11/1 Hershey PMPS(328) +7.5(32) +8(33) .3u at 3am

Status
Not open for further replies.

Doug N Libby

Member Since 2012
[urlhttp://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=82287]10/31 Hershey[/url]

Hope everyone has had a HAPPY THURSDAY!

Sorry for the late condo, but spent much of today running errands and looking for Operation Christmas Child shoebox items - FUN times! Went to Target and found Count Chocula AND ran into a good friend I hadn't seen in almost two years - YAY!!

Hershey seems to be feeling good today - not sleeping as much as he used to and rippin' and roarin' with Oreo. We left at AM +5.5 and he was (137). We came home at shot time to (328). :o idk if he dropped low or where that came from! Next surprise came at +7.5 (32)...sure wish Doug had given PM shot so that wouldn't have factored into the puzzle. I spent close to :05 trying to get the dose right, but am now second guessing if it's my fault he dropped...He didn't eat all of his +3.5 meal, don't know if that played into it or not...

So, now wondering...do we reduce? After reading Sienne's note last night and Marge's post, I would think yes, because he dropped below (40), but what if it was due to my error? or just a fluke because he didn't finish eating? Do we still reduce?

Thanks for sharing your brain cells!!!!

Libby (& Hershey, too!)

AMPS (182) +12 - Shot .4u at 3:00am - 1/16th tsp Miralax (Doug shot) - DOSE #7
+5.5 (137) - fed

PMPS (328) +12 - Shot .4u at 3:05pm - 1/16th tsp Miralax (Libby shot)
+3.25 (188) - fed
+7.5 (32) - fed tsp 7%
+8 (33) - fed tsp 19%
+8.75 (52)

Will shave to .3u at 3:00am
 
Re: 11/1 Hershey PMPS(328) +7.5(32) +8(33) Reduction?

Hi Donna,
Yes, you should reduce. Numbers in the 30s mean an automatic reduction.

Have a good evening and watch Hershey carefully. He'll most likely bounce.

Hugs,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 11/1 Hershey PMPS(328) +7.5(32) +8(33) Reduction?

Just my opinion. But YES, you reduce. :-D
What do you think you may have done wrong? Got a little more than .4u in him? Well, like Libby (and Lucy) just explained to kotek (And B), the latest shot doesn't necessarily have a big impact on the current cycle. If it was a little bit "rich", it most likely isn't the cause for the 32. The prior cycles of .4u were the biggest factor in this cycle.

When you're studying a Lantus spreadsheet, you have to learn to look at the patterns as "waves" of action rather than a cycle or two at a time. You're looking at 2-3 days worth of numbers at a time. Because of the insulin depot (which can be both a friend and a foe), there's kind of a delayed reaction with anything you do. The easiest way to think of it is to think that even though you only gave 0.5u tonight, really tonight's cycle is a 0.75u cycle because that was what she got this morning. Tonight might be a little more gentle than if you had shot the full 0.75u, but for the most part it is a 0.75u cycle. That is why we usually recommend stalling for a too-low preshot rather than shooting a reduced dose, because shooting a reduced dose really doesn't work very well in THIS cycle.
Granted, Libby was talking about a reduced dose not having a big effect due to a depot that was still running on the "old" dose. But how far could you have been off Libby? A couple drops extra wouldn't cause a drop in BG of nearly 300 points. I'm thinking Hershey was planning on a reduction anyway. He just had to be dramatic about it! ;-)

I took a look at Hershey's SS a couple days ago (yes, I've been checking up on you even though - or probably because - you hadn't posted in a while) and I saw the reduction you'd made to .4u (and wondered why you hadn't reduced sooner :o ) and I saw the bounce on the 30th/31st that looked to be clearing, and I thought "Please give this dose a chance, Libby, don't go back up to .5 too soon!!!). I felt that another reduction was coming. Now admittedly, had I looked today, and saw that sticks-out-like-a-sore-thumb PMPS of 328, I would have done some head scratching wondering where the heck that came from. But I think the 30s tonight are "real", and I think .25u makes some sense to me.

Way to dance, Hershey!

Carl
 
Re: 11/1 Hershey PMPS(328) +7.5(32) +8(33) Reduction?

I agree with Ella and Carl....Hershey needs a reduction.

Good luck with it! I started on a post to your condo yesterday about three times and had to help out in other condos and never got to post to you. Glad to see you all back.

You shouldn't not post just because you don't have time to visit. Everyone understands and we love to see your condo!
 
Re: 11/1 Hershey PMPS(328) +7.5(32) +8(33) Reduction?

Hey, Ella - Thanks for stopping by. I feel pretty certain Hershey will bounce...he's just thatta way :roll:

Hey, Carl - I hadn't read Libby's thoughts, but they make sense. (*smacks forehead*) Sorry, the ProZinc brain kicks in from time to time...Thanks for checking up on us, even when we don't post. You have been a really good friend to us over the last (almost year). Can you believe it's been almost a year? I sure was hoping for remission by now, but am soooo thankful for the progress Hershey has made!! Honestly, this time last year, I spent a good deal of time crying because I didn't expect him to be here much longer. And, now, he's playing some, wrestling with Oreo almost daily and can jump on my bed!

Anyhoo - I wish I had posted earlier, so someone could've pointed out the reduction(s) we missed. But, hopefully no permanent damage done...Guess it's another reduction for Hershey.

To answer your question about how far off I could've been - it's that the calipers were pretty different from the markings on the syringe. .4u by the calipers was more than .5u marked on the syringe. I know that's why we're using the calipers, to be consistent, but the markings make me second guess myself sometimes. Doug said he just turns the syringe around so he can't see the lines - paha - but, he has more *confidence* or something than I do...


+8.75 (52)
 
Re: 11/1 Hershey PMPS(328) +7.5(32) +8(33) Reduction?

Hey, Marje - Good to see you and thanks for the welcome back! Thanks for thinking of us yesterday - I totally understand getting distracted! Guess it's time to adjust the calipers to a reduction - good news for me, but Hershey will miss the kitty crack! :lol:
 
Re: 11/1 Hershey PMPS(328) +7.5(32) +8(33) Reduction?

If Doug does actually do that, I think that's awesome. As long as your calipers are locked in place, you could use a syringe with no markings on it and duplicate the dose. Having come from a manufacturing plant environment, and having used all sorts of precision measuring devices like calipers, I understand how accurate a device like that can be. Heck, you can measure the thickness of a human hair with them. Or even a quarter of that thickness. OTOH, you've got a plastic tube with etched marks filled with paint of some kind, that costs less than a quarter to make, and most of that cost is probably in the metal that the needle is made of. I'd trust the calipers. :-D

Carl
 
Re: 11/1 Hershey PMPS(328) +7.5(32) +8(33) Reduction?

Carl - Yes, the calipers are locked in place; it was easier for me. I still often measure and re-measure, then just have to take a deep breath and shoot -
 
Will shave to .3u at 3:00am. Hope Hershey likes the dose! We started Levemir on .25u, so in the last (almost) 5 months we've worked our way from .25u up to 1u and (hopefully) back down to .3u...never a dull moment...

Thanks, again, y'all!!! Heading to bed for a nap. Goodnight...
 
Hi Libby, good to see you and the green Hershey here again. Never a dull moment in the middle of the night. :lol: :mrgreen: Congrats on the reduction! You may have started at .25U on Lev, but his SS looks WAY better now than it did then.
 
Sweet dreams, Libby.

No sweets for you Hershey! Work the new dose, buddy.

Carl

Psst Hershey..... I told you this would be fun, didn't I? Beans are so much fun!
Bob
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top