11.08.22 Chispa, 120 AMPS, 134 +3, 138 +5, 143 PMPS, 72 +2, 62 +3, 53 +4 despite snacks!

Some cats go high before breaking a bounce - looks like she did that today and the PMPS was the high before the bounce cleared. That's also why you are seeing the extra momentum tonight.
Hopefully she will surf from here on. I would stay up for a +4. That's what you get for threatening her with a dose increase! ;)
Thanks so much, Bhooma. The wacky days over the last couple of weeks have had me wondering if she was becoming un-regulated -- I couldn't understand why she had abandoned her predictable pattern. I'm sure the time change hasn't helped, nor did the stall last night.
I know ECID, and I know almost everyone gets discouraged at times. I just want her to earn reductions so we can go to the Falls, but it seems like her progress has stalled, and at a high-ish dose, too. I had hoped that lowering the carbs in her diet to <5 would help, but it didn't work out so well for her digestion.
Anyway, thank you for the reassurance. I will now quit complaining and put on my patience pants. :):cat:
 
Thanks so much, Bhooma. The wacky days over the last couple of weeks have had me wondering if she was becoming un-regulated -- I couldn't understand why she had abandoned her predictable pattern. I'm sure the time change hasn't helped, nor did the stall last night.
I know ECID, and I know almost everyone gets discouraged at times. I just want her to earn reductions so we can go to the Falls, but it seems like her progress has stalled, and at a high-ish dose, too. I had hoped that lowering the carbs in her diet to <5 would help, but it didn't work out so well for her digestion.
Anyway, thank you for the reassurance. I will now quit complaining and put on my patience pants. :):cat:
Hang in there! I know FD is really frustrating - more so because it is not predictable. I suspect some of her loss of momentum might have to do with vacation dose last month. She will get back to it. It's just that she will do it on her schedule and not yours. Oh well!

Why do you think the change in food affected her digestion? Is she still getting the 4% and 16% separately or mixed together?

p.s. Bandit is so cute. I just love her little face.
She is, isn't she? She is a classic example of with great cuteness comes no responsibility. :rolleyes:
 
Ahhhh, darn it ... She was meowing while I was typing, so I gave her a tsp of MC. I'll test again in 30. It often seems like the food doesn't affect her BG at all (though I know that's unlikely to be true).
 
It often seems like the food doesn't affect her BG at all (though I know that's unlikely to be true).
In some cycles where there is additional momentum, carbs will affect the numbers less that in other cycles. It's just them keeping us guessing. And awake in the middle of the night!
 
Hang in there! I know FD is really frustrating - more so because it is not predictable. I suspect some of her loss of momentum might have to do with vacation dose last month. She will get back to it. It's just that she will do it on her schedule and not yours. Oh well!

Why do you think the change in food affected her digestion? Is she still getting the 4% and 16% separately or mixed together?


She is, isn't she? She is a classic example of with great cuteness comes no responsibility. :rolleyes:
Lol! Yup ... I have no doubt that she lives the life of Riley.:bighug:

About the change in food: she was, and is again, getting 4% and 16% mixed together in a 4:1 ratio (measured by calories, not volume). I mix up a day's worth of food in a bowl, along with some pumpkin, and feed it to her throughout the day. She likes it, and it seems to agree with her. But every time I try to simplify things by eliminating the little bit of 16%, we get puddingpoo. And nobody likes that. :(
 
In some cycles where there is additional momentum, carbs will affect the numbers less that in other cycles. It's just them keeping us guessing. And awake in the middle of the night!
That's funny -- DBF actually said to me, just before heading to bed, "I think she really likes staying up late with you." He didn't explain why he thought so, but it seems to be a "thing"! Lucky me.:rolleyes:
 
About the change in food: she was, and is again, getting 4% and 16% mixed together in a 4:1 ratio (measured by calories, not volume). I mix up a day's worth of food in a bowl, along with some pumpkin, and feed it to her throughout the day. She likes it, and it seems to agree with her. But every time I try to simplify things by eliminating the little bit of 16%, we get puddingpoo. And nobody likes that. :(
What if you were to eliminate the 16% gradually? Say go up to 5:1 and then 6:1 etc.
 
What if you were to eliminate the 16% gradually? Say go up to 5:1 and then 6:1 etc.
It's such a tiny amount, just half of one of those small cans, that I couldn't believe her little system would even notice if it wasn't there. But it does! OK then, I will try 1/3 can with the same amount of Weruva, then 1/4, and see what happens.

In other news: 65 at +4.5. Looks like I blew it with the MC. :(
 
Yes, feed some LC and you might be okay for the night. I think you can try that reduction tomorrow.
We are surfing along at 55, with no food since +4, which was 2 hours ago. I think I will give her a nice big meal of LC and leave another in the feeder. And take the reduction tomorrow. :cat:
Thank you, Bhooma, for your always excellent advice, and for keeping me company through this long night!:bighug::bighug:
 
Looks like Chispa quit sneaking peeks at Faraday’s SS and decided that she just wanted to hang out with you aaaaaaall night long. Hope you’re not dragging too hard today!
 
I hope the reduction works for you. We don't usually recommend reductions unless the numbers tell you one is earned. If you had been giving HC or MC and struggling to keep her numbers up, that's a different story.
Thanks, Wendy. She started the day at 139 today, so I decided to stick with the same dose. We'll see what tonight brings. :cat:
 
I sympathize with your long night! Biggie doesn’t even stay awake with me when I’ve needed to keep testing/feeding. It’s for a good cause, though. I hope you do get a nap in…I WFH, too, and have had to sneak a nap or two in after an exhausting night of testing/feeding (on my breaks, of course). LOL
 
Back
Top