11/07 Noni skipping AM , PM +7 247 +9 252

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 11/07 Noni AM skipped PM 273.6

i'm happy to hear noni's surgery went well and she's back home with you.

anesthesia can lower blood glucose in some kitties. we've seen it happen over and over again.

i wouldn't shoot any more than a token dose of 1 unit at shot time because you don't want to have to fight to keep her numbers up. you'll still have to test her in case she continues to drop on the reduced dose.

if you're too tired to continue monitoring all night because of all the stress of the operation, you could skip or even shoot a reduced dose of 0.5 unit. you can always get back on track tomorrow.

as the others have mentioned, feed only small amounts of food at a time so she won't vomit.


wishing noni a speedy recovery!
 
Re: 11/07 Noni AM skipped PM 273.6 + 30mins 255.6

Thanks for the advice Jill, I think I will choose the first suggestion and skip as her numbers dropping down so quickly so it's hard to predict.


273.6~ PMPS
255.6 ~ PMPS (30 min later )
 
Re: 11/07 Noni AM skipped PM 273.6

that's fine. you can resume insulin in the morning. if possible, try to get test about an hour before you want to shoot. if the number is lower than usual post for dose suggestions before shooting.

you might also want to get a test or two in tonight, but hopefully noni will allow you to get some rest.

after surgery we always suggest trying to keep kitty in a darkened room to allow them to sleep the anesthesia off. this shouldn't be hard with night time approaching.

continue feeding small meals until you think she's satisfied.

sending positive thoughts...
 
Re: 11/07 Noni AM skipped PM 273.6

Jill & Alex said:
that's fine. you can resume insulin in the morning. if possible, try to get test about an hour before you want to shoot. if the number is lower than usual post for dose suggestions before shooting.

you might also want to get a test or two in tonight, but hopefully noni will allow you to get some rest.

after surgery we always suggest trying to keep kitty in a darkened room to allow them to sleep the anesthesia off. this shouldn't be hard with night time approaching.

continue feeding small meals until you think she's satisfied.

sending positive thoughts...



I will have her tested twice or 3 times during the night.. she just started to sleep so I don't to give her more trouble today..

I'm keeping the room dark and warm for her , I touched her paws and they were freezing .. so trying to keep the temp high.

and she's actually starving but i'm scared of giving big amounts

thanks for your thoughts Jill :) I will say goodnight now .. my eyes are turning purple I-) I-) I-)
 
Re: 11/07 Noni AM skipped PM 273.6

Hi aseel

I'm glad to hear everything went well. I think Jill has given you some excellent options. You can easily resume insulin tomorrow and she will get back on track. You can also post the tests you get tonight if you are concerned about any numbers.

I hope she feels better and starts to eat small amounts when the anesthesia wears off.
 
Re: 11/07 Noni AM skipped PM 273.6

Hi Aseel-
Just wanted to stop by and say HI to you and Noni. Glad to hear she is home from surgery and really hope today has been a good one for you both.

:YMHUG: Karen
 
Re: 11/07 Noni AM skipped AMPS 342

Thank you Marje and Greg for your support and positive energy your giving us ..

hope all goes well so we can remove the stitches really soon .,
 
Re: 11/07 Noni AM skipped AMPS 342

Thank you Marje and Greg for your support and positive energy your giving us ..

hope all goes well so we can remove the stitches really soon .,
 
Re: 11/07 Noni AM skipped AMPS 342

Noni's AMPS is 342 so I'm shooting the regular 2.5 since shes yellow whole day last night
 
Re: 11/07 Noni AM skipped AMPS 342 +2 185

Noni responded really quick to the insulin AM shot , her +2 is 185 ,, should I start to worry???
 
Re: 11/07 Noni AM skipped AMPS 342 +2 185

I would try to slow down that drop. Has she been eating fine, and when did she eat last?

Also, we usually have 1 condo per day, per cat.

I think you should start a new thread (condo) for today's numbers.

Don't forget to link this thread to your new one.

Slow down there, Noni.
 
Re: 11/07 Noni AM skipped AMPS 342 +2 185

Dyana said:
I would try to slow down that drop. Has she been eating fine, and when did she eat last?

Also, we usually have 1 condo per day, per cat.

I think you should start a new thread (condo) for today's numbers.

Don't forget to link this thread to your new one.

Slow down there, Noni.


I will start a new condo for today . thanks for reminding me :)

shes eating just fine. but seems weak
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top