11/10 Autumn Preshot-312, +4-263, +8-146, pmps-272@ +12

Status
Not open for further replies.

MommaOfMuse

Member Since 2010
Well the weekend started out a little tough on Miss Autumn she surfed the red all day Friday despite even having a couple of bolus shots, then she finally cracked the wall and came screaming down which earned her a couple of dose reductions. Spent most of the day on Saturday surfing the greens with a big bounce at the end of the a.m. cycle which she cleared quickly starting yesterday morning and then she decide to just pack an extra large picnic basket and camp on the lawn in her pretty green dress with the blue trim.

I have a feeling a lot of her red numbers on Friday were do to stress. This was the first true Halloween that she has spent with us, where we actually had a chance to celebrate it in style. Since we adopted her, we are normally not home on Hallows to celebrate, because up until recently Jon's been with a band and Halloween is usually a big gig night. However, for the last couple of years he hasn't had a preforming band to play with so last year we went out to celebrate so this is the first year of carving pumpkins and welcoming tricker treaters to the house. Plus we held a small combination house warming and Halloween party here so lots of people in and out of the house all day and night and while she seemed to be enjoying all the admiration and pets she was receiving I'm sure she was also fairly stressed out since mom and dad don't do a whole lot of entertaining as a rule.

Oh some of you may notice that her spreadsheet as changed, I got tired of scrolling through a ton of data so I added a new tab for this month and moved it to the forefront so that her most recent data is right there when her sheet loads. Her coloring on her sheet as also changed, while still close to the original template I did go into her's and change it so now hypo range is a separate color (black with a yellow font), and now 40-120 all come up green since that is the normal range for cats on a human meter. After that it pretty much reads the same, just lengthened the green range and shortened the blue range.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/3 Autumn +11 pm-59, amps-94

MommaOfMuse said:
...... and then she decide to just pack an extra large picnic basket and camp on the lawn in her pretty green dress with the blue trim.

Mel and The Fur Gang

I like reading your posts, most of them put a smile on my face. :thumbup :-D
 
Re: 11/3 Autumn +11 pm-59, amps-94

I'm picturing her in a blue & green dress! LOL!

Heff decided to protest daylight savings time by licking/vacuuming the crevices of the neater feeder on Saturday morning and gave himself a BG of 415. SIGH.
 
Re: 11/3 Autumn +11 pm-59, amps-94, +4-198

miss blue green Autumn
 

Attachments

  • file.jpeg
    file.jpeg
    15.6 KB · Views: 529
Re: 11/3 Autumn +11 pm-59, amps-94, +4-198

lol. thanks Sarah but i confess i have taken them from other people's post on all of these fdmb. whenever i see one that i love i download it. look at this one. i always laugh at this one.
 

Attachments

  • file-1.jpeg
    file-1.jpeg
    15.6 KB · Views: 524
Re: 11/3 Autumn +11 pm-59, amps-94, +4-198, +9-186, pmps-245

Little higher tonight but could be a little bounce off the 56 @ +11 last night.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/4 Autumn amps-77

After a short trip to go hang out on the sun deck a little last night, which mom was grateful for because she gets to sleep at night, Miss Autumn went right back down to first the swimming hole and then spent the rest of the night curled up in the green green grass. I knew she was back down last night after we went to bed, because she was up snuggling in her "mom I feel great" spot which is with her head resting on my shoulder and stretched out under the covers along my side. I know why I never get cold at night...I have Lady Jane Grey snuggled around my head on my pillow, Lord Maxwell between Jon and I curled up under the covers and Miss Autumn on my shoulder and front side. ohmygod_smile :lol:

Boy she was a bumpy ride there for awhile with the dives and bounces but it looks like the new feeding schedule completely agrees with her and is keeping her pretty steady now on .3u. While it now seems like all I do is feed cats if it keeps her in nice steady and decent numbers I guess it is what it takes.

