? 11/07 Handsome Dan AMPS 128 ??

Harmony

Member Since 2020
Hello. Could someone please take a look at Handsome Dan’s chart and provide some advice? We reduced his dose to 0.5 units a couple of days ago because his numbers were dropping fast. We’ve tested him 3X today, and the numbers are all in the 70’s, the most recent one was 81. He’s due for another shot in 4 hours, but I don’t want the numbers to get too low. Should I skip a shot, or reduce to 0.25? But I’ve heard that you shouldn’t skip a dose of Lantus, so I’m unsure of what to do. We are pretty new to this, he’s only been on insulin for a couple of weeks. Thank you for any suggestions!
 
This is a beautiful cycle. are you feeding all canned foods? You could follow TR. Otherwise it’s SLGS and a reduction was earned. A lot can happen in 4 hours. I’d feed him now if you haven’t and test in an hour.
 
Thank you. Should we try for 0.25 tonight? That’s such a tiny dose! I’ll give him some food now and test again at +9.
 
I'm a little late, but welcome from me too. Dan's doing really well!

There are a few other things we like people to put in their signature (so we can stop asking them each time). This post lists what should go there.
New? How You Can Help Us Help You!

If it's possible, can you try getting tests some night before you go to bed? Many cats go lower at night, and we determine the dose based on how low the dose takes the cat. Hence those night time spot checks to keep hims safe.
 
Back
Top