GA 11/08 Cooper AMPS 66 +2.5 54 +4.5 68 +8.75 97 PMPS 122 +3 68 +4 74

Gabrielle17

Member Since 2023
Hello!

Poor Coops. I feel so guilty for not being able to get him to the vet last week because he just seems so down this week. He didn't eat much dinner last night, but has eaten a little bit of breakfast this morning. I gave him only 1U this morning because of the lack of appetite, but also because last time I went to the vet for a separate issue, all the vet focused on was Cooper's "low BG". They tested him without my knowledge (and charged me $60 for it!), which I'm sure is protocol when a cat has diabetes. I just don't want that to be the focus this time with another vet (my old vet) when I clearly know his BGs are excellent and the issue is with the possible mass or something to do with his abdomen.

He is still cleaning himself and wanting to come out and about, luckily. I can just see in his face that he doesn't feel his best and his stomach is just so distended. Ugh. Anyway, hopefully we will get some answers today, and if they can't do the ultrasound today I will try for tomorrow or ASAP. I need my old Cooper back that was a food fiend, slept on my pillow every night, and loved to play with plastic. :(

Yesterday's thread
 
Hi Gabrielle. Sounds like you had the right wisdom there to give him some MC so Cooper eats. It's important that he eats even with a little compromise.

I wonder if you can push for this ultrasound to be done. I remember Fistuk drank excessively as well before I discovered he has kidney problems. Worth detecting this early. I'm good at threatening vets, do you need me to come ? :woot:

Good morning! Yes, I've been kind of giving him whatever he will eat this week, but thankfully he hasn't gone too high. I thought about the kidney issues, but he just had a full panel of bloodwork done a couple weeks ago and it was all perfect. It very well could be due to whatever is happening with his abdomen, maybe his kidneys are being affected by it now. :(

And yes, I am so bad at being assertive! I should put you in my pocket and let you be my attack dog LOL!
 
Morning Gabrielle , good luck with the vet visit today. I can't believe they didn't tell you they tested his last time without telling you and charged you 60 bucks.
When ever I needed to take Tyler for something my vet would ask me if I wanted her to test him and how much it cost, of course I said no his sugar is fine.
She never pushed me about. Bring your own meter with you if they want to know what his BG is. Tell them that you're not there for that.
I hope you can get some answers today ,if they can't do the ultrasound today, insist you want it done Friday the latest.
I feel so bad for your handsome boy, :bighug::bighug::bighug:
I'll come along with Shelly with you lol, Don't mess with a Jersey Italian Girl :p
I'm saying prayers that it will be nothing serious at all.
Try and stay calm and hang in there , keep us updated when you can :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::cat:
 
Morning Gabrielle , good luck with the vet visit today. I can't believe they didn't tell you they tested his last time without telling you and charged you 60 bucks.
When ever I needed to take Tyler for something my vet would ask me if I wanted her to test him and how much it cost, of course I said no his sugar is fine.
She never pushed me about. Bring your own meter with you if they want to know what his BG is. Tell them that you're not there for that.
I hope you can get some answers today ,if they can't do the ultrasound today, insist you want it done Friday the latest.
I feel so bad for your handsome boy, :bighug::bighug::bighug:
I'll come along with Shelly with you lol, Don't mess with a Jersey Italian Girl :p
I'm saying prayers that it will be nothing serious at all.
Try and stay calm and hang in there , keep us updated when you can :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::cat:

Haha my family is Italian on my mom's side, but I think I missed out on the feisty attitude (though my husband would beg to differ :p).

I am really, really nervous, but just trying to remain positive! Thank you for your well wishes and care for my little guy. I will take my meter with me, good idea!
 
Why not attempt another reduction (even though he hasn't earned it) rather than give token doses? He might just hold it :)

Sorry he's feeling poorly this week. :bighug:

That may be for the best since he is so hit or miss again. He was doing well for awhile there lol. Should I just go down to 2.75U?
 
Morning Gabrielle, Sending you love and light today for the vet visit (and everyday of course). I pray little Cooper feels better and eats better. I will keep him in my thoughts and heart.
Great advice this am for some tweaks to the routine.
Please keep us posted on how it goes today :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
That may be for the best since he is so hit or miss again. He was doing well for awhile there lol. Should I just go down to 2.75U?
Good luck at the vet today. Let us know what happens.
The token dose of 1 ended the cycle in mid blue and the 3 units is keeping him in the low 50s. I might split the difference and give 2 units until he's eating better on his own. You can always go back up. @Bandit's Mom what were you thinking?
 
It did not go well at the vet. Cooper's prognosis currently is very poor, which I think I knew going into it that it would be based on the look of his belly...but I still was not prepared at the same time.

