11/1 SCRABBLE PMPS 326 +2 329 +6 220

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michelle & Scrabble (GA)

Member Since 2010
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=82234

Morning everyone. Well day two of back on the juice. It is all starting to come back to me now. AMPS 290, well we are down a bit from yesterday. I will be home on and off today and don't have to work tonight so I will be able to get more testing in. I still hate the shot giving and Scrabble hasn't been the most cooperative although last night when I shot before I left for work he didn't even flinch, tonight he was moving around. Anyone have any suggestions of shooting areas/easiest ways to inject? I have been using his scruff since it is the easiest on him with his long fur. Scrabble did seem very alert and himself when I got home tonight which made me feel good. Have a great day everyone, off to bed, pretty tired from my busy Halloween night at work!
 
Re: 11/1 SCRABBLE AMPS 290

HI Michelle - sorry you have to be back here with insulin again. Stinks.

Do you shoot when he is eating? That distracts Leo. How were you shooting before? Does this no longer work, or were you just uncomfortable with it? I still worry about Leo jumping away from me as I shoot, as he's done that a couple times because I know he feels it. I shoot scruff sometimes, but I still have trouble getting a good angle while trying to hold the syringe in a way that I can slam the plunger as soon as it's in. So I end up pulling up in his fur around his scruff or more often around or behind his shoulders, and roll my hand back a little (moving thumb towards the ceiling) and as soon as I can spot skin, I go for it. I wish I had better advice, but I haven't found a perfect way to slide it in lower and Leo won't sit still on my lap or anything.

Hopefully others will chime in, because I'll be reading as well!

Good Luck
Lisa
 
Re: 11/1 SCRABBLE AMPS 290

Hi guys .. sunny yellow for scrabble! Unfortunately for us, mocha never cooperated at shot times .. it took both me and peter each time to catch her and to hold her while the other gave the shot .. we always gave it in the side, because it was easiest to hold mocha that way in our arms .. Food might be a good distraction for scrabble .. have a great day!
 
Re: 11/1 SCRABBLE AMPS 290

i shoot in the scruff since I found when I tried flank shots, I was giving more fur shots!! Here's diagram of possible shot locations:

resource.aspx
 
Re: 11/1 SCRABBLE AMPS 290

He should start to come down when the shed fills, Michelle.
I shoot in the scruff and on the side...since Spot has been getting shots for so long he is getting a little bit of scar tissue, so I try to move it around with each shot.
I also give the shot to Spot while he is eating and it works out well for me and mom this way. Sometimes he moves and gets a fur shot, but not often.
Glad you are feeling a tad more comfortable...told you after a few days it will all come back to you!!!
Have a good day...hope you see continued progress with Scrabble.
 
Re: 11/1 SCRABBLE AMPS 290 +4 235

Thanks for the advice everyone. +4 235. He is slowly coming down, hoping we will start to see some better numbers soon! Scrabble is pretty good about sitting there when I give the shot and I got semi comfortable with it last time. The thing is I think he senses my nervousness and keeps turning his head to see what I am doing. Guess it will take a bit to get back to the routine. Off to do my workout will be back in afternoon and will get a bunch of tests tonight.
 
Re: 11/1 SCRABBLE AMPS 290 +4 235

Scrabble! I do hope your return to insulin will be a short one.

I used to shoot BigMac in the scruff when he was eating his treat and he didn't notice.
When I first started this insulin dance I was nervous too, which BigMac sensed. It was a struggle sometimes to grapple with a wiggly big kitty (like Scrabble) to get those tests.

So one day I took a deep breath and said out loud, "BigMac I am saving your life by doing this."
It calmed me down and I was more assertive with him, yet I didn't need to restrain him as much.
He was much calmer and so was I.

After that every test/shoot was easier until he would jump up to his testing spot with just a hand signal from me. cat_pet_icon Sigh... I miss him.
 
Re: 11/1 SCRABBLE AMPS 290 +4 235

((Carolyn)) we miss Big Mac too! I sound like newbie huh? Lol! It just feels like forever, well 2 1/2 years is a while I guess! I am hoping this will be short lived too. It is hard for me to shoot while eating, never was able to master that. But Sctabble is an amazing boy & he knows how much I love him. I am sure it will get easier, thanks for stopping by, great to hear from you!
 
Re: 11/1 SCRABBLE AMPS 290 +4 235

Hi Michelle, looks like Scrabble is starting to climb down! Thanks for your visit earlier. I also shoot Maggie in the scruff. She sits on my lap while I shoot. Before long, this will all be old hat to you, but I hope, too, it's just a short visit here and Scrabble returns to the Falls.
 
