? 11.07.22 Chispa, Unexpected low PMPS (109 AMPS, 95 +3, 82 +4, 76 +5, 63 +12 , 73 +12.5, 91 +13, 107

Karen and Chispa (GA)

Member Since 2022
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/11-06-22-chispa-114-amps-96-5-123-pmps-92-3.270515/

'Morning everyone! I hope today brings good health and happiness, wherever you are. :bighug::cat:

(Fall colors in the Bishop's Garden outside the National Cathedral.)
3073F037-5F7B-4FC2-9482-B1382FF5781E_1_201_a.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • 3073F037-5F7B-4FC2-9482-B1382FF5781E_1_201_a.jpeg
    3073F037-5F7B-4FC2-9482-B1382FF5781E_1_201_a.jpeg
    198.7 KB · Views: 284
OK, so here's something new: Chispa, whose nadir is pretty consistently around +3, drifted steadily downward today from 109 AMPS to 72 at +5. I didn't test after that, but I probably should have, for it might have helped to explain how we arrived at a PMPS of 63. She had her usual meals at AMPS, +2, +3, +5, and +8. I don't remember her ever having a preshot number lower than the last cycle's nadir, and I'm not sure what to do. Should I feed her and test again in half an hour, then decide whether to shoot? Or would this be a good time to do a BCS?

@Bandit's Mom
@tiffmaxee
@Wendy&Neko
 
Also, in case it's relevant, she hasn't been pooping as regularly as before, maybe because of change in diet? (more protein/fewer carbs)
She usually goes overnight, but it was afternoon yesterday before she finally went. And today she hasn't gone at all so far.
 
Stickies say to stall WITHOUT feeding bc if you feed you don't know if the higher BG is food influenced or a natural rise in BG. Can your schedule accommodate a stall of 30 mins?
Thanks, Angela. Unfortunately, DBF gave her some food (LC) because she was meowing loudly by her dish (oops). I'm going to test again in a few minutes, and then I guess I will have to make a decision. I can get up during the night if I have to keep testing.
 
You've shot a 71 before. The tradeoff with stalling on a lower number is whether they keep dropping without food. Unfortunately I am heading out in a bit, so can't stick with you. But I'll be cheering you on.

Thanks, Wendy; much appreciated. She’s at 91 now, so I’m going to shoot and will keep testing. It’s been a strange couple of days!
 
Congrats on shooting your lowest preshot yet :) (You can shoot any number over 50 if you can monitor.)
There is more fibre/bulk in dry food which helps with pooping.
I didn’t realize that about dry food. I’m sure the small amount I have on hand in the hypo emergency kit is HC, so I’d have to seek out another kind. Thought I might try 1/8 tsp. of Miralax in the morning if she still hasn’t gone.
 
I just googled it - sounds like it should be easy enough to find. So it’s better than Miralax?
I think you want to start with adding fibre to her diet and if that doesn't work then go to Miralax (laxative). Right now, if you think she is blocked, you might want to try Miralax to get her to go, but as a preventive measure against future poop issues, add fibre to her diet.

https://felineconstipation.org/prevention.html
 
I think you want to start with adding fibre to her diet and if that doesn't work then go to Miralax (laxative). Right now, if you think she is blocked, you might want to try Miralax to get her to go, but as a preventive measure against future poop issues, add fibre to her diet.

https://felineconstipation.org/prevention.html
That’s a very helpful website. Thanks, Bhooma! :cat:
 
Karen, a lot of the psyllium powders have sugar or artificial flavors. I use this brand that is sugar/additive free. It’s also a really fine powder, which is helpful, b/c they don’t particularly care for it, but mixed in food it’s usually fine. I add a little water if it gets pasty. Hope she gets regular soon. :bighug:
https://www.vitacost.com/yerba-prima-psyllium-husks-powder
I will order some of this for herm when i do my next methyl b12 order which I get from vitacost too. Can I ask how much you give? Once daily or twice?
 
I will order some of this for herm when i do my next methyl b12 order which I get from vitacost too. Can I ask how much you give? Once daily or twice?

I give 1/4 tsp and started with once a day, but I worked up to twice a day. I think vets say you can give up to 1tsp of this a day or possibly twice a day (definitely double check with your vet) but I can’t imagine a cat tolerating that much of this in their food.

I also give 2tsp of pumpkin with this, morning and evening. The pumpkin is a stool softener, and without it the bulking power of the psyllium makes it hard for him to poop it out. So they work well hand in hand for Biggie. I hope it helps Herman! :bighug:
 
I give 1/4 tsp and started with once a day, but I worked up to twice a day. I think vets say you can give up to 1tsp of this a day or possibly twice a day (definitely double check with your vet) but I can’t imagine a cat tolerating that much of this in their food.

I also give 2tsp of pumpkin with this, morning and evening. The pumpkin is a stool softener, and without it the bulking power of the psyllium makes it hard for him to poop it out. So they work well hand in hand for Biggie. I hope it helps Herman! :bighug:
Thanks for this, I also just realized you have the dosing in your signature. :facepalm: Herman was not thrilled with pumpkin, I currently give him 1/8 - 1/4 miralax once a day and was thinking I should switch to something more natural.
 
