11/1, Corduroy, AMPS=70, +2=36, +3=43, +4=80

Status
Not open for further replies.

blove7

Member Since 2013
Hi guys,

Sorry to be asking so many dosing questions, but I'm just unsure. His AMPS this morning is 63, and that's after going down, going back up (a little) and then going down again this morning. Wondering what to do. I know I wouldn't want to give him .50, but even wondering if I should give anything with the way he reacts sometimes.
 
Re: 11/1, Corduroy, AMPS=63. ANOTHER DOSE QUESTION?

Here is your link to Yesterday's Condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=107293
Corduroy's numbers are starting to look really good. The question is always are you going to be home to monitor test and feed and do you have supplies. If it were me and I was going to be home and had supplies, I would want to keep the momentum going and give insulin. If you're going to be home, have supplies and are a little uncomfortable, and your shot schedule can handle the change (and most people need to change their shot schedule by 1 hour by Sunday for daylight savings time anyway), I would stall without feeding and test again to see if he is surfing along. Have you fed yet?
 
Re: 11/1, Corduroy, AMPS=63. ANOTHER DOSE QUESTION?

Hi Dyana,

I just tested him again at 9:00 and it was 70. I ended up giving him .10 units and then feeding him. My husband will be home with him for the next five hours. After that, I will be, with a possible gap in coverage, but not much.
 
Re: 11/1, Corduroy, AMPS=63. ANOTHER DOSE QUESTION?

Okay. Surf nicely Corduroy.

Since you shot, can you change your first Subject Line to be something like 11/01 Corduroy AMPS 70 (since the 63 was before you shot)?

I'm not sure why you increased his dose from the 0.10 on 10/26 to 0.50. We usually do increases in 0.25 increments. Maybe, you could try shooting 0.25 twice a day, for awhile, and see how that goes.
 
Re: 11/1, Corduroy, AMPS=70

Hi Dyana,

I looked at that, 10/26, and it looks like it was a typo because in our books, we have that we gave him a little more than .10 and a little less than .25. Then, when his numbers weren't going down, we decided to raise his dose to .50. It's kind of difficult to understand from another viewpoint because what we're really doing is raising the dosage in relation to what we gave him before based on the syringe, if that makes any sense. For instance, when I thought I was giving him .10 before, it was really in between .10 and .25 I realized.
 
Re: 11/1, Corduroy, AMPS=70

I understand. You can write it as f0.10 or s0.25 where the f stands for a fat 0.10 and/or the s stands for a skinny 0.25.

Anyway, the same dose twice a day, works best, so hopefully 0.25 BID will work better.
J.D. is really sensitive to small changes too, so I use calipers to help me with the minute dose changes. It helps me to measure more consistantly.
 
Re: 11/1, Corduroy, AMPS=70, +1=63, +2=36, +2.5=38

Hey just checking in... it says on your spreadsheet that Corduroy was at 36 @ +2. Just wondering when is the last time you tested?

Did you give some HC or Karo when you last tested?

36 is too low, so if you havent already, please give some high carb food or syrup.

Very worried with those numbers in the 30's....


Hope to hear from you soon to let us know if Corduroy is okay and if numbers are above 50 yet since below 50 is unsafe
 
Hi Jamie,
Brigitte's husband Brandon here, just wanted to let you know that I got him through the low with some high-carb food. He was up around 80 last I checked and will be checking again in a bit to make sure he's staying in a safe range. Thanks for your concern!
 
Looks like you're going to have to drop back to drops again Brigitte (or Brandon)

I know it's a little harder to manage, but you've done it before. It's wonderful to start seeing numbers like Corduroy used to be in before "whatever" changed and sent him so much higher!

Hopefully he'll continue working down again!!

Good job Brandon on catching that low!!
 
Yes, good job today, Brandon.

I think the low numbers today were from the 0.50 depot previously and from the 0.50 dose last night.

I would do what it appears you are doing and stick with the 0.25 twice a day and see how it goes.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top