11/10: Cliff|AMPS=451, PMPS=476

Status
Not open for further replies.

MiCo

Active Member
AM test/feed/shoot notes:
  • Better/lower # today.
  • Cliff still acting super hungry.
  • Easy shot, hubs helped. Stayed at 1u.
See ya later!
--------
Pm # updated.
Nothing else new to report. Bought ketone strips, not able to catch him in box yet. Tried Saran Wrap trick, but he was wise to that!

Good night.

Thankful list: tea, my boss, nice co-workers
 
Last edited:
Hope the vet agrees to a small increase. Do you think it might help to show him our protocol about section about increasing as needed? Holding a dose too long and having them in higher numbers usually sets up some insulin resistance. Small, as needed increases seem to yield much better results.
 
Have we mentioned testing urine for ketones using something like KetoDiastix from a human pharmacy? If Cliff is relaxed about you looking in on him while he's using the litter box you could try putting a long handled spoon under his bottom while he's peeing to catch a small amount of urine - doesn't have to be much. Dip the working end of the strip, shake off excess and let colour develop for 15 seconds. The colours for zero and trace ketones are very similar. Another technique is to put a piece of plastic kitchen wrap over the litter surface to catch a bit of urine in the folds/depressions.

My intention here isn't to worry you, Michele, but this periodic ketone testing is another good monitoring tool, especially when BG numbers are high. Some people test daily, some a few times a week.
 
Have we mentioned testing urine for ketones using something like KetoDiastix from a human pharmacy? If Cliff is relaxed about you looking in on him while he's using the litter box you could try putting a long handled spoon under his bottom while he's peeing to catch a small amount of urine - doesn't have to be much. Dip the working end of the strip, shake off excess and let colour develop for 15 seconds. The colours for zero and trace ketones are very similar. Another technique is to put a piece of plastic kitchen wrap over the litter surface to catch a bit of urine in the folds/depressions.

My intention here isn't to worry you, Michele, but this periodic ketone testing is another good monitoring tool, especially when BG numbers are high. Some people test daily, some a few times a week.
I've seen ketones mentioned, but I've been taking it one step at a time. So, you use the KetoDiastix brand? I can look that up/try to pick some up tonight. He goes to the vet's office Saturday, which is not far from today. Trying not to worry. :/ Thanks!

Edited to say: Just ordered the KetoStix to pick up from Target today.
 
Last edited:
I've seen ketones mentioned, but I've been taking it one step at a time. So, you use the KetoDiastic brand? I can look that up/try to pick some up tonight. He goes to the vet's office Saturday, which is not far from today. Trying not to worry. :/ Thanks!
Oh, I hope I haven't worried you, Michele - NOT my intention! This is just another tool we like to have in our tool box. Yes, I use the KetoDiastix brand. They include test areas for both urine ketones and urine glucose. It's the ketone area I pay attention to because urine glucose will show as varying degrees of positive but don't worry about that. It's blood glucose that counts.

You're right to take things one at a time. There's a lot to absorb but you've already come a long way. Also - don't worry about waiting until Saturday for your vet's input. Kitties can tolerate high BG quite well - it's the sudden lows that can be frightening. No sign of that in Mr. Cliff. Our advice about a dose increase is meant to give you a heads up, not to make you more anxious. :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top