11/08 Biggie PMPS 106 +3.5 134 +8.75 130

No hissing today? Hope Biggie has a nice, safe surf in the greens today :cat:
Thanks, @Virginie. No, thankfully. But he left me a nice big turd in the entrance to the kitchen! Now that he’s feeling better he doesn’t go on the carpet in the bedroom as often, though. So you take all the wins you can get. LOL He still goes in the LB too, sometimes, so I am also grateful for that.
 
Thanks, @Virginie. No, thankfully. But he left me a nice big turd in the entrance to the kitchen! Now that he’s feeling better he doesn’t go on the carpet in the bedroom as often, though. So you take all the wins you can get. LOL He still goes in the LB too, sometimes, so I am also grateful for that.
Gaaaaah Biggie :eek: Isn't it funny when you get to the stage where you're just grateful they picked a hard surface to poop on?!

My IBD civvie also tends to skip the box when she's not feeling well... she had a BAD reaction to a change in formula in the only food she deigned to eat for the past two years and we had an entire week of liquid poops all over the house, so my heart goes out to you :bighug:
 
Gaaaaah Biggie :eek: Isn't it funny when you get to the stage where you're just grateful they picked a hard surface to poop on?!
EXACTLY what my thoughts were!
My IBD civvie also tends to skip the box when she's not feeling well... she had a BAD reaction to a change in formula in the only food she deigned to eat for the past two years and we had an entire week of liquid poops all over the house, so my heart goes out to you :bighug:
Was it the Royal Canin PR? He used to eat that but got worse when they changed the hard food (back when he ate hard food) and I noticed a lot of folks on the Chewy reviews complaining about the canned formula too. I hope she is doing better. :bighug:
 
Was it the Royal Canin PR? He used to eat that but got worse when they changed the hard food (back when he ate hard food) and I noticed a lot of folks on the Chewy reviews complaining about the canned formula too. I hope she is doing better. :bighug:
No, it was Fancy Feast Grilled Beef in Gravy - I'm not a fan of FF at all, but it's the only food she could be enticed to eat a couple of years ago after suddenly going off her raw food, and she did well on it, so I didn't want to rock the boat and kept feeding it to her. Then the formula changed from slices in gravy to some weird shredded formula and she liked it less and less, and then a couple of weeks ago after starting a new case from the store, LIQUID POOPS. In the bedroom, in the kitchen, on every possible floor in the house... only once on the carpet thank goodness. Had to get her koalin/pectin/probiotic paste and find another food she would accept (it's still touch and go...). Tried to feed it to her once more for certainty's sake, and sure enough, the diarrhea returned. Sigh.
 
No, it was Fancy Feast Grilled Beef in Gravy - I'm not a fan of FF at all, but it's the only food she could be enticed to eat a couple of years ago after suddenly going off her raw food, and she did well on it, so I didn't want to rock the boat and kept feeding it to her. Then the formula changed from slices in gravy to some weird shredded formula and she liked it less and less, and then a couple of weeks ago after starting a new case from the store, LIQUID POOPS. In the bedroom, in the kitchen, on every possible floor in the house... only once on the carpet thank goodness. Had to get her koalin/pectin/probiotic paste and find another food she would accept (it's still touch and go...). Tried to feed it to her once more for certainty's sake, and sure enough, the diarrhea returned. Sigh.
Poor baby! Jeez makes you wonder what the heck they changed the formula to. That propectalin stuff is a life-saver. Is that what you used?
 
Poor baby! Jeez makes you wonder what the heck they changed the formula to. That propectalin stuff is a life-saver. Is that what you used?
Right?? And I emailed Purina and they swore nothing had changed and just mailed me coupons... smh
I didn't use the propectalin brand, but the equivalent from ProViable - it was a kit with a paste syringe and some probiotic caps. Really saved the day, after two doses of the syringe she was back to solid.
 
Biggie's SS looks great, if a little higher since starting new Basaglar pen. I noticed that you also reduced the dose from 1.25 to .5 when you switched over -- do you always have to do that with a fresh supply? How do you determine the amount of reduction? Asking because I am going to need to order a new supply for Chispa soon.
 
Biggie's SS looks great, if a little higher since starting new Basaglar pen. I noticed that you also reduced the dose from 1.25 to .5 when you switched over -- do you always have to do that with a fresh supply? How do you determine the amount of reduction? Asking because I am going to need to order a new supply for Chispa soon.
Thank you! I actually also reduced his dose several times prior to the new pen, because he was dipping hard during onset and well past onset, and it was a struggle to keep his numbers up. I was feeding HC every half an hour for hours on end and it was barely above 50 and hardly affected. So I first reduced by the usual .25 and then twice by .5 and eventually just went down to .5 and going back up felt safer than going down when your dose is still too high.

I did feel better about changing to a new pen when he was already on a lower dose though. But that was just because the vial had just expired and even though I didn’t doubt it’s efficacy I worried it might have been a little weaker.

My trials were definitely unconventional but prove you just have to go with your gut (with the help of experienced guts like @Bandit's Mom!!) sometimes. If I had kept him on the higher doses when every preshot was already low it was just getting arduous and scary….
 
Thank you! I actually also reduced his dose several times prior to the new pen, because he was dipping hard during onset and well past onset, and it was a struggle to keep his numbers up. I was feeding HC every half an hour for hours on end and it was barely above 50 and hardly affected. So I first reduced by the usual .25 and then twice by .5 and eventually just went down to .5 and going back up felt safer than going down when your dose is still too high.

I did feel better about changing to a new pen when he was already on a lower dose though. But that was just because the vial had just expired and even though I didn’t doubt it’s efficacy I worried it might have been a little weaker.

My trials were definitely unconventional but prove you just have to go with your gut (with the help of experienced guts like @Bandit's Mom!!) sometimes. If I had kept him on the higher doses when every preshot was already low it was just getting arduous and scary….
That totally makes sense; thank you for explaining. And yes, hats off and all gratitude to those with experienced guts who keep the rest of us in line!!:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Thank you!:p
And I hope Tyler makes lots of healthy pees today!! In the LB! :bighug::kiss:
So far so good, I still want to talk to my vet who is still away about what happened with Tyler , he won't be back until the 15 th , I don't what to speak to the other owner because I can't stand him. I've know the other owner who's away for many years .
So when I called today to see when he would be back I told the receptionist to leave him a message to call me at the end of his day because it's not going to be a short discussion lol. Or if I can come in and talk to him face to face even better, tell him he can charge me for an office visit :p
 
Last edited:
So far so good, I still want to talk to my vet who is still away about what happened with Tyler , he won't be back until the 15 th , I don't what to speak to the other owner because I can't stand him. I've know the other owner who's away for many years .
So when I called today to see when he would be back I told the receptionist to leave him a message to call me at the end of his day because it's not going to be a short discussion lol. Or if I can come in and talk to gum face to face even better, tell him he can charge me for an office visit :p
Good to hear! I’m glad you’ll talk to the owner, I agree it’s the right thing to do. Vets should learn from their mistakes and hopefully the owner will help that vet so she will not drop the ball again in such a situation.
 
After waiting five cycles for him to start to regulate more on this dose, I think I may have shot a fur shot. :( he was half-standing while eating and I think it may have shot out. I could smell insulin and at such a small dose you can’t really see it. But it felt al title tacky and smelled.
 
Back
Top