11/10 Bama Kitty AMBG/ns 102, +1 76, +3 72, +4 80, +6 116, +11 201; PMPS 230 +2 251 +4 209 +7 338

But because he continued to drop, the better choice would have been a token dose of 3U?
That's what I would have done, he was hovering close to 90/100, but I'm sure others have different opinions. If it happens again and you want to try a token/reduced dose, theres rarely a "right" answer. General recommendation is 1/2 dose (for larger dose cats though I like 2/3 dose, but ECID). You just try it, see what happens, get the data, then adjust for next time. Trial and error!

Oh and in case it wasn't clear, it's a one-time thing. Next shot should resume the normal dose provided it's safe, with any applicable reductions earned
 
That's what I would have done, he was hovering close to 90/100, but I'm sure others have different opinions. If it happens again and you want to try a token/reduced dose, theres rarely a "right" answer. General recommendation is 1/2 dose (for larger dose cats though I like 2/3 dose, but ECID). You just try it, see what happens, get the data, then adjust for next time. Trial and error!

Oh and in case it wasn't clear, it's a one-time thing. Next shot should resume the normal dose provided it's safe, with any applicable reductions earned
Great! I like rule of thumb/general recommendation type answers. Easier to keep in mind for next time because next time is coming sooner than one thinks. 1/2 dose is easier to calculate than 2/3, too. Thank you so much.
 
Gina, you are just starting to learn how Bama Kitty operates on Semglee when he's in close to normal numbers. Take this opportunity to experiment and learn when it's safe to do so (ie, you can monitor, have HC and test strips). You now have some data on what happens if you skip a dose. Next time, wait until he's above 90 and shoot a partial dose. See what happens. That'll be safer than shooting full dose, which you I expect you'll eventually get to. As is, you are getting a great lesson in duration and what happens when you have a larger depot. Both times you've skipped, you've seen how the depot of the previous doses can still influence the first half of the following cycle. By the way, it's that ability of the depot that will eventually lead to Bama getting nice flat cycles.

@Summer and Susie (GA) Not a strikeout but "I don't give dosing advice" is an acceptable answer I've seen and even used in situations I don't feel comfortable (such as insulin I've not used). In this case Bama is on somewhat larger doses, and experience with larger depots is a factor in dosing recommendations.

A clarification on earning reductions for long term diabetics. From Reminder: *earning* reductions and starting OTJ trials
Long term diabetics - more than one year since diagnosis
  • reduction *earned* after a single drop below 40 mg/dL for those following TR, or
  • reduction *earned* after 3 drops between 40 - 50 mg/dL on three separate days for kitties who have shown they do not hold reductions well and following TR, or
  • reduction *earned* when the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) and stays under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week and following TR
  • reduction *earned* after a single drop below 90 mg/dL for those following SLGS.

 
Back
Top