11/1 Trixie PMPS 242 +2 228 +4 168 DOSE?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amy&TrixieCat

Member Since 2011
Yesterday

This is Trix's 5th cycle on this dose already...we really seem to be taking the fast train to nowhere. She's never been over 1.25U before; now she's on 1.5U and it looks like we still may need even more juice. I may hold this dose for 10 cycles instead of 6 cycles, just because it is her highest dose ever...we'll see how the next few cycles go...

Things when pretty smoothly with the clan this morning. The compresses are still a no-go with Zen, but everything else is going according to schedule. He seems to be feeling pretty good and acting pretty much like himself. We're still giving him bupe, but I'm considering not giving anymore after this morning's dose. I just can't wait for this thing to heal.

No further LB issues from Frankie so far, and Petey's fear of the laundry room door is disipating. This morning, he didn't eat at the same time as everyone else, but he did eat in the family room. Kitties are so funny.

My business partner gave the kitties a 6-pack of their own yesterday...a 6-pack of little catnip mice. They were a huge hit, especially with Zen and Frankie, who are both retriever cats. We had some good pre-bedime fine last night, and I heard them running around for a while after turning in, too.

I usually work till 8:00 on Thursdays, but hubby had to go to a viewing, so I came home at 5:00 to take on kitty detail while he went to the service. It was good to be back to work yesterday, but it was also hard to focus, so being back home earlier than usual was helpful. This is my weekend to work all weekend (we always work on Saturdays, but take turns manning the store on Sundays), so that'll throw me back into the full swing of things.

And...it cost an arm and a leg, but I finally have my car back. Phew.

Thank you, everyone, for visiting our condo and supporting us through this insane week.

Gonna catch a little catnap before +2 rolls around...

Happy Friday, LantusLand!

Amy
 
Re: 11/1 Trixie AMPS 235 Updates

Hi Amy, that's a good report on your clan. So glad about Petey, too! He reminds me so much of Maggie with the scare of the door. Have a nice Friday. The kitties seem to go wild over those little furry mice. Mine are everywhere under the sofa, frig! :lol:
 
Re: 11/1 Trixie AMPS 235 Updates

Amy, you have had a difficult week but hopefully, things are now on the mend and will be a little calmer for you (as calm as can be with your group!). Glad to hear Zen is feeling a little better. Trixie now needs to show us some of her more normal numbers.

Hope you have a good Friday and great weekend.
 
Re: 11/1 Trixie AMPS 235 Updates

Amy, I hope this is the end of your week from h*ll. It sounds like kittyland is getting back to normal. Those car repairs are outrageous, but what can you do?!?

I hope Trixie gets back to the Trixie colors soon.

Have a good weekend working.
 
Re: 11/1 Trixie AMPS 235 +2 224 + 159 Updates

Hi guys .. It sure can be frustrating to go up and up on dosing amounts can't it? Just remember, you're doing it for good reason, this may just be what trixie needs for now .. we all know, things can change and can change rapidly around here! I'm glad to hear the rest of your gang is doing better .. sorry to hear about the $$ car repairs, been there, done that! Hope you guys have a great weekend!
 
Re: 11/1 Trixie AMPS 235 +2 224 +4 159 PMPS 242 - DOSE?

Tonight is her 6th cycle on 1.50U...originally I was thinking of holding it a bit longer, but do you guys think we should increase tomorrow morning? If so, by how much?

We really don't seem to be getting anywhere with these increases...she has done this in the past, but on a lower dose. This is all so weird...
 
Re: 11/1 Trixie AMPS 235 +2 224 +4 159 PMPS 242 +2 228 - DOS

Oh Trixie girl....WHAT is going on with you?

(((Amy)))...you've just had one of those weeks. I'm so sorry, my friend, and I'm thinking of you.

So on the dose. Here's what I'm wondering. Trix was very used to low numbers but now she's not had a lot of green. Is there any possibility that what you are seeing now is a bounce from the 96 on 11/9 a.m. cycle? Blue numbers can be bouncy numbers for kitties like Trixie. I'd have to read back through your condo but I wonder what Sienne or Sandy thought about the green on 11/3 pm cycle? Did they think the subsequent cycles could be bounces or did you just increase after six cycles? This is a head scratcher for sure. Because if you raise her in a bounce, you could get her to a dose that is too high and then she'll have to breakthrough to come back down. That is ONLY a thought.

I just wonder if you let her go tomorrow morning at this dose and see if she starts to come down...that would tell you if it was a bounce. But I also understand you not wanting to see her at these numbers any longer than possible.

I think it would be good if you could get some more eyes on her SS. You might consider PMing Sandy and BK and asking her to look at your SS. She may have some insight as well.
 
Re: 11/1 Trixie AMPS 235 +2 224 +4 159 PMPS 242 +2 228 - DOS

Hi there!

I'm sorry I'm not familiar with your kitty. I took a look at the ss.

Although I haven't read the details yet , it's clear there has bee some serious stress going on in your world this week.
Kitties are sensitive and pick up the vibes. Stress can raise BGs. Hopefully when the dust settles, so will her BGs.

In the mean time, since things always seem to change with FD kitties, I generally don't look too much farther back that the last 2 weeks.
I agree with Marjorie. Trixie may very well be bouncing off the 96 on 11/09/AM. It may be wise to give this dose 1 more cycle, in case the bounce is starting to clear.
Any chance you can grab some late cycle checks? Maybe nadir has shifted an you are missing it.

Everything OK w/Trixie otherwise? No dental issues? Same food?
 
