Re: 11/1 Red AMPS 216 +1.5 153 +5 88 +12 92
Hi Kath
I agree with Sienne - a BOUNCE is the most likely explanation for that spot of yellow (which, you're right, is nowhere *near* horrendous, thank heavens). Here's a little Bounce-Theory I posted to Misty; it's just expanding a bit on Sienne's explanation, and might help you understand why we're reading Red's SS this way:
Jane said:
BOUNCE:
When a cat's BG drops *faster* than the cat is used to, or *lower* than the cat is used to, or *both,* that cat's liver "recognizes" that as out of the ordinary and, more pertinently, as potentially dangerous.
The liver, to counteract this potential "danger," then releases counterregulatory hormones and a form of stored sugar (glucagon), both of which act on the BG, *raising* it.
(This does *not* mean it actually *is* dangerous - cats who have been sitting in the 400s can bounce even off the 300s or 200s, which obviously is nowhere near "dangerously low numbers." The liver is "overreacting" in anticipation of what it "thinks" is a dangerous BG range for that specific cat. The liver does, however, have the ability to adjust and get used to the healthier, lower ranges. We call this LTS - liver training school. :smile
This raise in BG is called a BOUNCE - it can happen very quickly and it can go considerably high - a bounce of two or three hundred points is not unsual.
Bounces are a NORMAL reaction to unusual BG-dropping activity. They indicate that the cat's liver is in working order, which is a *good* thing. They can also afford the caregiver some extra rest (because high numbers from bounces *will* pass, and whil the cat is high, there isn't as much of a need to watch her or him as closely).
Normally, bounces will clear within 72 hours. (They *can* take longer, but it's normally alright to assume the 72-hour range applies.)
You'll see several ways in which LL'ers refer to bouncing - being on the trampoline, zooming, and so on. :smile:
When a cat comes back *out* of the bounce-induced high numbers, that too can happen with a certain amount of excitement, and it's good to be aware of when a cat is coming out of a bounce because it *can* influence dosing choices.
As for tonight's shot:
--- Having sufficient supplies is a must when shooting lower than one ever has before, so yes, it's likely that the advice would have been to skip - or to shoot a BCS dose, a "big chicken ****" dose, meaning a significantly reduced one just to protect the insulin depot. (Regarding shooting lower than ever before: On the 25th, while on 1u, you did shoot a 102, which, given the ever-present possibility of 20% meter variance, is close enough to a 92 to count as pretty much the kind of PS, and Red dropped to the 50s. But that was a week ago, on a different dose, and since then thee have been some factors like late/skipped shots.)
--- Another factor is that Red went from yellow to blue to green with no visible rise at the end of the cycle - this continuous, gradual drifting down from one PS to another can make for some rather dramatic drops if one does shoot - again, a definite NO without lots of test strips and plenty of guidance (and ideally prior data).
--- Apart from the obvious advice of always having extra test strips stashed somewhere

, there is the question of whether you could still *get* extra strips now? (It's evening, yes? So probably not? And you say strips will be delivered tomorrow :smile

. I'm asking because just for the record if you *could* get strips sooner than tomorrow, you *could* treat this as another late/stalled shot, and shoot once you have strips. BUT: This would ONLY have been my suggestion if:
(a) YOU could stay up and test as much as needed.
(b) I could stay with you or find someone else who can.
(c) You had enough of all other supplies (food etc.).
(d) YOU felt comfortable.
The thought behind learning to shoot low once one is data-ready is that here we
shoot low to stay low whenever it is safe to do so. That way, a cat can be helped to stay in healthy, healing numbers for as much of the time as possible.
Still, Red is seeing some very pretty numbers on a low dose and despite some shot wonkiness having gone on, so you need not fret too terribly much about a skipped shot. Think of it as a furshot, put it (as we say here) in the rearview mirror, and move on. You and Red are both doing very well. And your instincts on not shooting when you cannot monitor appropriately are right on the mark, so well done! Plus, a skipped shot allows you some extra rest - always a good thing to have a rested bean!
Hope this all makes sense. Just ask any questions you may have, k?
As for the plan - I'd go for a (+2) and post, and should the BG you get need a follow-up plan, you will get one :smile:
Hugs
Jane