11/1 Ming PMPS = 448, +2 = 328, +4 = 148 (Aborted)

No I didn’t get a 6-9% hypo food yet. He’s eating now. I only just added a tsp of the FF gravy food I had left in the LC food.

I’m going to shoooooot and monitor and somehow get sleep at the same time lol!!!
 
Shot. And again doubting if I got it in or not. I guess we’ll see.. I hate these short needles

I’ll be getting that MC food tomorrow most likely. PetSmart has a friends and family sale :) 15% off everything
 
Heeey! I think I actually gave him a MC food! I fed Nature’s Variety Ultimate Chicken Protein. It’s listed as 7% on the food chart.

For some reason, I always thought it was 4% carbs.

To be clear: Ming ate ONLY 1 Teaspoon of gravy at preshot?

@Crista & Ming

Yes it was a very small amount. I thought I’d add it in as “security” when I thought my food was 4%. You think by adding it to the 7% it would make it into HC food?
 
I fed Nature’s Variety Ultimate Chicken Protein. It’s listed as 7% on the food chart.
:cool: good choice.
Take a test at +1 and record the foods.
You think by adding it to the 7% it would make it into HC food?
no, I do not think so BC if it was only gravy then its effect will wain in 1 - 2 h. (I'd say rather 1 then 2) but ECID.
The +1 test will tell you . Try that 7% as you base feed for a few cycles - and record his response to it.
 
Phewwww 218 at +2

Maybe he’ll surrrffff this cycle?

When is the next test necessary?

I also didn’t feed him anything besides his normal meal because he was already eating it when you posted @Tanya and Ducia
 
I also didn’t feed him anything besides his normal meal because he was already eating it when you posted
ok.
it is important to know what he eats and I do no know what normal meal is for him. I won't keep asking if it recorded but not now.
Have some good rest 1st. Food and dose combo is essential tools in controlling the ketones and BGs.

I'll check with you around +6.
 
Sorry I meant his AM meal when I wrote regular mean :facepalm: he was just finishing it off right when you posted to feed non-gravy MC food. Then I forgot to mention it. But yes! I should also record how much he eats and when he does it.
 
FYI, 0-10% are all LC, 11-17% are MC, and 18% and up are HC.
OK, close but not quite right. From the L/L Slang Dictionary, 0-10% is LC, MC = 11-15%, and HC is 16+%. It helps if we are all talking the same percentages.

Lesson learned, he doesn't need gravy after a night of gravy, unless he's dropping really fast and low and you can't monitor. Another thing he confirmed, is that he is only taking a couple of bounce cycles before he starts coming down again. That's a good thing.:)

Did he smell of Lantus after the shot? Maybe there are some tips in here that might help. Testing and Shooting Tips.

Have a good nap.:bighug:
 
He didn’t smell strongly of Lantus. There are times I shoot and I smell a little bit and the cycle still works. It was one of these times.

I only worry it’s a FS because it felt weird when I pushed the plunger like I pushed something that was blocking it out.

I also shot him in the scruff this time because he was trying to run away haahaha
 
Maybe I did a FS? +8 = 468

Which ones are you using? The BD Ultrafine II come in longer or shorter sizes and are available at most pharmacies. I used the ones with the purple and yellow box, 8mm. You can probably buy a bag and see if they work for you.

I was using the ReliOn ones. I do have BD ultrafine II but of course I only have the short needles. I haven’t used BD yet because I’m not sure if I can since it’s 1/2 mL/cc. Are they the same?

6FE6853F-8055-40D2-8814-D025E7337E54.jpeg
 
+10 = 427

Going dooowwn. I guess I got something in him lol or maybe he’s bouncing or having a carb hang over. I have no idea.

I haven’t had the chance to get ketone readings. Hoping to get one tomorrow but he’s outwardly ok looking so I’m not extremely concerned.

Last time I noticed he had ketones in hospital, he was drinking water and still on IV fluids so obviously he wasn’t feeling great.
 
+10 = 427

Going dooowwn. I guess I got something in him lol or maybe he’s bouncing or having a carb hang over. I have no idea.
I wonder if he took a little trip to the lowlands sometime between PM+5 and PM+11...
I haven’t had the chance to get ketone readings. Hoping to get one tomorrow but he’s outwardly ok looking so I’m not extremely concerned.
Don't let your guard down...on one occasion BK went from negative to large in exactly 24 hours...
 
Well it's been half an hour and my mom hasn't given insulin yet.. so here's another delay.... I don't know why she delayed and then when she was giving it before 9, she poked herself. :nailbiting:

How much does half an hour (and a bit) affect the dose?