Re: 11/1 Trixie AMPS 235 +2 224 +4 159 PMPS 242 +2 228 - DOS

Interestingly, all this craziness started the night of the Nor'Easter blackout - that was 2 weeks ago tomorrow. It seemed to come out of nowhere..the power went out at 1:45pm, she hit her usual evening greens, then was yellow by the morning. Teh power was out for 23 hours, and it got down to 52 degrees in the house. We really haven't been able to regain control of her numbers since. We thought maybe the insulin went bad, even though we use a pen, store it in the fridge, and the power wasn't out for that long; however, the new pen, which we started 6 days after the blackout, hasn't helped.

Dental issues are unlikely; she had a major dental, including 7 extractions, back in April. She is behaving completely like herself; she's not drinking excessively, normal appetite, normal activity and social levels, no food change. Her numbers are just running higher...it's baffling.

We've had a crazy year, with the last month or so being absolutely insane. This past week was off the charts, but her BGs were running higher before the week began.

We can definitely hold the dose; I just wasn't sure what the best thing to do was. Holding was my first thought, but I wanted to be sure we get her back to where she belongs, too. We'll hold her for another cycle or two, if that's what the general consensus thinks is best.

We can definitely get more late cycle checks tomorrow, during the day. This evening would be challenging, since we're all running on empty after this past week.
 
Re: 11/1 Trixie AMPS 235 +2 224 +4 159 PMPS 242 +2 228 - DOS

Hi Amy,

I'm not Sienne or Sandy, but here's my $0.02 anyway.

I don't like to give suggestions too far ahead. A lot can change in a cycle, and it often makes suggestions obsolete.....so my suggestion is let's wait and see what happens tonight. (I know that isn't what you want to hear! ;-) )

Generally speaking....stress does affect our kitties, and it's possible that is driving Trixie's numbers. It's also possible that this is a bounce, and I agree that it wouldn't hurt to wait one more cycle, but I wouldn't wait too long. The longer a kitty sits in higher numbers, the more used to them she will get, and the more juice it will take to bring her down. I would be more inclined to wait longer if Trixie's numbers were in the blues with a bit of green. Yellow is un-Trixie-like. I suspect that you will need to go up to get a breakthrough since she has been yellow for this long, but that's just my gut feeling, FWIW. Only Trixie knows, and she's not tellin'!

As Sandy pointed out, FD is not a static disease....insulin needs can change for no reason that is readily apparent to us. I've seen many kitties that flucuate a LOT over time, up and down. Don't get married to a dose. :razz:

I doubt it's the pen....even if it got warm, it doesn't instantly go bad unless it got hot or froze...it would just poop out sooner.

I hope things settle down soon...come down from those yellows, Trixie!
 
I'm thinking we'll hold the dose through tomorrow, and raise her on Sunday if necessary. We'll be around for close monitoring on both Sunday and Monday.

I've been worried about her running higher for too long, too...but also didn't want to rush her. Usually, I'm able to figure out dose issues, but she has really thrown me off course lately!
 
That makes sense, Amy. You will want to monitor if you increase.

She may make the decision for you before then anyway....I hope so! It wouldn't surprise me to see her drop suddenly after being on a stable dose for several days....she has done it before. I just don't like those yellows for too long, and I know you don't either.
 
TrixieCat said:
Dental issues are unlikely; she had a major dental, including 7 extractions, back in April. She is behaving completely like herself; she's not drinking excessively, normal appetite, normal activity and social levels, no food change. Her numbers are just running higher...it's baffling.

I'll just share a story that fits in right about here.
BK had his 1st dental (he was a stray off the streets) 12/08/2008. He had 8 extractions. A bunch of resorptive lesions and what not.
If you take a look at his ss, scrolling forward from 12/08/08, in about 3 weeks things really started to change for the better, dose and BG wise.
We went from 13u with every color in the rainbow, to 3.0u with practically all green and blues by 02/22/2009.
It was just flippin' unbelievable - all of LL were cheering us on!

If you continue to scroll, you can see that in early March 2009 pink started appearing on the scene. By April - RED, and we had marched back up to 5.75u

I was seriously bummed. I had pretty much resigned myself to the fact that BK would never get regulated.
He seemed fine. Crazy and off the hook as usual and quite the picture of health.

Then one day I happened to catch him during a BIG yawn. . .his open mouth was right in my line of vision. I saw way on the back, a ring of reddened gums around one of his few remaining teeth (one that looks like a little mountain top).

May 29 2009 - Back to the dental specialist. Although it had not even been 6 months, he had some more gingivitis.

After that 2nd dental, our journey down the dosing ladder continued,,,much to my surprise, right to the falls.

On the one hand, I felt stupid that I wasted time thinking his numbers came up just because he is a tough case and that's just the way it's going to be. On the other hand, who would have thought he would need another dental less than 6 months????

Food for thought. :cool:
 
Sounds like you have good input and a plan. I do agree totally with Laurie that you don't want her sitting at high numbers for long but I also do think you can see what happens tomorrow. If she is bouncing and the am cycle is her last bounce cycle, it's possible to see her come down in the pm.

Good luck and we'll be thinking of you. Hope you take this time to rest up and destress.
 
Yikes, Sandy....

I just took a quick look in Trix's mouth...not the greatest lighting, and I'm not a vet, and I didn't get her mouth fully open, but I didn't see any red lines or anything that looked outta line. OMG...if we need another dental, I'm just going to hook up the vet's cash register to my bank account and start selling body parts on eBay. As it is, I know some of the civvies really could use dentals, too...
 
I gotta say, I had the same thought as Sandy -- could Trixie need a dental? If not, when was her last check up?

It could just be this is one of those, you have to go up before you go down situations.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top