Staci & Ivy
Member Since 2022
11/9/24
Amps 105 Libre
Good morning, well another late night of sleeping on the sofa for me and Ivy. Gave had another reduction this morning of insulin. We are down to 3 units.
She definitely seems to be needing less insulin to get the same result as when I was giving more insulin.
Colleen, @SmallestSparrow kindly made me aware overnight of a complication that can arise from methimazole, been given for hyper thyroid treatment.
I have noticed since her latest increase of methimazole almost 3 weeks ago, Suddenly, the insulin seems to be too much for her, and I have given back to back reductions yet I’m still getting the same result as higher doses. I salon taking her lower than I prefer to keep her and it’s keeping her lower overnight and I’m spending pretty much every night up all night with her and giving carbs that aren’t really working to bring her up.
This complication seems to be noted in the attached article which Colleen provided.
I do have a feeling there is a correlation here. I have reached out to my vet this morning and hoping I will hear back from him early this week. Not sure he will have any clue what to do about it, however.
Again, unfortunately, she’s not a good candidate for the 131 treatment which would most likely solve the problem of the hyperthyroid issue, so I’m between a rock and a hard place with her and all that’s going on. (Several docs I’ve called have refused to treat her with I131).
Feeling very anxious and more stressed than ever today
https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC4973408/
Amps 105 Libre
Good morning, well another late night of sleeping on the sofa for me and Ivy. Gave had another reduction this morning of insulin. We are down to 3 units.
She definitely seems to be needing less insulin to get the same result as when I was giving more insulin.
Colleen, @SmallestSparrow kindly made me aware overnight of a complication that can arise from methimazole, been given for hyper thyroid treatment.
I have noticed since her latest increase of methimazole almost 3 weeks ago, Suddenly, the insulin seems to be too much for her, and I have given back to back reductions yet I’m still getting the same result as higher doses. I salon taking her lower than I prefer to keep her and it’s keeping her lower overnight and I’m spending pretty much every night up all night with her and giving carbs that aren’t really working to bring her up.
This complication seems to be noted in the attached article which Colleen provided.
I do have a feeling there is a correlation here. I have reached out to my vet this morning and hoping I will hear back from him early this week. Not sure he will have any clue what to do about it, however.
Again, unfortunately, she’s not a good candidate for the 131 treatment which would most likely solve the problem of the hyperthyroid issue, so I’m between a rock and a hard place with her and all that’s going on. (Several docs I’ve called have refused to treat her with I131).
Feeling very anxious and more stressed than ever today

https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC4973408/


