11/07 Monet AMPS 95 PMPS 102,+2 104,+3 85 ,+3.75 101 +5.5 91

Status
Not open for further replies.

MonetsMom

Member Since 2013
Yesterday's Condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=107664

Good A.M. to all ...

Well I am doing it ... gave Monet another injection of .10 this morning although his BG was 95 (AlphaTrak) after last night's PMPS was 110. I am stressing out however since I am now at work and my husband will not be home later today for 4 hours YIKES ! He is going to feed Monet (and of course Picasso) prior to leaving the house, but I am going to be on pins and needles. I hope I am doing the right thing ??? My husband thinks with that tiny amount we are giving him he will do OK today...it really does seem like we are just injecting nothing when we stick it in! Please send those vines u guys send for Monet to do well today :-D

Oh well enough about Monet and me... Hope you all have a terrific Thursday and all your babies get good BGs!
 
Re: 11/07/13 Monet AMPS 95(AlphaTrak)

I would really, really, really encourage you to get PM tests. If you can't collect any data during the day, then it's doubly important to get PM tests. It's very hard to be reassuring in the absence of any information on how Monet did last night when you gave 0.1u.
 
Re: 11/07/13 Monet AMPS 95(AlphaTrak)

Hi Sienne ...Thanks for your reply!

2nite after his PM shot I will do additional testing ...do you think if I did it it at +3 And + 6 that would be OK or do I need to do it at + 2 +4 +6 ???

Hope you and Gabby have a great Thursday !
 
Re: 11/07/13 Monet AMPS 95(AlphaTrak)

I'm a fan of a +2 test. If the +2 is much lower than your pre-shot test, it may be a signal that numbers are dropping. So I'd get the +2 and decide from there. Right now, given the number of skipped shots, you don't know when Lantus onset and nadir are for Monet. That's information you need so you can leave the house with some degree of confidence and/or instruct your DH when to feed. (And maybe, you can coach him to test!) You may want to consider getting a curve on a day when you're home.
 
Re: 11/07/13 Monet AMPS 95(AlphaTrak)

Thanks again Sienne! I will definitely do a +2 2nite and go from there. I will do a curve on Saturday when I can be home all day.
U R so knowledgeable about all of this ...
 
Re: 11/07/13 Monet AMPS 95(AlphaTrak)

I'm glad you didn't go with the .25 Rise!

I'm a huge fan of the +2 too. It's a great "window to the future" when it comes to Lantus

I think we may have talked some about the possibility of you starting a little earlier in the morning so you could possibly get a +2 before you had to leave, but I'm not sure. I know how hard it is to get up at those horrible hours, but if it's a possibility in your schedule, it'd be a lot better for you to have that "window" before you had to leave for work.

Surf safely sweet Monet!
 
Re: 11/07/13 Monet AMPS 95(AlphaTrak)

Hi Chris. ..I am so glad you suggested the .10 instead of the .25 !

I get up thru the week @4:30 and leave at 4:45 for work ...so I could possibly get up at 4 and do his am shot and then test right before I leave the house....on second thought, that would not work since I do not get home from work until 4:30 grr_red

I will definitely be getting the + 2 tonight and then I will do a curve on Sat.

Hope u and China enjoy your Thursday .... Is it Friday yet :lol:
 
Re: 11/07/13 Monet AMPS 95(AlphaTrak)

Here's Marje's post on Dosing with calipers

You can get calipers at a hardware store, big stores like WalMart or online at 1000 places

You have a tight schedule that's for sure....maybe you can convince DH to learn how to test if he understands that by doing it, Monet may get OTJ sooner!
 
Re: 11/07/13 Monet AMPS 95(AlphaTrak)

Thanks for the link Chris....will definitely take a look at this.

Yes ...it would be very nice if my DH would help out with the testing. maybe when I tell him it will accelerate Monet getting OTJ it will knock some sense into him :lol:
 
Re: 11/07/13 Monet AMPS 95(AlphaTrak)

Good luck on getting DH to help with the testing. It is a constant battle at my house!

I like to get a +2 too, just to see where Cleo is going. I can't always get it in the morning, but I try!

Monet is showing you some great number!!
 
Re: 11/07/13 Monet AMPS 95(AlphaTrak)

Hi Jane and sweet Cleo...
If you have any tips on getting the DHs help please share ;-)

Hope you and are having a great Thursday !
 
Re: 11/07/13 Monet AMPS 95 PMPS 102(AlphaTrak)

Just tested Monet and his PMPS was 102(AlphaTrak) so gave him .1 unit. As a lot of you advised I will test @ +2 and go from there. Very curious to see what he does. Also, I feed Monet (and Picasso) 4 mini meals per day .... Will it still be ok to do this around the +5/+6 hour or should I be doing something different ???

Hope everyone has a nice evening!
 