Autumn is a prime example of why there is no set formula for every cat when it comes to this dance. While some of the steps are the same it does still take trial and error to figure out what is the best approach to help each cat. This is not just about feed this diet, give insulin and test often. It is about striking a balance between several factors, not only what type of food the cat is eating but also when they are eating, how much they are eating at any given point and also infinite number of other variables like weather conditions ( some older cats just like older humans feel weather shifts), exercise, and stress. Pretty much the exact same thing that we human also need to balance to keep ourselves healthy.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/4 Autumn amps-77

Mel

Autumn certainly takes you on a merry dance :-D

I totally agree with you about how multiple parameters combine in a variety of ways to give you some quite unexpected outcomes. For the last few years I have tried to keep things as steady as I can for remi but even so the results are unpredictable. Quite a few times my vet has stated that he didn't necessarily think anything we were doing was actually having any affect on remi's pancreatitis levels . I tend to think in terms of cause and affect but remi is much more complicated than that. Give today for example, all seemed the same but suddenly he threw me some very low greens :mrgreen: I'm not complaining but it was defiantly a surprise and I am glad I had tested her and picked it up.
 
Re: 11/4 Autumn amps-77

Yep your meter is your best friend when dancing with a sugarcat. :-D

We are afterall dealing with a living breathing and feeling creature not a controlled lab experiment so no matter what all we can and do control in our lives we can't do it with our cats. Not just our diabetic ones. A cat will be a cat regardless of anything we do. We can keep the food exactly the same, the exercise exactly the same, and the insulin exactly the same and yet they will do very different things for one day to the next, because what we can't control is what goes on inside their heads and well we are using a hormone that is just one tiny teeny pea in an entire vegetable stew of hormones that all play off each other.

Not only can it be frustrating as all get out, it also at least for myself, extremely interesting to watch happen. It's one of the reasons why I get to be such a test-aholic when her numbers are wonky. It fascinates me to watch how her numbers trend over the coarse of a cycle. I know I'm weird that way...lol

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/4 Autumn amps-77

MommaOfMuse said:
... we are using a hormone that is just one tiny teeny pea in an entire vegetable stew of hormones ...

You always use great analogies, Mel, but I especially like this one.

I'm a bit like yourself at the moment with adjusting how I feed Saoirse to improve her numbers. It has been really helpful to read about how the change in feeding schedule has helped Autumn into her purdy dress! :smile:
 
Re: 11/4 Autumn amps-77, +4-43

Looks like the Lady in Green would like another dose reduction. :-D But will have to see how the rest of the day plays out. Of course she would drop lower today since mom desperately wants a nap...lol Not like I need one, I just want one.

But as long as she sees fit to just merrily surf the greens I'm a very pleased momma.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/5 Autumn amps-204

Celebrating small victories...At least she only bounced to pink this time instead of red...small victory.

Really been rethinking the feeding schedule looking at her numbers that while The Fur Gang will not be pleased with another change in the routine (They'll get over it) I think I need to drop the +8 meal or possible cut the +4 in half and feed half at +4 and then the other half at +8, since her nadir seems to have shifted to closer to +6 which means the food at +8 is spiking her just as she starts her upswing to the next preshot. Also nobody is really asking to be fed at +8 and I usually have to wake about 95% of them up to feed them and then they just kind of get excited about it but pretty sure they wouldn't miss it either if I didn't wake them up to tell them they are hungry. lol

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/5 Autumn amps-204

Do you say a magic word perhaps? In my house, it is "snack" - that gets Dallas moving! And he sure doesn't need it.
 
Re: 11/5 Autumn amps-204, +4-198

I don't know how you do it Mel. My head just spins with trying to figure out the meal coordination in your house.
 
Re: 11/6 Autumn amps-250

By George I think I've done it! I've figured out a feeding schedule that not only works for Miss Autumn but also for the rest of the cats. It looks like feeding at amps, +4, skipping +8 then feeding again at pmps and +3-ish (+4 on weekends, +3 on week nights) I've hit on a formula that keeps her from bouncing like a rubber ball. Had another long night with her last night mainly because I'm paranoid when she is in double digits at night but she just surfed along. With a little bounce at the very end. Probably for agitation from mom waking her up every couple hours to poke her ears. I know at one point last night she's had enough of me and went over and slept with daddy..lol

And I got no kisses this morning, but daddy got loads. I just got the cold shoulder, which is usually a sign that my tortie girl is ticked at mom. :lol:

