11/10 kit AMPS 288, +3.25 285, +6.75 211, +9.5 95,+11.5 48, PMPS 55,+3.25 95,+6 100

Well done team Kit! :D

@tiffmaxee From the Handling Lower Preshot Numbers Sticky, a trick those of us with late nadir cats use:

Some general rules when stalling (ECID):
  • 50s or higher – don’t feed. The number will bump up on its own soon due to the insulin wearing off.
  • 40s or lower – you have a couple of choices.
    • When 40s occur at the end of the cycle, it can be beneficial to withhold food and test in 15-20 minutes to determine if kitty is on the rise or hasn’t reached nadir yet.
If they are hanging in the 40s for a while, or if they are still dropping, it is ok to feed a tsp or two of LC and retest. This is very tricky. You want to avoid feeding too much while you’re waiting for them to go over 50, because you don’t want to artificially inflate the number with food.
 
a trick those of us with late nadir cats use
fed her or not.

wendy taught us this trick awhile ago the first time this happened and we freaked out, er, asked for help.

so no, we didnt feed. but when we did feed after pmps, we gave a slightly higher than normal carb meal as elise taught us early on in our days of shooting low.

and, if we hadnt seen the natural rise, then we would have next tried the "shoot the rise" technique
feed a tsp or two of LC and retest
marje helped us with that version some time back and we have also used it successfully a few times as well.

a half hour until PMPS
this always feels like an awkward part of the cycle for exactly how long it is.
in our world, the time from am+11.5 to pmps bg is really more like 15-20min bc of the whole guidance to test, feed, shoot in about a 15min window.

so phew, another exciting end of cycle for kit with guided lessons in our bag of tricks from each of you. :bighug:
 
Back
Top