...it all got a bit mixed up.

So should I give him now extra food at his real today +4 (which is now - I just took the +4 test)

Are we feeling he is safe to leave now so I can go to work?
 
When you get the line greens that hang on fur hours like the other night is when hc food works better than just adding honey because the honey works fast but can stop working just as quickly. You can add a little higher mc to his lc since combined with food might bring him up and stay where you want him to be.
 
Last edited:
When you get the line greens that hang on fur hours like the other night is when hc food works better than just adding honey because the honey works fast but can stop working just as quickly. You can add a little higher to mc and since combined with food might bring him up and stay where you want him to be
Ok thank you!
 
Back
Top