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/6 Autumn amps-250

I hope the new feeding schedule is the one that will finally stop the bouncing, that could be great for the both of you, so you can all sleep at night :) Daddys girl this morning, but after a few treats you are back on the top of her list :)
 
Re: 11/6 Autumn pmps-194, +3-68,+4-48 Pajama Party

Here we go again. I really wish she would pull these parties during the day. But alas it is another pajama party with Miss Autumn. If anyone is awake they are welcome to join us and keep us company.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/6 Autumn pmps-194, +3-68,+4-48 Pajama Party

that miss autumn really likes to keep you up at night. hope all goes well. sorry you won't be sleeping tonight :cry:
 
Re: 11/6 Autumn pmps-194, +3-68,+4-48 Pajama Party

Ah such is the life of a sugar cat mom...Two most stressful and sleepless periods in a sugarcat slave's life. When you first start treating them, and then when they start flirting with OTJ. At least right now she is happily sitting on my lap purring her little brains out. And of course she is dozing. :roll:

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/6 Autumn pmps-194, +3-68,+4-48 Pajama Party

hah. of course SHE is sleeping. :lol:
 
Re: 11/6 Autumn pmps-194, +3-68,+4-48 Pajama Party

Well she isn''t right at this second, she's eating ....

+4.5-47
 
Re: 11/6 Autumn pmps-194, +3-68,+4-48,+4.5-47 Pajama Party

At least so far we're holding steady in the 40s, not exactly where I would like her to be before I close my eyes, but at least she for now has stopped dropping like a rock

And she is getting her favorite no-no pate Mixed Grill. Sometimes I swear she does this just so she can have the forbidden foods. I think she knows I have Kitty-Crack in the mud room for Mister Not My Kitty. lol

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/6 Autumn pmps-194, +3-68,+4-48,+4.5-47 Pajama Party

lmao ....kitty crack. glad she is more stable. 12:30 am here and i have to be up at 5:30 for work so will say good night. i hope you can get some sleep soon.
here's my little buddy smuggled up next to me saying goodnight to you & Autumn too.
 

Attachments

  • phpj0VNVJPM.jpg
    phpj0VNVJPM.jpg
    2.4 KB · Views: 367
Re: 11/6 Autumn pmps-194, +3-68,+4-48,+4.5-47 Pajama Party

Yeah we're at 11:30 here and my day starts at 6:10, I see a nap in my future tomorrow for sure.

Nighty Nite you two.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/6 Autumn pmps-194, +3-68,+4-48,+4.5-47,+5-57,+6-63,+7

Finally a rising number not food influenced and mom is going to bed morning is going to come early as it is. Will test her again at +11

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/6 Autumn pmps-194, +3-68,+4-48,+4.5-47,+5-57,+6-63,+7

Hope you got some sleep Mel
 

Attachments

  • catlady2.jpg
    catlady2.jpg
    2.7 KB · Views: 316
Re: 11/6 Autumn pmps-194, +3-68,+4-48,+4.5-47,+5-57,+6-63,+7

Well I did sleep through the +11 recheck, but all is well and I have no worries about her dropping too low this morning as when I checked her at amps she was 519! Of course I finally resorted to 3 pieces of kitty crack to get her up last night, so no surprise on the high this morning. Since this pajama partying is becoming a trend once I get her off this latest bounce I'm taking her to S.I.D dosing. 48 hours and counting of very little to no sleep is killing me.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/7 Autumn amps-519 after late night pajama party

Oh Autumn, you like to keep Mom on her toes! Good Morning Mel, I hope you get some nice naps in today!
 
Re: 11/7 Autumn amps-519 after late night pajama party

Wow that is a big bounce from last night. I hope you can get some sleep during the day today :)
 
Re: 11/7 Autumn amps-519 after late night pajama party

Mel! :shock:

You must be shattered! I feel awful that you had to stay up all night again after minding us all day yesterday. :oops: Glad that Autumn is OK after digging up the lawn last night. cat_pet_icon

If ever Saoirse runs low again, I'm going to put her in a lead-lined room so Autumn can't pick it up on kitty radar. :YMSIGH:

I'm relieved you managed to get at least some sleep. Sending restorative vibes across the pond ... :YMHUG:
 
Re: 11/7 Autumn amps-519 after late night pajama party

Actually I think it is Autumn I need to put in a lead lined box so she doesn't give Saoirse ideas as this is two nights in a row for Miss Autumn.

