11/1 Chewie AMPS 148/ +3 124/ +5 122/ PMPS 128/ +2 104

Virginie & Chewie (GA)

Member Since 2022
Yesterday

Day 2 in the blue, but I don't mind. She is much more active and seems to be feeling better in that zone.
Spent the entire evening on the couch with us last night instead of sleeping in her hidey hole, and came down of her own accord to explore the new cat tree by the window this morning. We set up her favorite old beaten up ikea chair from the old apartment in the living room and she is very happy with that too. I guess that session with the communicator reminded me to look at the situation from their angle too: long crazy drive, new house, new smells, new food... so I'm doing my best to bring back some familiar sights and smells :cat:

Gave her slippery elm last night as she had another toxic bomb BM after dinner, will keep it up for a few days as it seemed to help overnight (fingers and paws crossed).
 
124 at +3

I knew she was going to be in the blue even before poking her, as she came out of her sleeping spot by herself, bright eyed and awake.
She is always bleary/teary-eyed and lethargic in the greens, guess she needs more time to adjust (or maybe she was always a higher running kitty?).
Right now she's scratching the cat tree and it's the most herself she has been for days, so I'm super happy :cat:
 
Vet called, the NT-proBNP test that indicates damage of the heart muscle did come back abnormal :(
So the next step would be an echocardiogram. Since the turnaround time for the IGF-1 test for acromegaly is about a week, I elected to wait until we get that to decide how we will proceed.
It's an expensive test and after spending $600 already yesterday, I'm not sure I can afford it right now. Might have to wait a couple of months.
@Wendy&Neko would a positive IGF-1 test change the treatment plan for heart disease?
 
Oh, I was glad to read your first post but the last one is not as good. Well, I'm glad she is doing well and that the visit yesterday helped. She might need time to adjust to your new house, too. Birdfeeder, yes! I need to put mine up too. It's been so warm I don't realize it's November already!
 
Vet called, the NT-proBNP test that indicates damage of the heart muscle did come back abnormal :(
So the next step would be an echocardiogram. Since the turnaround time for the IGF-1 test for acromegaly is about a week, I elected to wait until we get that to decide how we will proceed.
It's an expensive test and after spending $600 already yesterday, I'm not sure I can afford it right now. Might have to wait a couple of months.
@Wendy&Neko would a positive IGF-1 test change the treatment plan for heart disease?
:bighug: Hang in there, one day at a time. You’re doing such an incredible job for Chewie.
 
Thank you so much for your support... one day at a time, indeed.
The vet clinic sent me an estimate of $500 for the echo, so that'll definitely have to wait. Between the costs of tests, insulin, and the obstacles vets and pharmacists put in your way when you have a diabetic cat, it's seriously not for the faint of heart. No wonder so many people end up on this forum absolutely desperate for help and guidance!
 
Well, the European in me got thwarted once again by the ever befuddling American pharmacy system... I went to three pharmacies this afternoon in search of generic insulin glargine, it took me almost two hours and NO ONE had it in stock! One pharmacist made me wait 30 min while she prepared it, when I showed up to pay she had a vial of brand name Lantus for $280 *facepalm*
How do they get away with not having such an essential product in stock? Not going to get on a soapbox as there's so much wrong with France, but at least when you walk into a pharmacy you know you will be walking out with your meds within 10 minutes tops.

Anyways... so Chewie got the end of the pen tonight, which came to 7 units instead of 8, and we're skipping the morning shot and pretending it's a furshot, because the earliest the last pharmacy could do was noon tomorrow (the other ones said after 5pm). At least we got a 10mL vial for $88, courtesy of GoodRx, not bad (they wouldn't give me pens since the vet wrote "vial" on the script).
 
Well, the European in me got thwarted once again by the ever befuddling American pharmacy system... I went to three pharmacies this afternoon in search of generic insulin glargine, it took me almost two hours and NO ONE had it in stock! One pharmacist made me wait 30 min while she prepared it, when I showed up to pay she had a vial of brand name Lantus for $280 *facepalm*
How do they get away with not having such an essential product in stock? Not going to get on a soapbox as there's so much wrong with France, but at least when you walk into a pharmacy you know you will be walking out with your meds within 10 minutes tops.

Anyways... so Chewie got the end of the pen tonight, which came to 7 units instead of 8, and we're skipping the morning shot and pretending it's a furshot, because the earliest the last pharmacy could do was noon tomorrow (the other ones said after 5pm). At least we got a 10mL vial for $88, courtesy of GoodRx, not bad (they wouldn't give me pens since the vet wrote "vial" on the script).
Oh goodness every time I hear the horror stories of trouble obtaining this insulin I am reminded how lucky I am to be in Canada. No prescription needed and I think I paid $75 Canadian for a Lantus vial at Costco last time I bought it. Free glucometers with tests strips, too.
sorry you are dealing with this…it shouldn’t be so hard to get!
 
Oh goodness every time I hear the horror stories of trouble obtaining this insulin I am reminded how lucky I am to be in Canada. No prescription needed and I think I paid $75 Canadian for a Lantus vial at Costco last time I bought it. Free glucometers with tests strips, too.
sorry you are dealing with this…it shouldn’t be so hard to get!
Haha that does sound like a dream! Every system has its failings, but the way it works here in the US will never cease to make me shake my head...
At least now I have a vet who will write me prescriptions, instead of rationing it because I'm not doing what she wants like the previous one!
 
I think (I am trying to understand it too, even after almost 19 years here!) your vet has to write that it can be substituted by a generic for the pharmacist to be allowed to deliver it. Same for pens. I asked my vet to write her prescription on a paper so that I can get it from Canada. Maybe I should get some next time I'm in France.
 
would a positive IGF-1 test change the treatment plan for heart disease?
Not really, heart disease is heart disease, regardless of what causes is. An echo is the right next step. It will say if anything needs to be done now, and/or provide a baseline for later. Some heart conditions can be well managed for years, but you have to know what you are dealing with first. Acros are more prone to heart disease.
 
Not really, heart disease is heart disease, regardless of what causes is. An echo is the right next step. It will say if anything needs to be done now, and/or provide a baseline for later. Some heart conditions can be well managed for years, but you have to know what you are dealing with first. Acros are more prone to heart disease.
Thank you, that's what I was trying to confirm. This vet is great but they don't accept CareCredit, so I'll have to save over the next month or two to make this happen.
 
Back
Top