Ultrasound is tomorrow, but at this point it is more for my own peace of mind than anything to help him. The vet palpated and felt that Cooper's belly was full of fluid, the mass was quite large, and his liver felt like it was full of nodules. He did a chest x-ray and also found nodules in Cooper's lungs. I will drop him off for the ultrasound tomorrow morning and pick him up later. My poor, sweet boy. All this time I thought he will get better, he is getting better....

I'm not making a final decision just yet, but it is looking like I may have to make the hard decision we all dread sooner rather than later.

I will end this with a question: he can't eat after midnight or have breakfast, so should I just give 1U tomorrow morning? He has not eaten any dinner whatsoever tonight (he did eat all of his breakfast), so I may honestly let him eat as much HC as he wants if he will eat it so that he gets some food into him.
 
(((Gabrielle)))
I am so sorry, it is just such a difficult situation.
My heart goes out to you.
I agree - let him have anything he wants.
I'll tag @Bandit's Mom about tomorrow's dose.
Hope you get to spend some quality time with him.
Know that we are here for you. Thinking of you.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
(((Gabrielle)))
I am so sorry, it is just such a difficult situation.
My heart goes out to you.
I agree - let him have anything he wants.
I'll tag @Bandit's Mom about tomorrow's dose.
Hope you get to spend some quality time with him.
Know that we are here for you. Thinking of you.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:

Thank you for your constant support! You're words really mean a lot. :bighug:
 
Oh Gabrielle, I’m so very sorry it did not go well today. Poor sweet Cooper.
Please spend every moment you can loving him. I know you are and will. You are doing everything possible for him. You’re a wonderful Mom to him.
Sending you so much love and strength. Wish I could give you a big hug in person and not just virtually.
Please give him kisses from me and take care of yourself at this difficult time. :(
We are here for you, Gabrielle.
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I am so sorry to hear this. Even when one expects the worst, it is extremely hard to deal with. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
As for tomorrow's AM shot, you could just skip the shot so you needn't worry about him dropping too low when he has to be fasted.

Thank you for your support! And okay, I agree, it's for the best for me to skip this time since he really likes to drop into green. Thanks again.
 
Gabrielle :bighug::bighug::bighug:
I am so very sorry to read this update. I wish the news could have been better. It is so hard to deal with awful news like this. No wonder the dear boy has had trouble eating. Poor darling. Please give him a big hug from me.
At least he doesn’t know what is happening.
See what the ultrasound says tomorrow. And see if there are any options. You don’t have to rush into making any decisions straight away.
We are all thinking of you :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Gabrielle :bighug::bighug::bighug:
I am so very sorry to read this update. I wish the news could have been better. It is so hard to deal with awful news like this. No wonder the dear boy has had trouble eating. Poor darling. Please give him a big hug from me.
At least he doesn’t know what is happening.
See what the ultrasound says tomorrow. And see if there are any options. You don’t have to rush into making any decisions straight away.
We are all thinking of you :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

He is such a sweet love. This morning he is quite confused why I am not fussing over him as usual with medicine and trying to get him to eat. He is snoozing in his bed next to me before his appointment. I haven't made my decision just yet, just waiting to see what the ultrasound shows. My best friend works at this vet, so I know she will watch over him after I drop him off today. I appreciate you so much, and your constant kindness and support with him. I'll pass along your hug and well wishes. <3
 
It did not go well at the vet. Cooper's prognosis currently is very poor, which I think I knew going into it that it would be based on the look of his belly...but I still was not prepared at the same time.

Ultrasound is tomorrow, but at this point it is more for my own peace of mind than anything to help him. The vet palpated and felt that Cooper's belly was full of fluid, the mass was quite large, and his liver felt like it was full of nodules. He did a chest x-ray and also found nodules in Cooper's lungs. I will drop him off for the ultrasound tomorrow morning and pick him up later. My poor, sweet boy. All this time I thought he will get better, he is getting better....

I'm not making a final decision just yet, but it is looking like I may have to make the hard decision we all dread sooner rather than later.

I will end this with a question: he can't eat after midnight or have breakfast, so should I just give 1U tomorrow morning? He has not eaten any dinner whatsoever tonight (he did eat all of his breakfast), so I may honestly let him eat as much HC as he wants if he will eat it so that he gets some food into him.
Gabrielle, it breaks my heart to read this and I can only imagine how hard t is for you to learn this and digest.
I still hold a prayer that the nodules are something that can be dealt with or dissolved somehow. Miracles have happened I am asking for one for you now!
I hold you both in my heart. Take it one step at a time.
Lots and lots of love to you and lots and lots of cuddles to prince Cooper :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I want to thank all of you so much for every encouraging word and heaps of helpful advice. Thank you for everyone offering support with the news yesterday, it really does mean a lot as I know all of you understand the love I have for Cooper.