I definitely see I new pattern with Autumn just not sure yet what to make of it, it goes against all the rules. Unless she really does want off the juice and the insulin itself is keeping her dependent.

Aine,

You have a scientific mind bent. See what you think of this pattern...Last couple of night (well and days too just not to the extreme as the nights)

Autumn has been dropping hard and fast when her insulin should be wearing of as in from preshot to +5 which is where her normal onset should be, then she races up when the insulin should be in effect and only starts dropping again towards the end of her cycle about a couple hours after her normal nadir, again when the dose should be ebbing in effectiveness. Yesterday +11 285-ish I think to pmps-195

Last night I caught her before she got extremely low, so started feeding the curve early, while I was feeding her up, she hovered in the double digits up until onset again, when I stopped feeding to see if she would dip again, but instead she spiked again nearly 100 pts in a hour. It's like she is in reverse, rising when she should be falling because the insulin has taken hold, but dropping when fed and insulin should be wearing off.

Right now I'm so out of it I can't think straight so maybe fresh eyes would help, because I so need to sleep tonight. And we have a winter storm coming in which means I have no choice but to take my meds that are going to make me dead to the world. I can't have my girl dropping into the basement and mom not able to stay with her and keep her safe.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/7 Autumn amps-519 after late night pajama party

Mel

Wow Autumn has been really keeping you busy.

MommaOfMuse said:
Ah such is the life of a sugar cat mom...Two most stressful and sleepless periods in a sugarcat slave's life. When you first start treating them, and then when they start flirting with OTJ. At least right now she is happily sitting on my lap purring her little brains out. And of course she is dozing. :roll:

Mel and The Fur Gang

I can totally understand this statement. I have never had so little sleep (no kids :smile: ) and this last few days I have been sick and getting up early has been a killer. I feel pretty run down with the dress of the last six weeks and my body feels like it is paying for it now.

Hope tonight is quieter. Sorry I am not science minded and so not best placed to answer you question.
 
Re: 11/7 Autumn amps-519 after late night pajama party

did you get any sleep in? i hope so
 

Attachments

  • syncsleep.jpg
    syncsleep.jpg
    2.4 KB · Views: 267
Re: 11/7 Autumn amps-519 after late night pajama party

Not really, I did get to lay down for about an hour but I'm at that point in exhaustion where you are dead tired put can't sleep. Autumn isn't helping either she just tested in at 48!!! No shot for her tonight.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/7 Autumn amps-519 pmbg-48 No shot

Hope you get a good night's sleep tonight, Mel, and hopefully some time to relax over the weekend.
 
Re: 11/7 Autumn amps-519 after late night pajama party

MommaOfMuse said:
I definitely see I new pattern with Autumn just not sure yet what to make of it, it goes against all the rules ... dropping hard and fast when her insulin should be wearing of as in from preshot to +5 ... races up when the insulin should be in effect ... dropping ... towards the end of her cycle ... Yesterday +11 285-ish I think to pmps-195 ...

... when I stopped feeding ... she spiked again nearly 100 pts in a hour. It's like she is in reverse, rising when she should be falling because the insulin has taken hold, but dropping when fed and insulin should be wearing off.
(Emphasis mine.)

Were these two ladies siblings in a former lifetime? Take away the actual numbers and you could be describing Saoirse's responses, although I believe that the Levemir curve should be a bell curve rather than a smile. In particular, the comment I highlighted sounds remarkably similar to what I refer to as Saoirse's 'fasting spikes'. I'm still trying to bottom that out - it's the one thing that's keeping Saoirse on the juice if one adheres to the criteria for dose reduction per the TR protocol (it stops all her readings from being in the target range for a solid seven days - hence my tracking of the the 7-day maxima). My hunch is that the back-to-front responses are something to do with liver function and hepatic insulin sensitivity, and possibly not quite enough availability of carbs to stimulate the basal trickle of insulin to keep gluconeogenesis (production of glucose by hepatic metabolism of protein & fats, etc.) in check. I think it's possibly related to the dawn phenomenon where morning BG is paradoxically higher after a long period of fasting.