Re: 11/07/13 Monet AMPS 95 PMPS 102(AlphaTrak)

you can still feed him like you usually do. i usually tested then fed so you're not testing a number after they've just eaten.
 
Re: 11/07/13 Monet AMPS 95 PMPS 102(AlphaTrak)

Thanks Julie...hope u and Punkin r having a great Thursday evening !
 
Re: 11/07/13 Monet AMPS 95 PMPS 102(AlphaTrak)

Great job today!!! I think you have qualified for:


I will be around tonight if you need any assistance with lower numbers. I'm also still a fan of feeding at +9 when you can to see what he will do.......but if it's not possible, it's ok because the insulin is bringing his PSs down.
 
Re: 11/07/13 Monet AMPS 95 PMPS 102(AlphaTrak)

Thanks Marje . . Luv the graphic :lol:

Thanks 4 letting me know u will be around 2nite...that really makes me a lot more comfortable. I will be doing my +2 test in a about 35 minutes....scary :?:

Hope u and beautiful Gracie are having a wonderful evening
 
Re: 11/07/13 Monet AMPS 95 PMPS 102(AlphaTrak)

Ok...I'll be looking for your number in EXACTLY 35 minutes :lol: :lol: :lol:

I am doing great, thank you, and the ever so wonderful and adorable LBG is doing as fabulous as ever.
 
Re: 11/07/13 Monet AMPS 95 PMPS 102(AlphaTrak)

Monet's +2 was 104 up fro his PMPS of 102. Not sure if this is good or bad ? Recommendations on whether I should test in 2 hours or 3 ???
 
Re: 11/07/13 Monet AMPS 95 PMPS 102, +2 104 (AlphaTrak)

I'd get a +3 because he might onset and because you are there to grab a test so we can see when he onsets :-D

See you in an hour. Good job!!!!
 
Re: 11/07/13 Monet AMPS 95 PMPS 102, +2 104 (AlphaTrak)

WOW! U really were watching for my post ...I had just hit submit and next thing I know u were posting :lol:
Will test again in an hour ....thank u so Marje for being here 4 me & Monet!
 
Re: 11/07/13 Monet AMPS 95 PMPS 102, +2 104 (AlphaTrak)

watching-you-smiley-emoticon.gif


:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 11/07/13 Monet AMPS 95 PMPS 102, +2 104 (AlphaTrak)

Just tested Monet @ +3 and his BG was 85. ... @ +2 it was 104. Do I need to be doing anything or is that still ok ??? He is acting totally normal.
btw.... I am testing with AlphaTrak . when should I test again ? Thanks in advance ...
 
Re: 11/07/13 Monet AMPS 95 PMPS 102, +2 104, +3 85(AlphaTrak

I would feed him a couple of good tsp of LC food and retest in 30 mins.

Sorry to be late....I was posting on Loveys condo.

I'll be waiting. ;-)
 
Re: 11/07/13 Monet AMPS 95 PMPS 102, +2 104, +3 85(AlphaTrak

U r so amazing Marje ... I will feed and test again in 30.
 
Re: 11/07/13 Monet AMPS 95 PMPS 102, +2 104, +3 85(AlphaTrak

Okey doke!

Not amazing....just around :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 11/07/13 Monet AMPS 95 PMPS 102, +2 104, +3 85(AlphaTrak

Just tested Monet at +3.5 (actually a little closer to +3.75 and he was back to 101 .... What does all this mean ?
What is my next step ??? Thanks in advance :smile:
 
Re: 11/07/13 Monet AMPS 95 PMPS 102, +2 104, +3 85(AlphaTrak

Could be his reaction to the food. I'd grab another test in one hour and see where he is.
 
Re: 11/07 Monet AMPS 95 PMPS 102,+2 104, +3 85 ,+3.75 101 (A

Thanks Marge . I will set my alarm for an hour and wake up... I get up at 4:30 everyday to go to work and I am usually sleeping by 9:30. Since it s now 10:30 here I will test again @ 11:30. See u in an hour .. . U rock ! :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT
 
Re: 11/07 Monet AMPS 95 PMPS 102,+2 104, +3 85 ,+3.75 101 (A

just waving hello from the Charleston area. :mrgreen:

Looks like Monet is surfing nicely tonight.
 
Re: 11/07 Monet AMPS 95 PMPS 102,+2 104, +3 85 ,+3.75 101 (A

Just tested Monet again at +5.5 and BG was 91.

So Sorry Marge, I set my Alarm for 11:30 (EST) but for some reason it did not go off so I was 30 minutes later than planned. grr_red
Advice on next step? Should I feed now? Should I test again ???
 
Re: 11/07 Monet AMPS 95 PMPS 102,+2 104,+3 85 ,+3.75 101 +5.

No problem....I've just been checking in while reading other condos.

He's pretty much surfing which is good. If you want to give him just a tsp or so of LC to get him past nadir and so you can sleep a bit, that's fine. Normally I'd say to hold off on the food and see if he'll continue to surf but maybe just a little LC and you can sleep for a couple hours.....

