11/07 Blue AMPS 76 +4 71 +8 79 PMPS 70 +4 97

1762492814322.jpeg

Here is an image of .10 dose
 
Thank you, yes, I had seen these images.
I do have, however, a different kind of syringes that have a different, non flat head. They also don't have the .5 markings and I think they are also not as narrow as the BD (or ReliOn?) ones here. Here's what I've been doing for approximately 0.25U.
There's also that deeper groove at the top, my idea was to force push the plunger all the way in, insert the needle into the Lantus pen, let go of the plunger, and whatever is sucked in I consider 0.1U.
And then I need to push it again all the way in when I get Blue his new dose.

1762506677011.png
 
There's also that deeper groove at the top, my idea was to force push the plunger all the way in, insert the needle into the Lantus pen, let go of the plunger, and whatever is sucked in I consider 0.1U.
This is how we measure a drop dose which is the dose after 0.10U (although we suggest a drop dose only for cats that are seeing some low blues on 0.10U). Do you think you can measure 0.25U like you do now and squeeze out half the insulin to get 0.10U?
 
I can certainly try, I'll do a little bit more of zooming and calipers, but difficult because of the plunger head.
 
Take a look at the note on the top of my spreadsheet from Wendy that encourages us not to worry about temporary increases in bg (🙋‍♀️ I chronically worry about this). Blue is still doing fine. And if he doesn't hold a reduction, you can always take him back up again. (Though I sure hope he holds it!!)

I have a thought: normal bg for a cat is 80-120, but Blue consistently runs well below that. I WONDER if (and someone can certainly correct me on this), as you reduce his insulin, and as his body begins to adjust to producing insulin on its own again (i.e., going into remission), is it possible that his bg might go up a little bit into more normal numbers (more like 80-120)?? Maybe @Bandit's Mom can weigh in on this.
 
Take a look at the note on the top of my spreadsheet from Wendy that encourages us not to worry about temporary increases in bg (🙋‍♀️ I chronically worry about this). Blue is still doing fine. And if he doesn't hold a reduction, you can always take him back up again. (Though I sure hope he holds it!!)

I have a thought: normal bg for a cat is 80-120, but Blue consistently runs well below that. I WONDER if (and someone can certainly correct me on this), as you reduce his insulin, and as his body begins to adjust to producing insulin on its own again (i.e., going into remission), is it possible that his bg might go up a little bit into more normal numbers (more like 80-120)?? Maybe @Bandit's Mom can weigh in on this.
Great point, Mary! I have noticed this phenomenon with Trixie as well when I reduce her dose. Usually the day of or the next day. I think the pancreas gets used to being supported and once that support goes down a bit, it needs to realize that it needs to put in some of its own work.
 
Take a look at the note on the top of my spreadsheet from Wendy that encourages us not to worry about temporary increases in bg (🙋‍♀️ I chronically worry about this). Blue is still doing fine. And if he doesn't hold a reduction, you can always take him back up again. (Though I sure hope he holds it!!)

I have a thought: normal bg for a cat is 80-120, but Blue consistently runs well below that. I WONDER if (and someone can certainly correct me on this), as you reduce his insulin, and as his body begins to adjust to producing insulin on its own again (i.e., going into remission), is it possible that his bg might go up a little bit into more normal numbers (more like 80-120)?? Maybe @Bandit's Mom can weigh in on this.

Thank you for reminding me that. I had gotten used to seeing all this green that I'm afraid of [Bb]lue now.

I did wonder about the low numbers before and brought it up in an old condo but it somehow flew past the conversation. I was wondering if this is what was causing him to still be hungry all the time. Not like before being regulated, but still.
 
Back
Top