11/10 Hershey PMPS(348) Reduction a BIG FAT FAIL

Status
Not open for further replies.

Doug N Libby

Member Since 2012
[urlhttp://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=82677]11/6 Hershey[/url]



HAPPY CATURDAY!!

Hershey continues to act like he feels good. All P's in place. He is still vomiting sometimes every day or so...have no idea why. He's acting hungrier than usual, could be from the higher numbers...so, maybe he's eating too fast? or...still wondering if cats are like people and it's possible he vomits when he gets really hungry like I do? I don't know. What I do know if that he fell below (40) and earned a reduction (to .2u) 11/7. I didn't feel good about it, but we did it. I kept hoping he was going to warm up to it, but it seems to be a big, fat FAIL. So, we'll take him back to .3u tomorrow afternoon.

OT - Lots of activity around here. Jessica's birthday was 11/6 and we celebrated at home. 11/7 was my sister's birthday and I had lunch with my mom and two sisters to celebrate. Joseph came home 11/9 and we celebrated Jessica's birthday with the family - including baby Sammy (and I managed to get a complete family picture!). :-D I had several people at the restaurant stop me to tell me how cute Sammy is and how much they enjoyed watching us pass him person to person. Glad we could entertain them. :lol: Today, Jessica had a jewelry booth at a local harvest day and we're waist-deep in Operation Christmas Child - WOO-HOO!

I HATE seeing Hershey's numbers go back up, but with all that we've had going on, I couldn't keep an eye on him to bump him back up until after church tomorrow.

Hope y'all are having a wonderful weekend -

Libby (& Hershey, too!)

AMPS (283) +12 Shot .2u at 3am - 1/16th tsp Miralax
+4.25 (312) - fed

PMPS (348) +12 Shot .2u at 3:10pm - 1/16th tsp Miralax
+3.5 (315) - fed
 

Attachments

  • 11-6 to 11-10 Hershey.JPG
    11-6 to 11-10 Hershey.JPG
    122.1 KB · Views: 292
  • IMG_0416 +forum.JPG
    IMG_0416 +forum.JPG
    320.9 KB · Views: 286
Nice family picture - sounds like you had a lot of family fun! And I bet some exhaustion after all of that too. Too bad the reduction didn't work, but good that you waited to raise the dose when you knew you had time to watch Hershey and see how it goes. Good luck!
 
Libby --

Have you tried Hershey on novel proteins? He may have a food allergy that's causing him to vomit. Many cats are allergic to beef and fish. You may want to try lamb, venison, or duck and see if that helps.
 
Lovely family pic! I can see that little baby sammy is the centre of the spotlight! :lol:
Good luck with the new dose, hope it can bring back all the green. 0.2 or 0.3 is very very little dose that my vet cannot understand how we can give such little dosage to maintain our DM kitty. :lol:
Sorry about the upset stomach of Heshey. When was his last BW? If the BW is normal, can it be hairball? or dental issue?
 
Hi Libby,

What a beautiful family picture! Everyone looks so happy like they're having a great time. :-D

Sorry Hershey is so high todayl He'll probably come down tomorrow though.

Have a good night!

Hugs,
Melanie & Racci
 
Hi Libby -

A busy week/life and Hershey decides to give you some pinks. Well fear not... remember he used to live in pinks and even give you reds. As several friends told me lately - SQUINT at the spreadsheet. I, of course, had to query numbers on a weekly basis - preshots & nadirs that I saw - and guess what... weekly they were clearly on a downward trend! (and even better this past week!). The fact that he's responding to .3u is amazing... and even the differentiation between that and .2 amazes me!!! :lol:

Grayson needed novel proteins too, as was mentioned above. Phydeaux - a specialty pet shop near Peace College has an AMAZING selection. And when I crunched numbers (I know, SUCH a geek!), most were not much different than FF per ounce! And the staff was extremely knowledgeable! Be sure to take your copy of Binky's List or Dr. Lisa's to check the carbs. I would encourage you to try a few - and see how he does with them. Grayson threw up the venison. Did well with the duck. We haven't tried the rabbit yet. And I don't have to tell you to try it gradually and in small doses, so it doesn't upset Hershey's tummy.

Wish you could see the gang... everyone is crashed by my feet! :lol:
 
hi Libby - bummer on the reduction fail. SO back up he goes. He's had some really great stuff, and I bet with the dose back in place he will again too. Just take a step back and take a look at the whole picture. I had to do that so many times with Mannie to keep it all in perspective. So Hershey... work the new juice! The green lagoon misses you.

Bummer on the vomit, but I woo wonder if something he is getting doesn't agree with him. ???? maybe there is an alergy, ???

I love the family portrait - how great is that!

I hope your Sunday has been a good one. :-D :-D
 
Hey, Lisa - Yes, ma'am on the fun AND exhaustion! ;-) Thanks for the well wishes on the increase. Wish I wasn't so clumsy at this dance...

Hey, Devon - Thanks for the kind words on the picture. I was tickled to get it, especially since it's getting harder to get us all together!

Hey, Sienne - I suspected once before that Hershey might have a problem with the beef liver treats, so we discontinued them. I couldn't find him consistently vomiting on any one flavor of food, but I know things change...I posted today that I'm thinking it might be OREO vomiting instead of Hershey at least some of the time. I've seen Hershey doing it a few times and saw Oreo vomit tonight...not always seeing it makes it difficult to assess. :roll: Now wondering if possibly Oreo is having a food issue. I don't keep track of which flavor he's eating. Guess it's time to start.

Hey, Helen - Yes, ma'am, Sammy is totally the center of attention! :-D Thanks for the well wishes on the increase. I know what you mean about the vet not understanding. Ours said she had never heard of a cat doing so well on so little. I've tried to share some of what I've learned here, but I don't know that she was completely listening. It's been almost a year since he's had BW. He's never had any dental work. I asked about it, but they didn't seem to feel the need. I bought him a toothbrush and he allowed Doug to brush his teeth. Hopefully, he'll get to the point he allows me to brush his teeth, too. We've been using the Furminator (not as often as we should) and I'm not seeing hair in the vomit, so not thinking it's a hairball. Thanks for helping us think this through!

Hey, Sushi - (Sorry, I don't know your name.) Thanks for the kind words about the photo!

Hey, Melanie - Yes, ma'am, we had a good time! Wish we got together more often, but thankful for when we do get together! Good call - Hershey is back down to yellow...it's a start. :smile:

Hey, Lu - You're right. When I review his SS, I'm reminded of s-e-v-e-r-a-l times he hung out in those yucky numbers and I scratched my head until it bled. :YMSIGH: SO GLAD to hear Grayson's numbers are looking better!

Thanks for the store information...seems like someone mentioned that place to me when we first came here, but it seems like it was in Chapel Hill? idk (You know, it's funny, when you first come here you 'meet' all of these nice, helpful people and get all of this information. It's kind of neat to go back now (10 months later) and read who posted because now you KNOW them!) I may need to check it out...but not sure for which kitty...can't they just TELL me who's having the problem and what it is?! Why do they insist on taxing my weary brain cells?!?!?!

You should keep your camera handy so you can post a picture!

Hey, Michelle - BUMMER, indeed! Like I said, I didn't feel good about taking the reduction, but was trying to follow the rules...soooo unlike me. ;-) Thanks for the encouragement and the kind words about our family picture. Yes, ma'am, my Sunday has been a good one, I hope yours has been good, too!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top