? 11/1 Leonard PMPS 88 - SLGS question

Marie&Leonard

Member Since 2018
PMPS surprised is this evening ! So I have a question about SLGS- it says that it is not recommended to shot when the number is below 90. So does that mean no insulin @ all ? Or a reduced dose? It seems clear to me that it’s saying don’t shoot at all, but i’ wondering if that messes up the depot ?
 
When you get a number that is unsafe to shoot you have several options. However, numbers need to be above 90 for any of these options. 90 is the point at which you reduce the dose so if numbers are below at shot time, remember to reduce your dose.

  • stall -- do not feed your kitty -- and retest in 15 - 20 min. You repeat this process until you see numbers are rising sufficiently that it's safe to shoot. I would continue to test frequently if you do shoot a lower than usual number. If you are waiting 2 hours to see if numbers rise, skip.
  • shoot a reduced dose
  • skip
Skipping does have an effect on the depot. But, so does shooting a reduced dose and depending on how long you stall, a late shot acts like a dose reduction. This is the long winded way of saying no matter what you do, it will have an effect on the depot. Of curse, it's ok because you need to drain the depot a bit if numbers are that low.
 
Back
Top