11/1 Cleo AMPS 309 +9 240 PMPS 239 +3 214 +6 171 +9 165

Yes I started yesterday at dinner with 1/16th tsp. I gave her a 2nd 1/16th tsp with breakfast this morning. I read on catinfo.org that it can take 2-3 days before seeing results. I was thinking that if she doesn't have a BM this cycle I would give her 1/8th tsp tonight. Keeping FX she poops soon.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
That's a very small dose. Back when my civvie Wicket ate raw and was constipated from it, he needed 1/4 tsp once a day. Hope she goes this cycle, but if she doesn't don't be afraid of the 1/8 tsp, that's still pretty small.
Poor little Cleo and poor you anxiously waiting - doing the poop dance here for you :bighug:
 
That's a very small dose. Back when my civvie Wicket ate raw and was constipated from it, he needed 1/4 tsp once a day. Hope she goes this cycle, but if she doesn't don't be afraid of the 1/8 tsp, that's still pretty small.
Poor little Cleo and poor you anxiously waiting - doing the poop dance here for you :bighug:
It is a very tiny dose. I started that small because nothing else has changed. Its the same food I've been feeding. The only difference is that I've given Koha LID Pate a little more often. It was also the recommended starting dose on https://catinfo.org/making-cat-food/#Constipation.
Can I get a video of this poop dance? LOL:joyful::bighug::bighug:
 
It is weird that this would happen all of a sudden with no changes to her food... maybe a hairball that went down instead of up and is taking its time?
I was thinking the same thing this morning since her winter coat is coming in and she is very adamant about cleaning herself. She will not let me brush her!
Her behavior is the same though. She still naps on schedule, and is playing, purring and preening. This morning her pee was much better. Now we wait for the 5th P... the Poop! Thank you so much for the support :bighug:
 
I try to remind myself to be patient, but these BG numbers have me all worked up. I REALLY want to increase her back up to 2.25 tonight BUT we are only at cycle 5 since the lime. Should I take her up to 2.25 tonight or do I need patience for one more cycle?
 
I try to remind myself to be patient, but these BG numbers have me all worked up. I REALLY want to increase her back up to 2.25 tonight BUT we are only at cycle 5 since the lime. Should I take her up to 2.25 tonight or do I need patience for one more cycle?
Great question. I found myself pondering the same a few days ago with herm. I had found the following quote on the dosing method sticky but I guess it’s another ecid scenario and one should take care with cats prone to bouncing (as in you wouldn’t want to increase the same time as a bounce breaks I assume) or if an underlying health issue might be causing inflated bg (ie constipation? Might the bg drop rapidly once the situation “clears”?)…just thinking out loud. I do not know the answer.
  • If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose as soon as you see kitty's numbers trending upwards. You don't have to hold the reduced dose for a certain number of cycles before taking the dose right back up. The guidelines listed under the topic "Increasing the dose" do not apply to a failed reduction. Please use common sense in this situation. The "last good dose" is not the dose that just dropped kitty into the 20s or 30s. You want to resume momentum by finding an in-between the dose.
 
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:I must have reread this a thousand times before posting. The last dose did take her into the 30s...hence my ambivalence.
Plus there's that sticky (can't remember where) that sometimes a cat goes high before breaking the bounce. I feel very :blackeye: and unable to remove myself emotionally to see this analytically.
 
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:I must have reread this a thousand times before posting. The last dose did take her into the 30s...hence my ambivalence.
Plus there's that sticky (can't remember where) that sometimes a cat goes high before breaking the bounce. I feel very :blackeye: and unable to remove myself emotionally to see this analytically.
I am the worst at seeing patterns etc. I try so hard and it doesn’t come to me, I didn’t even know when herms nadir is. :confused: However…..wouldn’t tonight be the 7th cycle since lime?
 
I would probably put on the proverbial patience pants and give him another cycle.
Might also be easier to monitor for a possible dive if you increase in the morning?
I might just wait until the morning to increase.
She pooped!!!! She even covered it up and jumped out of the box like a kitten.
It stinks to high heaven but I'm not complaining.
 
Yessssss!

upload_2022-11-1_16-44-58.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-11-1_16-44-58.png
    upload_2022-11-1_16-44-58.png
    224.6 KB · Views: 141
Back
Top