11-09 - Small Kitty amps 209 pmps 328 - Over limits

Status
Not open for further replies.

Photorecon

Member Since 2016
Morning all,


Don’t know how things are doing elsewhere, but here it’s at an all-time low. My health is far from being alright, Small Kitty’s behaving has taken a very bad turn as well as his BS… The latest are very pushing me to the limit, so bad that I was thinking about going ahead with the final shot this morning.

You might know that I was hospitalized at the Montreal Neurological Hospital last month to evaluate my epilepsy. In order to do that, medication was stopped to trigger seizures that were recorded through connectors that were glued onto my head going to a computer and a video camera filming 24/7. This lasted 2 weeks during which I did more than a dozen seizures and many more ‘’aura’’ (frightening sensation preceding seizures warning me it’s about to blow up). All these thunderstorms in the brain had already taken their toll on me, it took me a full week to recover. On release, there has been some change in medication that seemed stealth at first but just when I was about to get back to work a seizure blew up then another one at the office. It seemed that a new medication was triggering the seizures, it’s been stopped now. Doctors haven’t come back to me with a plan following the hospitalization; I’m waiting with seizure at the front door that I fear can happen at any one time.

As if this was not enough, a long lasting problem came back. Small Kitty and his brother have been left to go outside for some time on an on and off basis. Cause of the exercise or who knows what, BS was going down when Small Kitty spent the nights outside. Things have changed for the worst lately. One : Small Kitty was late in coming back home; Two : BS was rising instead of going down. So with the kitties left to be taken care of by a pet sitter + the reasons above, outside rides were cut off. All hell broke loose after that, Small Kitty started meowing none stop at night and started peeing here and there in the apartment. Protecting existing and new spots with pet diapers helped but it didn’t stopped. One morning I woke up with my laptop on the kitchen table soaked with urine, it never started again. With this and SL running high, my patience / moral was starting to go very low on the kitty file. Luckily Big Brother like always is no trouble maker, he’s always snuggling and handling right.

Correcting a pet after the fact is useless, it will never understand why he’s being corrected.. I don’t like doing that but this morning the occasion presented itself to pass the message. After waking me up with his strong meowing, Small Kitty started peeing on the bin just in front of me. This was too much, I blew up. I grabbed him and cleaned the floor using his head ! I then let him go for some reflection and then sprayed him in the face to wash him up. I was in rage and it was only the beginning. When I set myself for breakfast I found a lake of urine on top of the kitchen table, this could only come from Small Kitty.

It was too late for correction, it was already done but Small Kitty noticed my rage in my eyes and ran away.


Small Kitty’s behavior + SL problem that seems impossible to correct is starting to take its toll on me. This is something I really don’t need right now, it doesn’t make sens to have a pet ruining your moral like that. I went to sleep for a moment after the mess and was reflecting on how to put an end to the mess. The ‘’final shot’’ by the vet would be another expense I can’t afford and doing it myself would flag me as a monster. Sending him to a pet shelter would be a slow death sentence in a cage, it’s even worst.

I just don’t understand how things have turned so badly, could be my mind that has reached its limit. And I don’t see any solution but going blind on bad SL and patching all peeing spots with diapers. Question is ‘’What’s next’’? I prefer not to think about it, hope the correction he received this morning will dissuade him from pursuing this meowing and pee mess.

Sorry for dumping this load of bad news on the forum, I’m just overwhelmed these days with everything going on.


Hope things a going better on your side, I understand what you feel if they’re not.


Sébastien


Last post
.
 
I'm so sorry things are so stressful right now. It sounds like SK learned some bad behaviors while the petsitter was in charge. It may just take a little time for him to unlearn them. Have you tried putting the litter boxes in the spots where he is peeing? I hope things calm down with SK soon and the doctors can get a treatment plan for you. Sending prayers. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I feel your frustration. I'm sorry it is hard right now. I know my girl kitty Ginger peed on the couch a few times, and I'm pretty sure it was a behavioural because I took her to the vet and they didn't find anything wrong. As you said it is useless to correct a cat especially if you don't catch them in the act. She did do it in front of me once and all I could do is say "No" loudly and hope she understood. I had to thoroughly wash the couch cushions and try to think about why she was doing it. All I could come up with was maybe it was because she needed attention, as my other cat J.D. was diabetic and she needed more attention than she was getting. I tried to give her more attention and I haven't had that problem in years. I don't know if that helps. I just hope you can find a solution for Small Kitty, and wish you comfort, patience, and wisdom to figure out a solution that doesn't mean an end to Small Kitty. :bighug:
 
