11/1 Leo AM 53/44/60 AMPS 60 PMPS 250 +1 344

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 11/1 Leo AM 53/44/60 AMPS 60 PMPS 250

Hi Leslie! LOL! Yeah, Ice Road Truckers (do you know that show?) Too bad ECID! I hope I can get some sleep tonight, especially since his injection was 3 HOURS LATE this morning. I didn't want to skip - I think some of this was still due to the last dose we skipped on Sunday. Sigh. The next couple days will be a challenge, but luckily this is daylight savings this weekend, and that 1 hour helps a lot!

How would you measure out what the Lantus pen ejects for 1u?
 
Sorry I couldn't get here today to help with the caliper issue. Ella is spot on with her explanations.

What you have to do is be consistent with the caliper measurement for a dose. Ella explained establishing the dose. You find a perfect syringe where the top of the plunger when pushed in (not shoved in and held tight) lines up perfectly with the needle side of the zero line.

Then draw in the 1u dose. Line the needle side of the plunger up plumb with the needle side of the 1u line. Measure the distance as shown in the photos Ella linked. So if 1u is 1.52 mm, then every single time you are shooting 1u, you want to measure 1.52 mm. You will not be looking at the unit markings now. You will measure from where the needle side of the zero line is to the needle side of the plunger.

Actually, I do get .11 mm for each of my doses. The way you figure that out is you get your 1u dose as described above. Then you figure out how many drops YOU normally get in 1u. Divide that into the 1u caliper measurement. So..as an example, if you get 1.52 mm to one dose and you get 10 drops to 1u, then each dose is .15 mm.

The mm measurements will vary depending on the type of syringe one uses and how one measures it. It doesn't make any difference if your 1u caliper measurement is different from mine as long as you are consistent with your measurements.

I would not even mess with measuring how much the pen dose measures out for 1u. It could be as inaccurate as the syringes. There is an acceptable variance for humans which would be too much for kitties.

The other point I want to make is your ability to shoot the full dose on time if he is above 50, you have supplies, and you'll be there. You initially got a 53, you stalled about two hours and shot a 60 which was in meter variance of the 53. If you had shot the 53 and fed, he would have come up and you could have continued to feed him before onset to get him up...just like you did..but you would have shot on time. :-D :-D
 
HI Marje

Thanks for the added explanation. I still have some measuring to do, as I don't have a perfect syringe right now. If I can get back to NJ today, I'll have the rest of the box. Gas lines are still 2-3 hours long because electricity is still out and only a few stations are open. I hope to leave today taking gas with me in cans.

About your suggestion that I could have shot on time ... I understand what you're saying, but the initial reading was a complete surprise, and I didn't have the data to know if he was surfing or falling. I'd also been mucking with doses and suspected I'd given him a higher dose. If I had a +11, my actions might have been different. With meter variance, a 53 is also less than 50, which I shouldn't shoot. And in stalling, he fell to 44. So I think I did the right thing, because I didn't have the data to shoot a 53. But I did get more experience with this, and that's important too.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top