Thanks for this, I also just realized you have the dosing in your signature. :facepalm: Herman was not thrilled with pumpkin, I currently give him 1/8 - 1/4 miralax once a day and was thinking I should switch to something more natural.
A lot of vets really push the high fiber hard food for ibd kitties which of course our guys can’t have, (and shouldn’t have anyway!). But I think this is a really good substitute. I also top it with fortiflora to mask the flavor.
 
A lot of vets really push the high fiber hard food for ibd kitties which of course our guys can’t have, (and shouldn’t have anyway!). But I think this is a really good substitute. I also top it with fortiflora to mask the flavor.
no concerns with fortiflora and carbs? I've heard that Temptations are coated in fortiflora type substance so always thought it was high carb. Herm was OBSESSED with Temptations prior to his diagnosis (I feel so bad that I let him eat so much of them - now knowing how BAD they are) - but that prob means he would love some fortiflora.
 
no concerns with fortiflora and carbs? I've heard that Temptations are coated in fortiflora type substance so always thought it was high carb. Herm was OBSESSED with Temptations prior to his diagnosis (I feel so bad that I let him eat so much of them - now knowing how BAD they are) - but that prob means he would love some fortiflora.
I’m not sure how “healthy” the fortiflora is, mainly b/c it’s from Purina lol…but I don’t see anything in the ingredients that looks like carbs. It’s definitely like crack to them. It has brewer’s yeast, and I think they like that flavor.

ETA
Brewer’s yeast does have carbs- but I don’t think it’s enough to affect bg. I read in some places brewer’s yeast can help regulate bg, too. I found this thread on here: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/brewers-yeast-for-diabetic-cats.52934/
 
Last edited:
I’m not sure how “healthy” the fortiflora is, mainly b/c it’s from Purina lol…but I don’t see anything in the ingredients that looks like carbs. It’s definitely like crack to them. It has brewer’s yeast, and I think they like that flavor.

ETA
Brewer’s yeast does have carbs- but I don’t think it’s enough to affect bg. I read in some places brewer’s yeast can help regulate bg, too. I found this thread on here: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/brewers-yeast-for-diabetic-cats.52934/
hmmm interesting, ok. I find myself hesitant to try too many new things while herman is heading in the right direction - but something to read up on and consider if he is opposed to the psyllium husk once I get some

This discussion is so helpful; thank you for conducting it in my condo! :joyful: Seriously, I am learning so much here. I feel like we should all get an honorary DVM for all the reading and questioning that we do. Extra credit for fretting. And highest honors for valor in cajoling uncooperative patients! :bookworm::eek::blackeye::cat:
 
This discussion is so helpful; thank you for conducting it in my condo! :joyful: Seriously, I am learning so much here. I feel like we should all get an honorary DVM for all the reading and questioning that we do. Extra credit for fretting. And highest honors for valor in cajoling uncooperative patients! :bookworm::eek::blackeye::cat:

Glad you didn’t mind us hijacking your condo! Hope it’s helpful. I love taking shop with other crazy cat ladies!

hmmm interesting, ok. I find myself hesitant to try too many new things while herman is heading in the right direction - but something to read up on and consider if he is opposed to the psyllium husk once I get some

@Amy & Herman Yeah, I wouldn’t use it unless needed, too. Biggie is really picky- he wasn’t like most cats who are ravenous at higher bgs. He totally lost interest in food. Thankfully, as he feels better in lower numbers he’s eating better (knock on wood!). But he still needs a boost when stuff is mixed in.
 
Glad you didn’t mind us hijacking your condo! Hope it’s helpful. I love taking shop with other crazy cat ladies!

Haha, not at all! Bring the party on over. :):cat:

I guess I should consider myself lucky that Chispa really seems to like the canned pumpkin. Most of the time she poops like clockwork, but something goes awry every time I try to wean her off of the prescription food (for CKD) and feed her only Weruva. I think I will just stop trying. I read this morning that Dr. Lisa Pierson says once you get the carbs under 10% it doesn't really matter how much lower you go. If that's true, I'll stop worrying about lowering the carbs and feed her what is easiest to digest. (Duh.):rolleyes:
 
Haha, not at all! Bring the party on over. :):cat:

I guess I should consider myself lucky that Chispa really seems to like the canned pumpkin. Most of the time she poops like clockwork, but something goes awry every time I try to wean her off of the prescription food (for CKD) and feed her only Weruva. I think I will just stop trying. I read this morning that Dr. Lisa Pierson says once you get the carbs under 10% it doesn't really matter how much lower you go. If that's true, I'll stop worrying about lowering the carbs and feed her what is easiest to digest. (Duh.):rolleyes:
I read that too and it makes me feel better. Since Biggie has to have novel protein I don’t have as many choices of foods that he likes, so I just keep it under 10% and also don’t worry about it. His preshot foods have gravy and potato but they’re between 7% - 9% and he’s doing ok with it. I think some cats might not be ok with it so you just go with what works..ECID :smuggrin:
 
Some cats prefer baby food squash.

It's not uncommon for people here to use Fortiflora as an appetite enhancer, no change in BG as a result.
I’ll try that. And good to know about the fortiflora, I actually have some sitting in a cupboard and if I recall it wasn’t cheap!
 
Back
Top