? 11/1 Kazzy AMPS 58 Reduced dose by whole unit from 3U to 2

Jim Martin

Member Since 2018
Some would say I'm being risky - or just dumb. The first time he was under 65 (the low figure in the AlphaTrak user book) it was at PMPS, and I panicked and skipped entirely.
So this morning he was low again, but I stalled a bit and he ate. I had recently dropped from 3.5 units to 3 units, but he has also transitioned from dry to mostly wet food. I don't know what to expect doing that, but I followed part of the protocol chart in Dr. KRoomp & JRands work and decided on 'split the dose, give most of it, feed and test again'.
He ate again, this time with some dry Crave and treats, after the second test - which was 51, and after some play and going out briefly(its raining here), is at his normal nap time. I plan to test again shortly and have the honey, etc on hand. My vet here is of no use whatsoever, and we aren't even talking at this point.
 
'the split and give most' translated in my mind to a 2 unit Lantus dose for a cat mostly on 3.5 and formerly on 5 units of Prozinc
 
so the next one was 103 at +4 hrs still in his nap spot, but rolling over for gurgle and tummy rub.
 
Will test again, but wondering if PM should also be 2 or 2.5 (gosh, I could use up an old U40 at 1U for that!- kinda like the longer needle)
 
Did you split the dose? If so, how far after the first one did you give the second one, and what size dose? It’s not something we practise here, so that’s likely wh6 you haven’t gotten and feedback so far. And the dosing has not been consistent, which makes it harder for us to say what to do next.
 
Thanks for replying -- The 2U was a 'split the dose giving most of it ..' to loosely quote Dr. Rand's dosing protocol. But I did not give the remaining part of the split because even four hours later it had barely raised to 100 (granted that is from my AT2 meter),even with dry food and treats. So I'm holding off for a later test - usually when we eat dinner he wants to come to the kitchen and eat too - he has some real dog-like tendencies, like waiting just outside the door for one of us to accompany him outside. Yes, I would not characterize myself as a diligent person, and certainly he is not on TR.
 
Woke up and came to find me, but we arent at table yet, and he didnt eat yet. Reading at 6:45 (big poke-lots of blood!) AT2 134 Relion Prime 92 - I really dont trust this Relion.
 
If you didn't split the dose, I'd change your Remarks column for today. What + time is that 92? You are probably still seeing some 3.0 unit depot, but I agree he needs a reduction of some kind.

Does Kosmo have any track record of ketones? Have you tested for them at home? That would be a factor in going down to either 2.0 or 2.5 units as his new dose. As does timing of when you switched to all wet food. When did that start? Might be worth noting in the spreadsheet.

One last thing. Pick a meter and stick to it. I'm getting confused reading a mix of AT and Relion meter readings. AT will typically read a bit higher than a human meter. Which is why we use a "take action" number on the AT is 68 and human meter is 50.
 
He ate again, this time with some dry Crave and treats,
Hi Jim,
Are you aware that Crave dry food is 22% carb? The fact that it's a dry food stays in the system longer also. Wondering what would happen if you cut out the Crave completely. Wendy would know more than I would how to interpret that on your SS. Just wanted to share.

BTW, their wet food is supposed to be 7% carbs, but we think there was a connection between the long duration of Bailey's bounces and the Crave so we are on a Crave free experiment.
 
Back
Top