11/1/11 MiloPMPS 68+1/63+2/57+3/58+4/63 Not budging

Status
Not open for further replies.

milo

Member Since 2011
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=55426
I know I should be comfortable making decisions by now but milo stayed low again during the day and his +11 is only 69, now I know by his data that he typically rises in the PM, but not sure if I should do a full dose, does anyone have an opinion about this??
Also, is his 1.25 a good dose for him or is it too high?
 
Re: 11/1/11 Milo +11/69 shooting help please!

Hi there :mrgreen:

I'm still at tbp and can't see ss, however will be home and have a look soon.
 
Re: 11/1/11 Milo +11/69 shooting help please!

whoa!!!

milo, you continue to amaze!!

sandy's got you covered :-D
 
Re: 11/1/11 Milo +11/69 shooting help please!

While we wait for the PMPS -

review of the 3 choices:

-Don't feed, stall and test every 15 mins until a substantial rise or number you are comfortable with. Schedule may not permit stalling.
-Shoot a reduced dose, which will drain shed a bit and cause numbers to be higher.
-skip

Since you have not yet ever shot a green PS with a full dose, I suggest stall to see if you get a substantial rise.
Ultimately you have to do what you are comfortable with.

Are you able to stay up and guide the cycle if needed?
 
Re: 11/1/11 Milo +11/69 shooting help please!

Sorry, just got home had to run out..he is only at+12/71 so I guess I will stall...I just cant believe he is staying so low for me.. Im not use to it! The thing about stalling is I dont think I will be comfortable shooting a full dose unless its over 100 so Im wondering now what to do?? ugh.. I see people's ss and see the shoot all the time in the green.. but I guess Im just not there yet !! its so frustrating, and I wont be able to major monitoring tonight either,,,,I
 
Re: 11/1/11 Milo +11/69 +12/71 shooting help please!

Stalling is fine, if your schedule permits.
Check in 15 mins and see where he is.

regarding you earlier question-
milo said:
Also, is his 1.25 a good dose for him or is it too high?
This dose has been looking fabulous IMHO.

How long has he been diabetic - less than 1 year or more?
 
Re: 11/1/11 Milo +11/69 +12/71 shooting help please!

I see people's ss and see the shoot all the time in the green..

But we didn't when we were here only as long as you have been. It's a gradual process...each time you shoot lower, gather more data. It's best to have a good amount of data, have a good idea of what your kitty will do, and be
able to monitor in order to shoot those green numbers.
 
Re: 11/1/11 Milo +11/69 +12/71 shooting help please!

He has been diabetic since July 2011.. So not long, less than a year. Milo is +12.50/67 I cant stall anymore and went ahead and shot a reduced dose of .50. I just cant do a whole dose yet Im too uncomfortable with it..(I know whimp)
 
Re: 11/1/11 Milo +11/69 +12/71 +12.50 68 shooting help pleas

YOU ARE TRULY NOT A WIMP...
i didn't shoot a green like that for a very long time!!
 
Re: 11/1/11 Milo +11/69 +12/71 +12.50 68 shooting help pleas

That's OK!
You have to be comfortable. One day you will be.

Get your +1 and +2 to see where he goes.

Since Milo is a short term diabetic (less than 1 year) going into the50s 40s would signal a decrease is warranted.

Numbers permitting you can take back your stall time in the AM (shoot early)

(edited to correct my excellent speedy typing skills :roll: )
 
Re: 11/1/11 Milo +11/69 +12/71 +12.50 68 shooting help pleas

You're not a wimp! The idea is to gradually work your way down to shooting low. Just take it a step at a time so you're comfortable with the process.
 
Re: 11/1/11 Milo +11/69 +12/71 +12.50 68 shooting help pleas

OK, thanks Ill post my +1 & +2.. So do u mean shoot at my regualr time?? And as far a a decrease, when should that be considered??
 
Re: 11/1/11 Milo +11/69 +12/71 +12.50 68 shooting help pleas

good job - i don't see a wimp either! it's smart to choose what you can handle. don't even worry about it.

you could edit the subject line of your first post, though, since you've got it covered.

decreases in dose happen when a less-than-1-year-diabetic kitty goes under 50.
 
Re: 11/1/11 Milo +11/69 +12/71 +12.50 68

milo said:
So do u mean shoot at my regualr time??

Numbers permitting.

