11/1 Lucy PMPS=184;+2.25=108;+3.25=117

Status
Not open for further replies.

mariko

Member Since 2011
Good morning!

Yesterday's condo

10/31 AMPS=139; +1=139; +2=135; +9.75=158
10/31 PMPS=187; +2=137; +3=157; +6=140

11/1 AMPS=135; +2=137; +7=157
11/1 PMPS=184; +2.25=108; =3.25=117

:?: Question first. I am getting both Lucy & Ginger's bloodwork done tomorrow. The appointment is at 10:20 am.
I am adding a B-12 test for Lucy, so she needs to be fasted. I will not feed her after 10:30pm tonight.
Lucy's AMPS is usually blue. If I get a blue AM preshot tomorrow, I am thinking I'd better skip the AM shot.
Do you agree?? If I get a number above 200, should I shoot her 1/2 dose?
Also, do you think I should also add a folate test? I am not very sure what this test indicates, but since she is getting fasted, I'd like to add other fasting-required tests that might be helpful.
If you can suggest any additional tests I should be getting while she's being fasted, please let me know (I'm adding spec fPL).


Lucy's appetite is so-so this morning, but she is feeling good.
She had a small poo this morning. It was shaped, but little soft.
Strange since she pooped last night. I'll keep an eye on her bowel movement.

I am already getting quite nervous about the vet visit tomorrow, especially with fasting Lucy.
And I will know how CKD has progressed for both Lucy and Ginger since the last test 3 months ago.
I feel that Ginger has been drinking more, and Lucy's pee has increased in volume. She pees for a long time, and makes a huge clump of litter.

I hope everyone is having a nice day.
 
Re: 11/1 Lucy AMPS=135 // Q abt FASTING for B/W

Hey Mariko,

When Lucy has a bad appy, do her numbers usually drop pretty low? (If so, it may not be a good idea to shoot any without food)

Also wondering, What time is regular shot time? Not sure how long prior to appt you would normally give her shot... is it possible to delay it a little til after vet appt or do you usually give shot way earlier?

Sorry that I cant be too helpful with your question and hoping someone else will be by soon to help answer your question better.

Sending lots of good vetty vines for tomorrow.

Hope you have a great day
 
Re: 11/1 Lucy AMPS=135;+2=137 // Q abt FASTING for B/W

Thank you, Jamie.
The regular shot time is 6:30/6:30.
So the appointment time would be our +4.
By the time we get home, it will be +5 or +5.5, so I don't think shifting the AM shot time to after the appointment will work, especially with the daylight saving time ending.
She has an early nadir, so that's another concern too.

I just wonder if there is some guideline on shooting when fasting.
I remember seeing a thread on this board somewhere, not LL, where people talked about this, and many people's opinions seemed to favor shooting when fasting, but maybe there were talking about cats with higher BG range, like pink or red....
 
Re: 11/1 Lucy AMPS=135;+2=137 // Q abt FASTING for B/W

J.D.'s last two Cobalamin tests were both called Folate & Vitamin B12 (Cobalamin), so I'm guessing it's probably already a combined test. I would get the Spec fPL, while your at it, too.

My Ginger has been drinking water more too. I tested her this morning and got an 81, so I added a thyroid test for her.
 
Re: 11/1 Lucy AMPS=135;+2=137 // Q abt FASTING for B/W

Hi Mariko, I don't have a definite answer for Lucy, just some experience. When Neko had to undergo anesthesia and fast for her SRT treatments, she got 1/2 dose. At the time, her preshots varied from red, yellow and blue. I wasn't picking her up until +7 some days, but she often had a later nadir. With Lucy's early nadir, I'd hesitate to shoot a full dose if she is mid blue or lower. Are you giving her fluids tonight?

Good luck with the tests tomorrow.
 
Re: 11/1 Lucy AMPS=135;+2=137 // Q abt FASTING for B/W

No, no fluids tonight.
It makes her pee dilute, and I don't want that in case we are collecting urine as well.

I'll do the fluids over the weekend.
 
Re: 11/1 Lucy AMPS=135;+2=137 // Q abt FASTING for B/W

And I'm moving the pred from AM to PM tomorrow.
I don't want to give her meds without food.
 
Re: 11/1 Lucy AMPS=135;+2=137 // Q abt FASTING for B/W

I've just PM'd Sienne and Marje....
Hopefully they will have time to visit Lucy's condo today.....
I have never given Lucy a partial shot, so I don't know how she would react to it.
I am so nervous about tomorrow!
 