I feel your frustration. I'm sorry it is hard right now. I know my girl kitty Ginger peed on the couch a few times, and I'm pretty sure it was a behavioural because I took her to the vet and they didn't find anything wrong. As you said it is useless to correct a cat especially if you don't catch them in the act. She did do it in front of me once and all I could do is say "No" loudly and hope she understood. I had to thoroughly wash the couch cushions and try to think about why she was doing it. All I could come up with was maybe it was because she needed attention, as my other cat J.D. was diabetic and she needed more attention than she was getting. I tried to give her more attention and I haven't had that problem in years. I don't know if that helps. I just hope you can find a solution for Small Kitty, and wish you comfort, patience, and wisdom to figure out a solution that doesn't mean an end to Small Kitty. :bighug:

Thanks for sharing your experience Dyana, nice to know I'm not the only one in this bad game. I will need to investigate on what could be the
reason for this ''bad habit'', to say the least. I'm pretty sure it's because of the restriction I had to put in place in regards of access to the outside.
Small Kitty receive his load of attention, even last night, before he did it in front of me, I was petting him with his brother. They were both at my
feet, legs up and purring. They are both very well treated, as soon as I'm home they are in my harms. Small Kitty is quick to go away, Big Brother
will stick with me for hours.

Solution might be to let him go out hoping he wont eat crap in the open. My father told me to let him go out and come what may. That's easy to
recommend when you're not the one who will need to perform the full repair if SL goes out of control...

This or the shelter, start to think it would be the best...
.
 
Last edited:
I'm so sorry things are so stressful right now. It sounds like SK learned some bad behaviors while the petsitter was in charge. It may just take a little time for him to unlearn them. Have you tried putting the litter boxes in the spots where he is peeing? I hope things calm down with SK soon and the doctors can get a treatment plan for you. Sending prayers. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

The most common place is the kitchen table (disgusting :()... Right on arrival home I'll put together things
I've read.
1 : Spay pee spots with vinegar and let sleep then clean with commercial cleaning product (to erase traces).
2 : Make inappropriate pee spots unattractive. How ? will need to think about it.
3 : Confinement : put him in the bathroom with a new litter box and water, let him think.

Hopefully something will work, managing my medical future with the neurologists and neuro surgeon and others is already a LOT !

Thanks for your support !
.
 
Last edited:
For what it's worth, it sounds like Small Kitty is protesting not having access to the outdoors. If it was something he could do before and no longer can, it looks like he's letting you know he doesn't approve with his inappropriate elimination behavior.
 
Sébastien, I'm so sorry you have to face so many challenges at once. I hope the doctors can find an effective therapy soon.

I think SK's problems got started because of the horrible pet sitter when you were in the hospital. SK got used to peeing wherever he wanted, possibly feeling abandoned by you, then add on not being allowed outside, so he's acting out now. I would try an intensive cleaning, adding additional litter boxes, and confinement when you aren't there or after an inappropriate elimination. If you catch him in the act, a firm "No" will let him know you don't approve. To make a location unattractive, you could use ribbed plastic runner like this https://smile.amazon.com/Clear-Plas...ctor/dp/B01N9QCUEA/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20 turned upside down so the points are up.

I hope you will consider all options for SK. I wish you health and peace. :bighug:
 
Sebastian :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

I can see how overwhelmed you are my friend. Just dealing with the seizures has to be a totally overwhelming experience, especially since you are on pins and needles waiting for the nest one to happen. So much to be handling just on its own.

I certainly can't say what is happening with SK, but I will offer a couple of thoughts from my own perspective.

1. When you were in the hospital your "pet-sitter" ( I cringe to use that word) certainly did not do her job. Your kitties would have be upset just that you were not there and then having someone who did next to nothing for them would have made that worse. As you said, when you came home there were many spots that were loaded with urine, since the litter box was a cememnt mass. Some of that experience could have given SK some aversions to using the litterbox.

2. I can see that SK has had some pretty huge splits in highs and lows. I find with Maxie when she does her big drops and rises she is definitely not happy and tends to be quite vocal about everything. For instance 10/23/2017 SK had AMBG of 2.6 with a no shot then PMPS of 33.1. Similar on a few other days. Those huge swings from highs to lows make a person feel poorly so I am sure a kitty would a well. SK was peeing in all the wrong spots a wsys back but once his numbers stopped ping ponging so much that improved.

3. SK is missing outside. Unless you can set up your patio area so that SK can still be "outside" but not run any further, then you risk him getting into contraband food or even getting trapped in someone's garage or shed...I don't know what your neighbourhood is like so just saying. Winter is fast approaching and I know that here in Winnipeg the temperatures have been nasty cold some days. I would hate to think of SK trapped somewhere when the cold really hits.

Sorry I can't give any solid answers, but please know that I am thinking of you and sending lots of positive energy and healing energy to give you some extra strength with your difficult road you are on now.

giphy.gif
 
The most common place is the kitchen table (disgusting :()... Right on arrival home I'll put together things
I've read.
1 : Spay pee spots with vinegar and let sleep then clean with commercial cleaning product (to erase traces).
2 : Make inappropriate pee spots unattractive. How ? will need to think about it.
3 : Confinement : put him in the bathroom with a new litter box and water, let him think.

