11/1 Loudogg AMPS 192 +3 404 PMPS 403 - Dental and Dose Questions

Amanda and a Loudogg

Member Since 2017
October 31, 2018 Condo - Surprise lime during PM Cycle

Good morning all!
Happy November! I just cannot believe it's November already! This year has flown by! So in yesterday's condo, Wendy (@Wendy&Neko ) suggested an increase because Lou's more frequent high numbers. I figured last night would be an active cycle, but Lou surprised me with a 46 at +6. Do you think I should still increase? I went ahead and gave him his usual 2.5u dose this morning while I wait for feedback today. Unfortunately, I believe I had a bit of a furshot, even though everything felt fine. There was a small bit of liquid on his fur afterwards. I'll hope that most of it went into him.

Now as far as the dental, my vet sent me home with generic paperwork advising no food after 8pm the night before and no water after midnight. No food or water the morning of surgery. That seems a ridiculously long time to have a cat fasting and an impossible timeframe especially for a diabetic on insulin. I was searching the site but I can't seem to find what instructions we use here, at least for insulin dosing the night before and day of. Can someone help me out there? If these fasting timeframes are non-negotiable, I'm tempted to skip his dose the night before and perhaps only give a partial dose, if anything, the day of. Although that's annoying in itself as far as his progress. I'll look to you all for advice and I'll send the vet an email to ask if there isn't some leeway I can give him regarding food. I just don't understand why they'd need SUCH a long fast for this surgery. It seems cruel.

I hope you all have a wonderful day and your kitties surf safely. Sending vines to those kitties in need, especially Jonesy (@Tracey&Jones ) and Miss P (@Phoebes ). :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Don’t give does advice but I’m sure someone will
I agree that’s a long time with NO food or water, hope someone helps there as well
Sending dental vines
 
Most vets have you fast before a dental, but not all start at the same time. Mine told me no food or water after midnight. As far as the dose goes, you'll have to see how Lou is doing and if you think he'll drop the night before if you give insulin and can't feed him to get his numbers up. With Furball I usually skip the morning of to be on the safe side. I've read anesthesia lowers BG.

Also, make sure you have some meat only baby food on hand in case Lou doesn't want to eat afterwards. Dosing the night after the dental may need to be adjusted too.
 
Thanks ladies! I also appreciate the meat-only baby food idea Carla. I added it to my Walmart list so I have some on hand. I sent an email to the vet to ask them about their fasting guidelines. I really hope they talk to the vet instead of sending me a canned "Well that's the way it is" statement from the receptionist or a vet tech. I have been giving Lou SEB with his pm meal. I'm thinking I should probably stop that too in case it may react with the anesthesia. What do you all think?
 
Usually vets have different fasting guidelines for diabetics. The dental specialist I went to said for diabetics, only 1/3 of food up to six hours before the procedure. Even my regular vet was OK with food up to midnight, and even for the civvies. I would grill the clinic and remind them Lou is diabetic. If you get the same answer, ask them to speak to the vet. The no water thing is also old school. I usually gave half dose in the AM, unless Neko was threatening low numbers.

Only some types of anesthesia induction drugs lower the BG, not all. It is good to test when he gets home, then again at PMPS to see if he’s dropping before the PM shot. And also see if he’ll eat before shooting.

I would hold the dose with that dip to the 40’s. But keep threatening an increase. That seems to work. :p
 
My vet did food up to midnight which was close to his nadir. I gave the full dose that night. Water was out at all times. I skipped his dose that morning based upon what the vet was used to. That all said...we discussed everything up front and she had a diabetic cat herself, so she new what she was working with. It was full dose that night as well.

Thank you for the thoughts.
 
Olive was done in July by specialist. It was no food after midnight, water was okay. 1/2 dose of insulin morning of (I even gave less) Being that she was high risk, I was told she was the only kitty scheduled for any procedure so she had one on one monitoring. If true I don't know. It made me feel better though. And she would be getting dextrose IV. When I picked her up they said her sugar was high, understandably, when I got her home the BG was 318 which at that time was normal for her. She was on 7.5 units at that time.

I didn't worry about low numbers at that time as it wasn't an issue with her. I was glad it was one more thing to cross off the list of possible problems with her.
 
Looks like the threat of an increase was all that was needed!

Each vet practice has there ideas of the best way to manage the food thing and diabetic cats. I always gave Bubba his last little .80 of a oz of food at 2 AM the morning of the dental. With wet food, it is out of the stomach in about 4 hours. ( That was from the vet who removed Bubba's right eye) Also, I gave 1/2 the dose of insulin the morning of the procedure.
 
BK went to a dental specialist- 5 years on the streets left his teeth and gums in a mell of a hess.
The way the timing worked for BKs first dental, the procedure started before and lasted until after what would have been AM shot time. Needless to say he didn’t get a shot that morning...good thing too.

Although he typically ate every 4 hours around the clock, previous to the dental morning his PMPS was 349; he ate a regular meal and got his 13u and no other food. I cant remember about water. We left the house at PM+8 with a BG of 244 - he was starting to break a bounce.

BG during the procedure was 50 and in recovery was 30.They brought him up with baby food.

His dose at the time was 13u and the IAA, of which we all knew next to nothing, had started to break about a month earlier, therefore I was super cautious with the Lantus. If as a result of being overly cautious he ended up pink or red I knew I could cover it with R.
I resumed insulin at +35.5 with a BCS of 7u and went back to 13u after that...(although not for long ;))

He had to have a 2nd dental about 5 months later and the meal and surgery timings were about the same.I don't know if they switched the type of anesthesia, but he didn't bottom out the second time :cool:
 
Back
Top