Re: 11/1 Lucy AMPS=135;+2=137 // Q abt FASTING for B/W

I don't have a lot of experience with fasting successfully. When J.D. had his two dentals, he was fasted from midnight on and did not get any insulin in the morning (but that was because of the anesthesia). When he was fasted for his first Spec fPL, he was fasted from midnight and his test was at 8:00am. His 2nd "fasting" Spec fPL was at the end of the day and he was diving at +6 and I nailbite_smile through some 40s at +8 and +9 but made it without feeding him for the 5 hours before the test. His last two Spec fPLs have been non fasting (contrary to what IDEXX recommends), and when I was asked to fast him for a follow up cobalamin test, I told the vet I couldn't fast him for 12 hours as he was diabetic and they seemed to understand. So, I'm no help. :-|
 
Re: 11/1 Lucy AMPS=135;+2=137 // Q abt FASTING for B/W

Sorry no advice on the shot tomorrow morning. Sending good vetty vines.
 
Re: 11/1 Lucy AMPS=135;+2=137 // Q abt FASTING for B/W

Personally, I would skip the shot. There are just too many variables. Some kitties numbers with drop with vet stress (vs. go sky high). In the grand scheme of things, Lucy will be safer if you skip and you will get right back on track in the evening.
 
Re: 11/1 Lucy AMPS=135;+2=137 // Q abt FASTING for B/W

Good luck with the tests tomorrow, Mariko. We also skip the morning shot if Rusty has to fast. I try to get him in as early as possible so that he can get home sooner and eat. Since no anasthesia is involved, you should be able to take Lucy home as soon as the tests are completed.

Will be thinking of you tomorrow and sending good vines for the bloodwork.

Hugs, scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 11/1 Lucy AMPS=135;+2=137 // Q abt FASTING for B/W

Mariko

I agree with Sienne and I did this very thing myself when I was having a specfPL, cobalamin, folate test done on Gracie. While, in hindsight, I didn't necessarily need to based on her numbers that day, I was glad I didn't take the risk. She was back on track within two cycles.

The only other thing I would suggest is for you to see if you can have her test done early in the morning (as soon as they open) and then shoot late....if you have the flexibility to do that.
 
Re: 11/1 Lucy AMPS=135;+2=137 // Q abt FASTING for B/W

Sending along good vetty vines for tomorrow. I hope sweet little Lucy is feeling good tonight, and I hope your tummy has recovered from all the ice cream the other night!
 
Re: 11/1 Lucy AMPS=135;+2=137 // Q abt FASTING for B/W

Sending more good vetty vines for tomorrow and hugs for you.....
I hate the waiting and the fasting and feeling nervous....
 
Re: 11/1 Lucy PMPS=184

Thank you so very much for your advice, Sienne, Marje, Ella.
And thank you all for your well wishes.

With your help, I have decided to skip her morning shot tomorrow.
To be honest, I am very relieved that that was your advice.
Last time Lucy had her blood taken (non fasting), her number dropped instead of going up and I came home to a surprising green number.

I made this appointment to be tomorrow specifically because it was the only day Lucy's doctor and Lucy's favorite tech were both working.
And 10:20am was the earliest available spot when I made the appointment about 6 weeks ago.
Lucy is very slow to bleed and seems to have tiny veins, and she gets poked more than one time if not this tech.
But I found out today that she had taken a day off tomorrow...... :sad:
I am very sad about this. I hope Lucy will give up blood quickly tomorrow so that she won't get poked so many times.
 
Re: 11/1 Lucy PMPS=184

I hope you get a vet tech that's just as good as the one you prefer, and Lucy and Ginger do fine at the vets.
Sending good test result vines for both of your furbabies, tomorrow.
 
Re: 11/1 Lucy PMPS=184

More good vetty vines for Miss Lucy tomorrow. I hope she has a capable tech and vet, and the blood draw only takes one stick! Calming vines for you Mariko - I know how nerve wracking it is waiting for test results.

Jane
 
Re: 11/1 Lucy PMPS=184;+2.25=108

With all the things going on in my mind about fasting and tomorrows bloodwork and time change, I completely forgot to test the +2 before feeding her the +2 dinner. :shock:
I would have thought that it had become an auto-habit by now.
I'm glad her number is coming down considering she won't get any insulin till tomorrow evening.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top