Edit: When she poked herself, it wasn't near Ming and she threw away that needle with the insulin. Drew up a new one.
 
Last edited:
I wasn't clear enough and she delayed because she was following the PZI protocol of just waiting to see if he'll eat and PZI seems to have a 1 hour window.
 
I wonder if he took a little trip to the lowlands sometime between PM+5 and PM+11...

I wonder too. Even with the FF gravy on board? This cat... o_O But it would be nice if he decided his nadir is in the middle now. I guess we'll know during the weekend!

I mean, I like that I can catch his nadir if it's later but it's also extremely nerve wracking lol.

Don't let your guard down...on one occasion BK went from negative to large in exactly 24 hours...

Oh yes, I will be more diligent over the weekend. I've seen it happen to Ming too. It was that time he was on IV fluids. Even the IVs can't help sometimes... darn ketones!

I'm going to give him subq fluids tomorrow hopefully. I asked the vet what she thought was an emergency for ketones overnight. She told me if he has them but isn't showing signs of distress, then it could wait until the next morning for him to be seen (to avoid $$$, I guess). That's sort of what happened to him two days after I admitted him to hospital for vomiting: I brought him home after they said I could (even though I felt like he was NOT BETTER but I thought I would try), and he was extremely lethargic and slept like a snoring rock - I would lift his head up and it would fall right back down. And I saw ketones in his urine around midnight, but I was so frazzled I didn't even know if it was trace ketones or moderate ketones. I called NN and she said if he's peeing it out, it's already coming out of his system but to bring him in right away in the morning. He had high ketones when he got to the vet in the morning.
 
I thought I'd also share that last night and tonight, there is a dog who's in the hospital because he ate 40 SMALL CHOCOLATE BARS!!! But the kicker is: the owners didn't bring him in until 2 days later because he was finally feeling bad. Gee, I wonder why? They induced vomiting yesterday and a lot came out but not all. He also vomited once for me last night and I saw 4-5 wrappers. Then today, he got an enema and he still has more wrappers to poop out. And my job tonight is to go through his poop and count how many wrappers there are. His x-rays showed there's quite a bit of stuff in his intestines.

Sugar kitty is still here tonight too. She's eating though and looks much better :) She gets 1 u of Lantus and I'm so jealous. Her BGs look good too.
 
It's happening again! +2 = 328. He hasn't finished his food yet either so maybe he'll munch on that...

I asked her to do another test in 2 hours?
 
As I'm working, I'm having these thoughts:

He's bouncing a lot. Is it because his body is not used to being so low? Could this dramatic bouncing have been avoided if we started from low? And then a small voice inside of me wonders if this dose is too much? I know @Kris & Teasel mentioned that too high of a dose can look like not enough. What a headache!!

I hope tomorrow and this weekend can give us some answers as to what's going on with Ming. I just brought some u-100 needles from work that have a longer needle. They're 30 units or 0.3 ml which I'm assuming is okay to use? I did some googling and it just looks like one syringe holds more than the other. I'm so paranoid about using the wrong syringe..
 
Sorry you had to abort again but better safe.

Yeah, it's too bad. I'm curious where it would bring him to and I really hope he doesn't bounce tomorrow during AM.

It's so frustrating :( I'd like to go at least 2 cycles in a row without ~~ draAAAmmAA~~

Also I hope the diabetic cat in the hospital gets to go home tomorrow and get off her IV fluids. She's peeing up a storm every 2-3 hours!! Too many fluids! lol
 
Last edited:
As I'm working, I'm having these thoughts:

He's bouncing a lot. Is it because his body is not used to being so low? Could this dramatic bouncing have been avoided if we started from low? And then a small voice inside of me wonders if this dose is too much? I know @Kris & Teasel mentioned that too high of a dose can look like not enough. What a headache!!

I hope tomorrow and this weekend can give us some answers as to what's going on with Ming. I just brought some u-100 needles from work that have a longer needle. They're 30 units or 0.3 ml which I'm assuming is okay to use? I did some googling and it just looks like one syringe holds more than the other. I'm so paranoid about using the wrong syringe..
Those syringes are fine. Do they have half unit marks and a half inch needle? I buy the Elimedical brand from my vet - white box, green writing, cat and dog on the box. Are yours like that?
 
Those syringes are fine. Do they have half unit marks and a half inch needle? I buy the Elimedical brand from my vet - white box, green writing, cat and dog on the box. Are yours like that?

Yes they have half unit markings. The brand is actually sol-vet. The needle is longer so it’ll be easier for us :)
 
Back
Top