I've just spent the entire day trying to draft an intelligible response for you, Mel, and I'm failing miserably because of the PTSD: I can't hold a train of thought - I get an idea, my brain shuts down and what I was trying to grasp eludes me. It's like trying to write on a lake ... :YMSIGH: I'm just going to do the best I can. Sorry that so much of it is stating the blimmin’ obvious but, tough as the writing is, editing is even harder. Attempts to write more concisely just keep descending into rambling drivel. :sad: If I don't send it like this, Godot will be back before you get a response from me. :roll: Here goes ...

A healthy pancreas secretes a steady, basal trickle of insulin. It also produces 2 pulses of stored insulin in response to ingestion to food. The pulses speed up processing of ingested carbohydrates (just like a bolus injected insulin) and the basal trickle enables the body to utilise blood glucose between meals. The basal trickle also helps to regulate hepatic glucose production.

To the best of my current understanding, when the pancreas is not producing enough insulin injected (exogenous) long-acting insulins emulate the basal insulin a healthy pancreas would secrete. In that case, one would expect a rise in BG after food followed by a gradual drop in BG levels as more of the injected insulin becomes available. The greatest lowering of BG should be at the time of the insulin’s peak effect. Regulation can be enhanced by the feeding of small, regular meals that don’t spike the BG too high at any one time. During the period of peak effect, the exogenous insulin should also produce a stronger signal to the liver to slow down glucose production, thus producing a normal curve with the nadir during the period of peak insulin effect.

However, as the pancreas begins to heal it will start producing more endogenous insulin, including basal secretion and pulses of stored insulin in response to food to help process ingested carbs and slow down hepatic glucose production. With endogenous insulin simultaneously acting in the system perhaps the meal-triggered pulses are lowering the BG after food and the combined effect of the endogenous and exogenous basal insulin may be lowering the BG more than the liver is comfortable with and then it gets a bit jittery, causing it to overcompensate – maybe more so during the peak period of the injected insulin’s action (not dissimilar to a cat on too high a dose of insulin). As the cycle progresses and the effects of the exogenous insulin wears off but the endogenous basal insulin is still ticking over nicely, could it be that the liver calms down a bit and maybe stops overcompensating? That could account for the lower numbers at the end of a cycle. In such a case, the cycle would not produce a nadir characteristic of the insulin in use.

If the pancreas is not completely healed, then maybe during a fasting period there isn’t enough basal insulin to signal the liver to stop producing glucose and there are no pulses of insulin to make up the difference? That way, the liver would only stop churning out glucose when the blood concentration level reached the liver’s own homeostatic ‘set point.’ If the liver hasn’t yet got used to lower numbers it won’t switch off in response to rising blood glucose concentration and it will end up dumping too much glucose into the bloodstream, hence the spikes? Hepatic insulin resistance might also be a factor.

I remember one of the responders to one of my early threads on FDMB telling me about high AMPS numbers and dawn phenomenon in human diabetics. That member (whose name I unfortunately can't recall :oops: ) told me that high AMPS values are frequently the last numbers to come into regulation before a solid remission. Maybe the between meal spikes could possibly be a related phenomenon due to some similar mechanism? Could it be that during the cycle there's too much insulin floating around for most of the requirements of glucose homeostasis (triggering the liver to produce too much) but not yet enough for the liver to have yet become properly resensitized to insulin (hence not turning off glucose production in time)?

I hope that makes some sort of sense but I’m not banking on it. I’m not sure if any of the above will be of any help to you, Mel. I just wonder whether Autumn might be a bit like Saoirse but bouncy and with bigger spikes? Almost there pancreas-wise but her liver just won't play ball, perhaps? Saoirse’s not a bouncy cat and also because she’s my sole focus I can really regulate her food intake. Maybe those are significant differences? If Saoirse eats every 2-3 hours it really makes a difference to her numbers. :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 11/7 Autumn amps-519 pmbg-48 No shot

Here are some links that I found useful:

How Blood Sugar Control Works – And How It Stops Working

Dawn Phenomenon, Somogyi Effect and Liver Dumps

How the Body Processes Sugar – Liver



Stepping away from actual numbers for a moment:

* Does Autumn typically run lower at night?