The vet called with the news that everywhere he looked on the ultrasound, he was finding masses. Kidneys, liver, everywhere. I feel so guilty that Cooper has been sick for so long and I didn't realize it fast enough. His belly was full of fluid at the beginning of October (unbeknownst to me), and I pushed the vet to look further since he did not seem to think he looked strange, but I wish so badly I had been advocated better and had the ultrasound done right after that appointment instead of waiting as the vet suggested. I do wonder if perhaps his diabetes may have masked his nausea at the beginning when his numbers were so high that he was starving. Who knows how long this has been growing....

Anyway, I am rambling now. I've made the decision to let Cooper cross the rainbow bridge tonight so he won't have to suffer any longer. I wanted to bring him home for another night, but I don't think I would ever let him go if I did. I just hope my little prince will know how loved he is when I say goodbye.

Again, you all have been the absolute best through everything and I know for certain that if not for the cancer, Cooper would have been thriving right now when everyone I know told me he would never be the same with diabetes. I wish I had more than words to give every one of you!
 
Oh Gabrielle, I can’t tell you enough how sorry I am to hear this. My heart breaks for you. I know how much you love your sweet Prince, beautiful Cooper. I will always remember him and his sweet spirit. Your dedication is inspiring.
Your family is in my heart and I send you strength and love :bighug::bighug::bighug::( :( :(
 
(((Gabrielle)))
I am so sorry.
It must be so hard. Must be heart breaking.
Please remember though that Cooper had a great life with you. He was so loved and cared for.
You did everything you could to help him.
And your decision to let him go is the most difficult decision that any kitty parents have to make, but yet, it's the symbol of love.
It's the most kind gift, however heartbreaking it is to us.
Still, I know. No words can ease the hurt right now. I am sorry.
I'll be thinking of you.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Last edited:
I’m so sorry. He definitely knows how much he is loved. You are the best caregiver and doing the most unselfish thing at the right time. This last gift is a testament to your love. Take care of yourself. It won’t be easy. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Oh Gabrielle … I am heartbroken for you. Of course your sweet prince knew how much you loved him — I’ll bet there wasn’t a single moment of his life when he doubted it. It’s only human to wonder whether things could have gone differently to change the outcome, but the fact is that our best medicine is still no match for nature — she always holds the last card.

You were a great cat mom, and Cooper will be waiting for you in eternity.
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Dearest Gabrielle. This is so painful. My heart breaks with you, I know words are limited but I want you to know that I deeply believe in the love you gave Cooper, in the care you offered him and in the best intentions you had for him.
It's so natural to feel guilt when things have progressed without us knowing. It is the course of thing most often, that we discover this too late. I know you'll grieve and when you'll cross that bridge you'll remember how your love enveloped him with the most profound and powerful medicine a human can give.
Take your time. Go slow. You are in my heart.
You are a wonderful wonderful cat mum.
Sending warm and strong hugs :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Oh Gabrielle, I am actually tearing up right now reading this.
You have nothing to feel guilty about at all.
You were the best mom Cooper could have asked for
Such a sweet sweet boy. I had to make the same decision for Tyler's brother Perry 4 years ago. They will always be in our hearts , but it's still not easy.
I will be thinking of you and Cooper tonight sending you strength.
We all love you Cooper ♥♥
Sending you lots of gentle hugs Gabrielle, please try and take care of yourself ,
Fly high sweet Cooper ,you will be missed but never ever forgotten :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::rb_icon:cat_wings>o
 
Dear Gabrielle, I am so sorry for your loss of Cooper. It is so very clear that you did everything and more and that Cooper was held in that love all the way to the bridge. My sincerest condolences. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Gabrielle, so sorry you have to let him go.

I'm certain Cooper knows how much he is loved.

Fly free sweet Cooper and land softly at the bridge.
upload_2023-11-11_10-39-37.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-11-11_10-39-37.png
    upload_2023-11-11_10-39-37.png
    265.8 KB · Views: 252
Gabrielle I am just seeing this today. I am so sorry for your loss! Cooper was so loved and you did everything you could for him. Don't ever doubt that you didn't advocate enough or do enough. It never seems to matter how much time we have it's always such a hard choice even though it's the best choice and the most loving choice.

Fly high sweet Cooper and land softly you will be missedcat_wings>o:rb_icon:
 
I have not been following Cooper's journey, but reading this thread I just wanted to say how sorry I am for your loss, and what a beautiful and elegant cat he was. I am sure you did everything you could for him and he knew it.
 
Back
Top