11/1 Selkie AMPS 126

Status
Not open for further replies.

Essay

Member Since 2010
First AMPS was 40; Selk had no signs of hypoglycemia so I retested and got 126. Selk and I are new to this, but I'm not comfortable giving a long-acting insulin to a cat with a normal reading. I fed her and retested at 11:30, and she read 140. That's still high normal, even postprandial. I'm not sure what the next step is, so I've a call into my vet.
 
Giving you a bump. Many of us do shoot in this range, but playing it safe is a good idea this early on. If you took an immediate recheck and the readings were that different the 40 was probably an error. Some meters will read low on too small a blood sample. The recheck was exactly the right thing to do. Usually after 2 hours of stalling we do not give insulin, but wait and see. Selkie's SS looks great. Let's see what others and your vet say.
 
Post right away if you have a reading that concerns you, 2 hours is too late to give advice for this cycle. Also, earlier in the morning there are more eyes on the board to see problems.
 
Wondering what your vet advised....those are great numbers for Selkie!

Here is your link to yesterday's post: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=28701
And the link to Saturday's: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=28642

We like to link the previous day's condo to the first post of each day so people can just click on the link to see what transpired the day before.
Good job with the testing! Very nice job!

There are starred stickies at the top of the page that have important information for you. maybe start with the "New to the Group"
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopi ... =9&t=18139
In that sticky there is information on Hypos and a Hypo tool kit for you to stock up on those things. High Carb gravy canned foods from the janet & Binky food chart are necessary to have on hand. We give the gravy alone to bring up the numbers if they go lower....choose a brand that is >18% carb and have karo syrup on hand as well.

I hope you will find the information interesting and that you will come back and post any questions you may have her in your condo(thread). Welcome to you and Selkie...oh, and what is your name or shall we call you Essay ? :mrgreen:
 
BG an hour ago 150, so it's slowly creeping back up. My vet and I discussed and we agreed that we wouldn't use any insulin below 150, so I figure I'll be dosing her at her regular time tonight.

My vet says she's seen "honeymooning" after two weeks or so of glargine in cases that were caught early. I'll just have to keep a close eye on Selk's numbers and keep my fingers crossed.
 
Selkie's +11 was 120 with the skipped shot. The 24 hour action period of the last shot is almost up, and she's holding good numbers. If she maintains this through tomorrow, then I'm to continue monitoring her BG with no further shots. If the BG is up over 150, then I'm to restart the glargine without interruption until I see my vet in a few days.
 
Just as an FYI, the duration of Lantus in humans is 24 hrs. In felines, it's got a 12-hour duration given that a cat's metabolism is faster.

For most people who are new to Lantus and don't have much test data, we do advise skipping a shot if the pre-test number is below 150. However, what I would suggest you discuss with your vet is lowering the dose from 1.0u to 0.5u. Above 120 is still outside of the normal range. It may be that Selkie will be diet controlled quickly but I'm going to bet that her pancreas is going to need a little support in order to get there.

Also, please get some tests in during the PM part of the cycle.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top