* Is Autumn’s AMPS typically high? If yes, have you ever tried giving her snacks or tiny meals in the last 4 hours of the PM insulin cycle, especially the PM cycle (eg. PM+8, PM+10)? Did this have any effect on her AMPS? (Tricky with the Fur Gang...)

* What is Autumn's appetite like? In particular does it increase or decrease during the expected period of insulin peak effect? Are there any other points during the cycle when she's not that fussed about food?

* After a period of fasting is Autumn's appetite a bit sluggish. Does she seem to get hungrier once she starts eating and look for seconds?

* How is her liver function in general?


I'm sure this is all old hat to you, Mel, but it's the best I can think of to look at. If it is a problem along the lines of a dawn phenomenon (just not at dawn) maybe some of the suggestions for humans with dawn phenomenon in the link above might give you some ideas to adapt and try?
 
Re: 11/7 Autumn amps-519 pmbg-48 No shot

Hi Mel

I hope you got a good nights sleep since there were no shot for bouncy girl. Hope she is not to high this morning.
 
Re: 11/8 Autumn amps-546

Thanks ladies I slept like the dead last night, but still ended up staying up late because Miss Autumn decided to hang in the double digits until +18, before heading back up to where I felt comfortable leaving her.

Tail of the Tape from last night
+12-67
+13-78
+15-74
+18-197

Which brings me to this theory, is that since Lev has a later onset, and a later nadir, what is happening with her, is that it isn't the dose that I need to adjust, it's the the length of the cycle, because the free falls are from over-lapping nadirs, and then that sets off the wild swings that makes it appear that she needs her dose reduced and why when I do and get her down to a drop and take her off she doesn't hold OTJ. If she is trying to come off the juice, instead of walking down in dose and weaning herself off that way, she wants to do it by going longer and longer on the same dose. So what I'm planning on trying this weekend is this morning I shot the .5 that seems to always be her magical dose, and I set a No Shoot of 180 which is the low end of the renal threshold where she can start spilling sugar into her urine, and just monitor like crazy and just chase numbers, and see if there is a pattern to when she turns the corner and starts rising and shoot the first rising number I catch over 180, then start lowering the no shoot as I figure out how low it takes her over how long a period of time.

Does that make any kind of logical sense to anyone but my own sleep deprived brain?

Aine,

You can call Autumn a lot of things but late for supper isn't one of them. If Autumn doesn't want to eat, she is seriously ill. lol Which is why letting her run a little lower when I can stay with her to steer doesn't bother me, because she will eat anywhere, anytime and anything that doesn't try to eat her first. As far as all her blood work has shown all her organs are functioning excellent, except her thyroid, she is HYPO-thyroid which is rare in cats, most are HYPER-thyroid. Which is kind of what if making me thing she might be stretching the duration of the Levemir to extend the cycle. The reason we give cats insulin every 12 hours is because of their higher metabolism rate as compared to humans, but if Autumn's thyroid, which controls the metabolism rate is lower then she is working the insulin closer to a human than a cat or somewhere in between. Up until the whole broken canine scare and emergency surgery Autumn was an ideal sugarcat because she would run high at night instead of low as most do. Just about all her normal patterns for the last 2 years have flip a 180. Normal pattern on Lev for Autumn is insulin onset around +5, slow slide down to +11-ish then easy back up to around +5 rinse and repeat. Like clockwork, I could just about set my watch by her, and most of the time knew what her numbers would look like by the way she was acting...All tortietude she was still rising and a little high, snuggly and cuddly but not purring, onset had happened and she was still in diabetic numbers but coming down, purring and talkative and cuddly in normal numbers. While normal numbers behavior is the same, she's just pissy and crabby the rest of the time, which right now I'm attributing to the steep drops and fast rises just making her feel crummy.

Mel and The Fur Gang

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/7 Autumn amps-519 pmbg-48 No shot

That's a good theory, Mel, especially when taking into consideration her lower metabolic rate. In my ramblings I forgot to state the most obvious thing I was thinking in that somewhere along the lines there might be too much insulin in the mix. Too much of an overlap between doses could be the explanation.

