11/1 Asia AMPS 568 PMPS 59, +.5 47, +2.5 84, +3.5 134

Status
Not open for further replies.

Stacy & Asia

Member Since 2017
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/10-31-asia-amps-146-1-172-3-75-82-5-88-10-128.186141/

Asia doesn't mess around when it comes to bouncing, her motto is go big or go home. :arghh:

I hope she settles soon and has more days like yesterday. One step forward, two steps back. :banghead:

Our street does a massive Halloween thing each year, people come from all over the city to trick or treat on our block. Had about 2000 pieces of candy and it didn't even last an hour (at one per child). Maybe Asia knew we had big Halloween plans and wanted us to be happy yesterday and not sad about her BGs. Well it worked, it was nice, let's do that again, Asia!
 
Our street does a massive Halloween thing each year, people come from all over the city to trick or treat on our block. Had about 2000 pieces of candy and it didn't even last an hour (at one per child).
Oh, my goodness - that's "THE" block to be! :eek:

Asia had a good cycle yesterday. As I have mentioned before, it doesn't take her long to come back down. Treat yourself today and Asia gets a pokey break (get at least 1 test in though).
 
Come on back down now Asia - isn't it nicer in the blues and greens?

Wow! Lots of kids for you guys!! We get pretty crazy here too - we went through four large bags of candy in about 2 hours or so. Our neighborhood goes all out on decorations - we need to step ours up next year! :joyful:
 
I don't know what happened, she was so high and I just thought it was going to be like that all day, her typical nadir time was 311, now she is PMPS 77, shoot the 2 units right? I know that's probably the right answer, but I'm scared :nailbiting:

It doesn't drop them as low when they are already low, from what I understand, but this is a first for her. Guess who is staying up all night tonight...:confused:
 
Can you monitor tonight? Do you have plenty of strips (greater than 20) and lots of high carb food? If you haven't fed yet, try waiting 15-20 minutes and retesting. You could shoot now too if you are up to it. The delay might just give you a heads up on what might be happening tonight.
 
Can you monitor tonight? Do you have plenty of strips (greater than 20) and lots of high carb food? If you haven't fed yet, try waiting 15-20 minutes and retesting. You could shoot now too if you are up to it. The delay might just give you a heads up on what might be happening tonight.
I can monitor tonight, but I'm still scared, I'm going to wait like 15 mins and see what her number is
 
Can you monitor tonight? Do you have plenty of strips (greater than 20) and lots of high carb food? If you haven't fed yet, try waiting 15-20 minutes and retesting. You could shoot now too if you are up to it. The delay might just give you a heads up on what might be happening tonight.
What is lots of high carb food? I have a pouch of bff that's 15 carb and several other cans ranging from 5-9 carbs, plenty of 24 hours stores 5 mins or less from here. Can get more. I have 49 test strips and more coming tomorrow. I did feed her already though.
 
I am not if you should give the full dose....
If you look at the sticky note on shooting low preshots, the options are to shoot the full dose, stall, shoot a reduced dose or skip. Most of your +1 data (good job getting that) shows she gets a bit of a food spike. But she is sliding down fast today.

High carb means over 15% or karo/syrup if needed.

Too bad you fed her, that eliminates the option on stalling. Did you retest the 77 to make sure it's accurate?
 
Wi
If you look at the sticky note on shooting low preshots, the options are to shoot the full dose, stall, shoot a reduced dose or skip. Most of your +1 data (good job getting that) shows she gets a bit of a food spike. But she is sliding down fast today.

High carb means over 15% or karo/syrup if needed.

Too bad you fed her, that eliminates the option on stalling. Did you retest the 77 to make sure it's accurate?
Will retest her right now, the food spike doesn't seem to happen right away, it takes a bit. What types of foods are over 15%? I will grab some. I have honey as well.
 
She ate some of her dinner, tested at 60 on the Arkray meter and 112 on the AlphaTRAK. I still haven't given her insulin yet, it doesn't seem like a good idea to do the full dose.
 
