11-07 - New Member - Mumu - AMPS 344

Sisu

Member Since 2022
Hello looking for more advice, changed Mumus dose to 0.50U on the PM cycle of July 2nd 2022.

If you look on the SS before I had to skip doses at 1U in the PM cycle as he was too low, but now he seems like he is resistant to the insulin and always high during the day then he will react to the insulin in the PM cycle and his BG will drop to better numbers?

Does anyone have any ideas to what is going on, I am using SLGS so now I will have to go up to 0.75U tomorrow?

I did not bother doing a curve because he is constantly high during the day it would read out around 18mmol/L~ or 330~during the day for the curve.

Does anyone have success feeding their cat on a 12/12 basis or is this what I am doing wrong, is it possible for my cat to be regulated on this feeding pattern or do all the members on here feed smaller meals? If this is the case then why is he reacting to the insulin in the PM dose and not he AM dose?
 
Here is the link to your previous post here, which we link for continuity of history: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/05-07-new-member-mumu-amps-362.265430/

Unfortunately, many cats like to go lower at night. It plays havoc with our sleep cycles. :rolleyes: But is also why those night time tests are important. You've been doing a good job getting that data. You test enough for TR, so don't really need to do a curve. The idea of a curve is to get an idea how low the dose is taking him, and I think we know he's getting to the low 100's occasionally.

Are you feeding him now 12/12? Most of the members feed smaller meals, it's much easier on the healing pancreas not to dump a lot of food on them at once.
 
Here is the link to your previous post here, which we link for continuity of history: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/05-07-new-member-mumu-amps-362.265430/

Unfortunately, many cats like to go lower at night. It plays havoc with our sleep cycles. :rolleyes: But is also why those night time tests are important. You've been doing a good job getting that data. You test enough for TR, so don't really need to do a curve. The idea of a curve is to get an idea how low the dose is taking him, and I think we know he's getting to the low 100's occasionally.

Are you feeding him now 12/12? Most of the members feed smaller meals, it's much easier on the healing pancreas not to dump a lot of food on them at once.

Yes i am still feeding him 12/12 i just don't think I can feed him 3 times a day/night all the time. Do you think it has the difference between getting him otj or not?

Do you think Mumu needs a dose increase? I did go from 1-0.5. Just seems like I cant get him consistently good numbers?
 
How about starting with a second meal around +2? That might slow some of the fast drops that happen early in the cycle. Fast drops can also cause bounces. You can always get an automated feeder like the Petsafe 5 so you don't have to be there all the time.

Do you mind putting "SLGS" in your signature. It'll make it easier/faster for us to help you with dosing questions. The goal of SLGS is to get nadirs/low points in between 90 and 149.
 
I fed Max 3 mini meals each cycle. I had started that due him having chronic pancreatitis and was pleased to see it is good for fd as well.
 
How about starting with a second meal around +2? That might slow some of the fast drops that happen early in the cycle. Fast drops can also cause bounces. You can always get an automated feeder like the Petsafe 5 so you don't have to be there all the time.

Do you mind putting "SLGS" in your signature. It'll make it easier/faster for us to help you with dosing questions. The goal of SLGS is to get nadirs/low points in between 90 and 149.

I assume that the wet food would maybe spoil a bit? I guess what I was trying to ask is, is it considered a must to feed these small meals or do people have success on the 12/12.

Also looking at his SS should i keep him on 0.5 or add 0.25 ?
 
Many use an auto feeder and set it to open at specific times. What about trying a +2 snack as Wendy suggested and see if he does better. When I worked I put out wet food before I left and it would be fine. You could put ice under the dish to keep it moist longer.
 
I assume that the wet food would maybe spoil a bit?
I don't think I would worry about that in 12 hours, but the some of the automatic feeders people use on here have spots where you can put an ice pack to keep the food slots cool.

Sorry I'm new myself so I can't speak to your dose.
 
With nadirs between 90-150 you hold the dose. You are seeing that at night so hold the dose.

Ok thank you, I will look into an auto feeder and discuss with my vet as well, do you have any ideas whats going on with his daytime numbers?
 
The daytime numbers are just like Wendy said just bouncing, some cats bounce more than others, most will get regulated and stop bouncing. The sooner you will get them to a good dose the higher the chance they will stop bouncing sooner. Is there any reason you are not considering the TR? you are testing enough for it and it would give Mumu a higher chance to get to OTJ.

We are feeding every 3 hours small portions of raw, we use an autofeeder with coolers, even in 35+ degrees C the food doesn't spoil. We have 2 sets of coolers so are able to fill the autofeeder every 12 hours. To feed smaller portions is not a must (just like nothing else is), but it helps their pancreas heal, which is what we want.

You are doing a great job with Mumu :bighug:
 
Not sure if this will help, but Whiskey does some rapid dives - AM and PM, and I have found that the trick is to give her a snack at +1 (half her usual meal) and then make sure she eats at +4. That seems to slow down the dive and bring her down gently - and we all have a vested interest in Whiskey's sugar dropping gently, as she turns into a bear with a sore head when her BG dives too - which I guess is to be expected, I think I would also do that!
 
Back
Top