I would like to see him up....or at least not down before you call it a night...if possible. But since you have to get up soon and work, the other option Is just to leave him a couple large tsp LC so you don't have to get up...if you think he will eat.
 
Re: 11/07 Monet AMPS 95 PMPS 102,+2 104,+3 85 ,+3.75 101 +5.

Hi Libby and Lucy ....nice to make your acquaintance!

This surfing thing is the first time for me and it's scary nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile
 
Re: 11/07 Monet AMPS 95 PMPS 102,+2 104,+3 85 ,+3.75 101 +5.

Yup....it is. I never can sleep until I know Gracie is up just a bit.
 
Re: 11/07 Monet AMPS 95 PMPS 102,+2 104,+3 85 ,+3.75 101 +5.

Marje u r still here . ... Can not believe I slept thur alarm. What do you think I should do?
 
Re: 11/07 Monet AMPS 95 PMPS 102,+2 104,+3 85 ,+3.75 101 +5.

Look a few posts back...I left some thoughts for you.
 
Re: 11/07 Monet AMPS 95 PMPS 102,+2 104,+3 85 ,+3.75 101 +5.

Thanks Marje ..I want to do what is best for Monet. So I will not feed right now and test again in 1 hour. I will set 2 alarms this time :lol:
 
Re: 11/07 Monet AMPS 95 PMPS 102,+2 104,+3 85 ,+3.75 101 +5.

Okey doke! I hope you can go into work later.

I'll be here in an hour.
 
Re: 11/07 Monet AMPS 95 PMPS 102,+2 104,+3 85 ,+3.75 101 +5.

U r so awesome ... I will still be getting up at 4:30 and leaving for work at 5:45. See you in an hour!
 
Re: 11/07 Monet AMPS 95 PMPS 102,+2 104,+3 85 ,+3.75 101 +5.

Great shooting tonight Rise!!!

And a "Balls of Steel" Award too!!

You're doing so awesome with Monet :mrgreen:

Surf safely Monet..mamabean needs some sleep!
 
Re: 11/07 Monet AMPS 95 PMPS 102,+2 104,+3 85 ,+3.75 101 +5.

Monet's +7 is 117 ... Wow he has been all over the place. Should Mama feed and go to sleep for 3 hours now?
 
Re: 11/07 Monet AMPS 95 PMPS 102,+2 104,+3 85 ,+3.75 101 +5.

I'd feed a little LC if he's hungry. If he's not, I'd get to bed.

Hope you sleep well for the next three hours.

Good job tonight!!
 
Re: 11/07 Monet AMPS 95 PMPS 102,+2 104,+3 85 ,+3.75 101 +5.

Monet will eat any time :lol: He is not begging for food , so I do not have to feed him. Plan is to test him again in morning For his AMPS , feed and then give him his .1 unit of the juice or do u think I should test him at 4:30? That would be at about +11 ???

BTW .. What has all this told us about how Monet is doing? Does it mean he is doing OK?

Thanks so very much for your help 2nite Marje!!!!! Could not have made it thru without you !!!
 
Re: 11/07 Monet AMPS 95 PMPS 102,+2 104,+3 85 ,+3.75 101 +5.

If you are up, you could get a +11.

With many cats who have been around a bit and we know once they start up, they will continue, I'd be 100% good with just waiting until AMPS. But Monet has not been on insulin long enough for us to know if he has any tricks up his gorgeous little paws ;-)

I wouldn't be surprised if he gets a second dip and you find him a little lower at AMPS. I'll leave the +11 up to you since you are the one who has to work tomorrow.

Sorry I missed you yesterday....it's was my work day and it's always a long one.

You're welcome!

Ni Ni.
 
Re: 11/07 Monet AMPS 95 PMPS 102,+2 104,+3 85 ,+3.75 101 +5.

Thanks Marje ... If I can I will get a +11 reading in the morning

Now you need to get some sleep too !
 
Re: 11/07 Monet AMPS 95 PMPS 102,+2 104,+3 85 ,+3.75 101 +5.

Yes ma'am.....one more test and I'm headed there.

See you Friday,
 
Re: 11/07 Monet AMPS 95 PMPS 102,+2 104,+3 85 ,+3.75 101 +5.

Great job, Rise! Hope you were able to get a few hours sleep. Having Marje hold your hand through this, makes it all so much easier :-D You two were a winning team (and Monet, of course :lol: )

Jane
 
Re: 11/07 Monet AMPS 95 PMPS 102,+2 104,+3 85 ,+3.75 101 +5.

Good morning Jane !

You are so right ....having Marje last night was a God send ! Monet and I could not have done it without her!
I got maybe 3 hours of sleep last night and now I am already at work. I am just so happy 2morrow is Saturday.

Hope you and Cleo have a FABULOUS weekend!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top