Hopefully something will work, managing my medical future with the neurologists and neuro surgeon and others is already a LOT !

Thanks for your support !
.

Well, you have only one good choice. Your father is right. Let SK go outside. I had a cat just like SK. If I did not let him go outside, he peed right in front of me. So, I gave up and let him go out. The peeing stopped.

To destroy the odor, use white vinegar. It completely eliminates the smell.
If you decide to send him to a shelter, they will kill him, of course. That will not help your brain at all, because the guilt will be very bad. Maybe you can find a rescue shelter, where they will keep SK, and never kill him.

As to the seizures and money troubles - that is awful for you. But Sk did not do this to you.
I hope your health and money are soon repaired. And I hope that Sk and you can solve the peeing.
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I'd like to says THANKS to all of you, having different point of views / experiences worth a thousand hours of reading.
All of the information I found about cat releasing at the wrong spot point to what you said : release frustration and
make old, inappropriate, spot very unattractive. Thanks Mary Ann for the carpet with nail surface under, smart !

Smell will be gone right on arrival, white vinegar will kill the odor and I'll put solid air purifying all around the crime
scenes. I also think I'll let them go out, it's great when they come back home with mouse birds or squirrel :).
With cold will come one advantage, people thinking they are doing great by feeding my little kitties will be looking
elsewhere, in their living room or bedroom, hopefully. In all these years nothing fatal ever happened, they are afraid
of anything that they do know, not who want can approach them

For health all is not bad. I had a strike at the office on Monday. They called my father, escorted me to the front door
and told me to stay home the next day (paid). When I came back I had an aura that made me freak out, they brought
me to the infirmary so I could relax then I came back. Never an employer has been so nice and understandable, not
like the neurologist that destroyed my months long stability into a boiling volcano, will call them tomorrow and have a
plan drawn up or a time frame to have it put together.

On top of all that is my their Amanda (@Osha ), she's as supportive as a girlfriend can be and does not dump
her own suffering when she assist seizure. It must be as destructive to her than it is to me.

Thanks for being there Amanda.
.
 
Last edited:
Make inappropriate pee spots unattractive. How ? will need to think about it.
Double stick tape and aluminum foil :cool:

Sorry you are having such a time (both at work and with SK). I am happy to hear work is treating you well though. That is very important and hopefully allow you to relax a little and get your episodes under control.:bighug:
 
I will always be here with you!

You, SK and Big Brother always have a place here. (stupid visa, money and time)

You, my daughter and mom are the best family I could have ever imagined. :kiss:
 
:bighug:Sebastien, I am sooooo sorry for all that you are dealing with! And you are correct in that if you don't catch them in the act when they do a no-no it is futile to try and scold them as them don't know what the heck you are scolding them for.

So, here is something I am going to tell you that has helped me. Please don't judge me.......animals are very intuitive. Wait until SK and BB are resting. Stand over them and tell them without words ( share you thoughts with them) Tell them you are not going to tolerate peeing inappropriately and that the litter box is where they need to go. And if they can not do that for you that there will be consequences. My animal communicator told me to do this and it works! It has to be while they are resting or they can receive it. And you might have to repeat it in a few month.

I agree with Maryanne about the litter box debacle. It has to be cleaned daily as a lot of kitties will not use a "filled " box.

I hope you are feeling better and it's good to hear from you. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Sebastien, sorry everything so difficult at the moment.

You've had some great tips on how to try and deal with SK peeing issues.

I know that when my health is lousy, even the tiniest mole hills seem like mountains to climb. I'm sure as you recover from your recent exacerbation of your health issues you will feel better able to cope with SKs bad behaviour.

In the meantime here are some of these:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
:bighug:Sebastien, I am sooooo sorry for all that you are dealing with! And you are correct in that if you don't catch them in the act when they do a no-no it is futile to try and scold them as them don't know what the heck you are scolding them for.

So, here is something I am going to tell you that has helped me. Please don't judge me.......animals are very intuitive. Wait until SK and BB are resting. Stand over them and tell them without words ( share you thoughts with them) Tell them you are not going to tolerate peeing inappropriately and that the litter box is where they need to go. And if they can not do that for you that there will be consequences. My animal communicator told me to do this and it works! It has to be while they are resting or they can receive it. And you might have to repeat it in a few month.

I agree with Maryanne about the litter box debacle. It has to be cleaned daily as a lot of kitties will not use a "filled " box.

I hope you are feeling better and it's good to hear from you. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thanks for passing by Bobbie, always nice to see you.

Yes indeed talking to your cat helps. Each time Small Kitty or Big Brother do something bad and I can
tell them what I think it's loud. When breaking up my nights and I need to come out of bed they know
something is wrong. They then stop but just for little time but will resume in some time.

I let them go out tonight, should stop any complain. They got out in a blink of an eye and ran in the open night, pretty sure they will have fun.

Will see how it comes out with SL tomorrow.


.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top