11/1 KHAN Amps 305

Status
Not open for further replies.

pepperthecat1969

Member Since 2010
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=28627

Using Up&Up Target BG meter--
Ok my meter errored out last night. Er 1 It was almost thrown across the room I was so frustrated.

so I looked it up in the booklet, I tried turning on/off then a different container of strips.. nothing.. finally took the batteries out (didn't replace) just out then back in.. then the meter worked. well.. the reading Amps today 305.. I shot 1u.. then 1 hr later I tested and reading was 305.. too strange for me to think that reading is correct. Khan is fine, eating, pooping, peeing fine.. I left food out for him.

i'm going tonight to buy a Walmart Relion meter.

I'm just really beginning to get a bit frustrated-- I guess probably tired out is the best way to say it for today. Tomorrow or by wednesday things should be better. I took off thursday and friday.. hopefully if needed I can increase Khan's dose and be home to monitor then... or if he shows another low Amps 100 reading then I will be home thursday thru sunday.

I'm just tired..with trying to get Pepper to drink (he has crystals and high risk to block--so syringing in liquids, grandma cat- trying to get her to eat.. she was diagnosed with hyperthyroid on 10/22, Khan -whom is doing well then my 3yr old whom is a 3yr old with LOTS AND LOTS of energy).. I did switch all the litter boxes.. NO MORE PEEING so far in house!! THANK G!!! that has really helped. I think I'm just tired. enough complaining--- tomorrow will be better..thanks for listening.
 
Re: 11/1 KHAN frustrated

Always glad to listen! Some days are just frustrating and you wonder how much longer you can keep going with all the stress. I'm glad to hear you have a few days off coming your way. It will give you something to look forward to and time to regroup. I am sure Khan and every other furbaby and child in your house appreciate all your time and love :smile: Maybe another cup of coffee or some other special treat is in order today!
 
Re: 11/1 KHAN frustrated

Sometimes their numbers do stay the same...I just had that last night with Shadow ...+4 was the same as PMPS. Oh well...I hope you have good luck with the Reli-On. I used the Reli-On micro and really like it. the test strips are conveniently available.
It is good that you will have days off this week because rest is very important. We try to do so much and before you know it, your energy is tapped and I always find that I am good for nothing and no one when I am totally exhausted.

When you get a minute, please put your AMPS in the header and if you can, update your SS too...take a deep breath! :mrgreen:
It will be okay.
You are dealing with multiple issues and you have to step back for a minute. It is good that you realize you need more rest...
hang in there!!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 11/1 KHAN frustrated

Thank you -- it is exactly how I'm feeling as well as what I'm working hard on staying focused on today. Just get done what I must- don't bite anyone's head off, buy a new meter, make sure my son gets some 1:1 with mom then get to bed! ha! My little furbies get so much lov'n when I'm sleeping.. Last night I had three by me! One on my chest, one between myself and my boyfriend and my fat pepper on the other side of me-whom REALLy wanted to sleep on my head. geezzzzz.. (but I love it). I just do not need a comforter with all that fur to keep me warm!

That meter is only a few months old but having a back up I'll feel better. I have a ultra mini but strips are too expensive.
 
I will update the SS with Amps today but for the BG readings late last night I don't have the numbers with me (in my hast to get out the door I left the entire bag (kid's clothes & BG note) on the counter-- oh well SS additional updates will come once I get home tonight.
 
Thank you.. I REALLY do appreciate it. This is stuff that really only other cat lovers can appreciate and understand. My little cat (well she is 7) comes in to my room late and sneaks up quietly.. since she isn't suppose to be in there.. and stinker slept rt on my chest!! her nose was inches from mine!! I never knew it until I was nearly over heated! hahahah and my furbies don't move either when I move around.. oh no.. they own that bed.. haha.
 
Re: 11/1 KHAN frustrated

I tried the Relion Confirm and the readings are much higher than my Freestyle. They sent me a replacement which did the same. The only time the two meters are the same is when glucose is under 200. I would not recommend it.
If you get a Relion I would suggest you get the Micro as Pat uses. She has found it good and there are others who have checked it vet Alpha Trak and it was almost the same. I am going to replace mine with the Micro. Different meters can be 20% different in their accuracy.I hope things go better for you today. You have a lot on your plate so be kind to yourself you deserve it. :YMHUG:
 
good advice. Maybe I should just stick with the ultra mini and buy the strips tonight for back up .. or for long term cost savings just buy the Relion mini and the strips and be done with it.

thoughts????
 
hi there

as commonly heard thru the board, pick a meter and stick with it.
preferably one that works best for you.
A back up is always handy - I have 3 :-D got a little meter crazy :lol:

Hoping Khan's day went well!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top