I was asking about Autumn's appetite at different points in the cycle because I've noticed that the times when I suspect Saoirse might have a problem with too much endogenous and exogenous insulin acting in concert her appetite tends to dip (possibly because the liver is overreacting?) and I wondered whether Autumn might do similar. Given that I'm SID dosing, as Saoirse's numbers get a bit lower at the end of the cycle and she has a great appetite a short while after the +12. I was wondering if similar signs in Autumn might indicate that she might have too much insulin on the go at times.

A bit like yourself, I watch Saoirse's behaviour to get an idea of where she's at BG-wise and I've been gradually snagging spot tests for observed consistent behaviours so that I'll have a good idea of the numbers that go with them. I much prefer to test Saoirse only as much as is necessary to keep her safe and to try to hear the tune she's dancing to so I can help her get better.

It is so instructive to read about how you examine and interpret Autumn's data, Mel. I really enjoy learning from you. :smile:
 
Re: 11/7 Autumn Quick Update below

Quick summary. Waited her out last night, at +15 she was 145, then at +16 she jumped to 356 so I shot a .5, by lights out at +2 she was starting to drop and was at 309, by +8 this morning she was 107, just about to check her again at +12 and see if she is still surfing.

On the downside, My computer lost it's mind and decided to reset back to factory specs, so I'm going to be spending most of the next few days reloading software and refinding bookmarks. I will try to at least briefly run by everyone's condos when and where I can.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/7 Autumn Quick Update below

Looking forward to seeing how this works, Mel.

Sorry about the computer woes. They're great when everything's running OK but a PITA when they go pear-shaped.
 
Re: 11/7 Autumn Quick Update below

I think it sounds like a good plan, at least you will get a lot of experience in different protokols.
I hope Autumn will get more stable numbers out of your experiment.

So you getting no sleep gives you really good ideas :) No more sleep for you.
 
Re: 11/7 Autumn Quick Update below

Lol. Sleep deprivation is a terrible thing to waste. Lol

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/7 Autumn Quick Update below

really - who needs sleep anyway ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ
 
Re: 11/7 Autumn Quick Update below

There we go...I think I have her spreadsheet revamped to reflex a 16/16 cycle as opposed to a 12/12 cycle. So far she is looking stellar on this lengthened cycle. Just checked her at +12 and she is at 97!! Whoop Whoop. Now hopefully as she settles into this new dosing schedule those preshot values will come down as well because she will stop the sudden dives from what I am now thinking was from over-lapping nadirs. Now if she would just keep stretching out the cycle so we could get down to just s.i.d. which we kind of are, just it would be easier if she would stretch to an every 24 hours instead of every 16. I'm going to need to keep a flow chart to remember when to shoot for awhile until I can remember at what time on what days she's up for another dose. :roll:

Of course she couldn't play by anyone's rules she is after all my cat and as they say pets take after their owners..lol I'm not one for playing by the rules either..Now off to go try to restore this beast some more.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/10 Autumn Preshot-312

Well so far so good with the experiment of running Miss Autumn on a 16/16 hour cycle. Although I still may have to change where in her cycle I give the injections to bring the preshots down even further, but at least right now it is much easier to see how long she uses a dose before it wears off. Her preshots are slowly coming down without the extreme dives and bounces. And she seems more comfortable as well, more social with us and that other cats. Last night she even crawled up on my chest to sleep, which is something she has never done before. She has always liked to come for her bedtime snuggle time, but then usually she gets up and goes to sleep at the foot of the bed. Last night she came for her usual cuddle time and then proceeded to crawl on my chest and sleep for several hours, content and purring.

Still reloading the computer after the crash this weekend so will be in and out today. Also I need to go run and stock the house with food for us humans as we are suppose to have good weather this morning with it reaching into the 60s before the storms move in this afternoon and the snow starts flying, then the rest of this week we aren't suppose to get out of the 20s for daytime highs. So I want to get all my errands run before that hits. Once it gets down to bone chilling temps I stop wanting to play outside. I know my fibro is already kicking up. So I'm sure that this first taste of winter is going to make me miserable.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top