Re: 11/1 SCRABBLE PMPS 326

PMPS 326 YUCK! Scrabble didn't get his afternoon snack since I was out later than expected so I don't know if this has to do with the higher number. Booooo! He was his happy self when I got home and just wanted to eat. Will be home tonight to get a few tests in. Still nervous about the shots don't know what my problem is. Hope I got his shot right tonight, I smelled some insulin on his fur so hopefully I did it right. Ugh! How long does it take the shed to fill up and how long should I hold this initial dose before increasing? Forgot all this stuff! We are on day 2 of insulin.
 
Re: 11/1 SCRABBLE PMPS 326 +2 329

+2 329 Ugh Maybe I did give a fur shot? Possible but who knows. Will test again in an hour or two. I know I need to be patient and his shed is still filling up right? We are only on our 4th shot. When should I know if this dose is too low?
 
Re: 11/1 SCRABBLE PMPS 326 +2 329

Hi Michelle & Scrabble,

I shoot Rusty in the scruff because his hair is very long and very dense. I was doing fur shots all the time when I tried to shoot behind the shoulder (like I did with Stu). I pull up Rusty's hair to make the "tent", find skin, and shoot. It works pretty well, but I still give those fur shots from time to time. Rusty doesn't like to have his shot while he is eating, so I don't try to do that anymore. He has a small, broken-down box that he goes to when he knows I am ready to shoot and we have most of our shots there. It is a routine and he likes routines.

Don't worry about Scrabble's numbers right now. They are just numbers. He will come down when you get your dose figured out and are able to shoot consistently. I may have missed this, but does he have any other health issues that might be influencing his bgs? Have you had bloodwork and urinalysis done? How are his teeth? Sometimes dental issues will send a cat out of remission.

If you read the "Sticky" on the Tight-Regulation Protocol (see the starred "stickies" at the top of the Lantus forum), it will answer all of your questions about when to raise the dose and by how much. The protocol is much clearer and easier to follow than when you were here the first time around. It takes about a week for the shed to fill. Until then, not all of the insulin is available to lower the blood glucose because it is going into the shed. You will have to evaluate your dose as you go along (as per the protocol).

I'm very sorry that you find yourself and Scrabble back from the Falls. I hope that he can return soon. Don't sublet his condo there!

Welcome back!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 11/1 SCRABBLE PMPS 326 +2 329

Hi Ella
Thanks for your post! Just had all of Scrabble's bloodwork done a couple of weeks ago when I noticed his bg going up. All of his tests came back great which was a relief. He had a dental a week ago today and did really well. The only other thing that could be affecting his numbers is the shot of covenia he received after his dental. Other than that he is in good health and getting along pretty good for a guy 16 years of age. Hoping this will just be a short trip but you never know. Good to hear from you!
 
Re: 11/1 SCRABBLE PMPS 326 +2 329

Michelle

If he doesn't come down tonight,I'd increase to .5u in the morning and monitor closely. Remember Jill and I both suggested you take him up after four cycles if he wasn't doing anything.

Here is a post Jill made to another member whose kitty came back from remission...and then returned to the falls because Celi was aggressive:

when an OTJ kitty returns from the Falls, their bodies have been through this once before. cells have been compromised. in a way, you could say a returning kitty faces a tougher battle getting back to the Falls. the best way to get them back there is to get them back into green as soon as you can without putting them in danger.

you know binks and you know your schedule (availability to monitor). use what you know to be as aggressive as you can be (that level is different for everybody). an experienced caregiver who knows what they're doing and makes themselves available to monitor can push in a way no newbie ever could.

please study the first few weeks alex was back on insulin in 2009. i'm using her 2009 spreadsheet as an example because that's when she returned from the Falls the first time. when she started back on insulin the third time in 2010 she was near death's door and getting her back to the Falls became a secondary concern. notice how 2009 increases were made. when you know the protocol inside and out you know what guidelines can be set aside. remember, there are no hard and fast rules here... only suggested guidelines. find what works best for the two of you and run with it. if you're not seeing green real soon, take the dose up as long as your schedule permits.
 
Re: 11/1 SCRABBLE PMPS 326 +2 329

Sounds like great advice thanks! I will get a +6 in an hour and see where he is @! I want to be aggressive so we can hopefully get back to the falls!
 
Re: 11/1 SCRABBLE PMPS 326 +2 329

Me, too! We like the OTJ cats to just visit and not take up residence here :lol:
 
+6 220 well looks like he doesn't want to come down too much so we will increase to .50 in the morning. Off to bed to get some much needed sleep see you in the am
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top