This snapped me out of my sleepiness. I wish I had checked in sooner because with that 311, I would have suggested you kept testing. Asia is good at clearing bounces, maybe a little too good. ;)

It's up to you. You can skip or do a BCS if you're not comfortable shooting the full dose.
 
It's your call. If you shoot, even a smaller dose, the depot could still impact how this cycle goes. On the up side, it could mean a reduction that it looks like she's angling for. On the down side, might need some coffee.
 
I feel like if I skip she's going to go high most of the night. What's a decent BCS? 1 unit (she's 2 units right now)?
 
16 minutes past her shot time, I want to keep it close to her regular time as possible. I know you guys can't tell me to shoot or how much, but what you do for a BCS dose? .5? 1?
 
If it was for my cat I'd go with 1 Unit. I always regret BCS because she does go high afterwards.
If you still have time wait for others to opinions.
I would feel better with a BCS dose than a no dose. If I skip I know she will rocket up high, if it's less but something, at least I can say I tried :confused:
 
If it helps any, a stall acts like a bit of a reduction. Looks like it's been 40 minutes already. I would go full dose, but that's me. Go with what your gut feels comfortable with. Think of it as a learning experience. And get a +1 and a +2 to start.
 
If it helps any, a stall acts like a bit of a reduction. Looks like it's been 40 minutes already. I would go full dose, but that's me. Go with what your gut feels comfortable with. Think of it as a learning experience. And get a +1 and a +2 to start.
Her shot time is 22:00, it's 22:33, so not terribly off. I went with 1.5 units, using the logic if she were pushing for a reduction, she earned it one cycle early? I don't know if that works, but that's how I figured it. Now test and stress time.
 
Found FF chicken feast in gravy, grilled. That's the only kind they had at the store closest to my home. Is this high carb enough you think? I can go to other stores, but if this works, I'd rather not
 
Grilled Chicken Feast in Gravy is 12% according to the latest list. Not sure if that's the one. I only ever fed the Gravy Lovers and just briefly so don't know the Fancy Feast line. You can always add karo, honey or syrup if you have it.
 
Could you update your subject line with the actual PMPS as you tested before you shot. And do keep it updated as you test in case you need help. I am also west coast and will look for updates.
 
And of course, you earn the coveted balls of steel award for that first green PMPS. :D

boshand.gif
 
Ah, I got distracted feeding my cats.

Just to clarify, since she didn't officially earn a reduction, you would shoot 2 units in the morning. Of course, Wendy could have a different opinion. Otherwise, with a reduction, it would be 1.75 units. We increase or decrease in 0.25 units.
 
Just read my printout, it's a moot point anyway, she mostly just licked the gravy off but had about 1-2 teaspoons
 
Ah, I got distracted feeding my cats.

Just to clarify, since she didn't officially earn a reduction, you would shoot 2 units in the morning. Of course, Wendy could have a different opinion. Otherwise, with a reduction, it would be 1.75 units. We increase or decrease in 0.25 units.
Yes, this particular syringe the 0 line was not really at 0, so it was probably a 1.75 anyway. Gotta figure out this caliper thing
 
just licked the gravy off but had about 1-2 teaspoons
It's good because gravy kicks in fast but won't overload her tummy.
You will need her to eat later on so she has to be somewhat hungry.
Test after 15 - 20 min will tell you how good she responds to MC gravy. Keep records.
 
Congrats on the reduction. I would wait 20 minutes before testing again. It usually takes 20-30 minutes for the carbs from the plate to hit the blood stream. Testing sooner might not tell you anything. If she is still lower than 50 at the next test, I would add a drop of karo/honey/syrup. It's too early in the cycle to be low.
 
It's good because gravy kicks in fast but not overload her tummy.
You will need her to eat later on so she has to be somewhat hungry.
Test after 15 - 20 min will tell you how good she responds to MC gravy. Keep records.
Thanks, I will and I am. I write everything in my notebook and I put a lot of that info in my SS as well, but it always goes in the notebook first and is accurate. I'm going to take up her food then, so I can make sure she will eat when I need her to eat.
 
She is purring and alert. She is pretty much always purring and when she stops purring, I know she's feeling really bad. How scary is it that her numbers are this low and she's acting all casual about it?! :facepalm:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top