Since you stalled and shot a BCS, the shed will drain some and Milo may very well be yellow by +11.

Unless he has other ideas :razz:
 
Re: 11/1/11 Milo +11/69 +12/71 +PMPS 68 +1/63 Dropping

OH, ok....his +1 is 63..isn't it weird he is not rising yet, and dropped slighlty??
 
Re: 11/1/11 Milo +11/69 +12/71 +PMPS 68 +1/63 Dropping

He's just surfing...he's not really dropping. Just keep testing at +2 and if you are really nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile you can also do a +1.5.

Great shooting...you did fine!!! You are not a wimp....you are concerned for the safety of your Milo!! Remember....even if you shoot a reduced dose, chances are good that the shed will carry
through this cycle and still give you some low numbers. Add to that equation the fact that when you have skipped or shot a reduced dose, Milo has taken it in stride!!
 
Re: 11/1/11 MiloPMPS 68+1/63+2/57 threw up dinner

Milo threw up his dinner then he ate very little ore (fancy feast) he seened very disinteredted in his food today, but I give him Boars Head Classic Chicken breast shaven from the deli as a treat, and he is acting like he is starving for it..is I know he is hungry, maybe just getting sick of the fancy feast. His numbers are not going anywhere, so is this considered him "surfing" as mentioned before? He seems fine except for acting hungry for alot of his treat, He does usually eat alot more than he has the last couple of days.
 
Re: 11/1/11 MiloPMPS 68+1/63+2/57 threw up dinner

Do you have any different food in the house? What about baby food? Did he eat too fast? Is he working on a hairball?

Does Milo have any significant medical history (e.g., pancreatitis)?

As far as appetite, as a diabetic cat becomes better regulated, their appetite decreases. This is normal. When initially diagnoses, nutrients in the form of glucose, don't get into the cells where the nutrition is needed. Instead, it floats around in the blood. As insulin is working, it brings the nutrients back into the cells and appetite decreases because the cat is no longer starving!

FYI - check the label on the Boar's Head. They add sugar/corn syrup to their products.
 
Re: 11/1/11 MiloPMPS 68+1/63+2/57 threw up dinner

He has no history of any illness except for his diabetes,he was a little chubby, but now his weight is better. I do not have any other food in the house, but I need to try others as well, I have been reading on the site about the food etc.. That makes sense about his appetite, so now Im not too worried about that. As far as the shaved chicken goes, its suppose to be "all natural" low sodium, etc.. but I did not read the label, I need to boil my own chicken for his treats. Its hard to find treats he likes because I was a bad mommy beofre the diagnosis, He was always getting treats, you know the nice dry crunchy ones, they become addicted to.. yes Milo was one of those "treat" cats. I was lucky enough for an easy transition to wet food, but I think I need more of a variety for him..
I just did his +3 it was 58..He is not really moving at all, will I need to watch him tonight? <<I think Milo likes green!!!!!!
 
Re: 11/1/11 MiloPMPS 68+1/63+2/57+3/58 threw up dinner

Uh yes.....with a 58 and not much food on board....you definitely need to monitor him.

You're doing really super with all this!
 
Re: 11/1/11 MiloPMPS 68+1/63+2/57+3/58 threw up dinner

LOL, I guess that was a dumb question.....
 
Re: 11/1/11 MiloPMPS 68+1/63+2/57+3/58 threw up dinner

there are no dumb questions :-D

i've forgotten your name :oops:

celi
 
Re: 11/1/11 MiloPMPS 68+1/63+2/57+3/58 threw up dinner

Surfs up again ! :mrgreen:

I wonder what's up with the barfing?

Once I dumped the dry, I fed BK Wellness, 2 flavors that I alternated. At one point when he was recovering from DKA he ate around 14 oz per day!
I would get the big tall cans. Thought he's eat us out of house and home. . .
Then one day , months later when he got some meat back on his bones and his weight stabilized , he was done with it. No more Wellness.
I tried other good quality canned foods that were available at the time - the only thing he wanted was FF. I even tried to reintroduce it a few times - no dice.
 
Milo is wanting my attention tonight with these low numnbers!! I have no idea why he barfed, I can only guess he ate too fast because he didnt want much food during the day, but he just finished off about 1/2 can of ff within the last hour, his +4 is 63, Lord knows this cat is sick of me poking his poor ears!! lol
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top