? 11/06 Eddie AMPS 256 +5 356 PMPS 407 +8 410

Hi Jodey & Eddie, hoping you have a gentle cycle today. Happy Monday. And best of luck at the IM vet tomorrow. Sending you lots of love and support :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thanks, Staci and Ivy! Much appreciated as it seems we are in a cycle of resistance.

@Wendy&Neko should we hold the line @ 15u (because of the cycle just prior to this resistance) and because too much can seem like not enough or should we fight back with an increase??
 
Hope the IM vet visit provided some useful information.
I've not heard this anywhere but I'm wondering if there is not some (numerical?) ratio existing between IGF-1 and GH that might be discoverable? able to be hypothesized at least?
Sadly, there is no current test for GH output in cats, so not something that can currently be tested.

should we hold the line @ 15u (because of the cycle just prior to this resistance) and because too much can seem like not enough or should we fight back with an increase??
Too much insulin does NOT seem like not enough, provided you are doing safe size increases and testing enough to know how low the dose is taking the cat. The only occasions this might happen is when someone starts on too high a dose, or doesn't test enough, or increases by too large an amount. None of those are present in Eddie's case.

I think you can safely say that Eddie has lost his blues and could use an increase.
 
Hope the IM vet visit provided some useful information.

Sadly, there is no current test for GH output in cats, so not something that can currently be tested.


Too much insulin does NOT seem like not enough, provided you are doing safe size increases and testing enough to know how low the dose is taking the cat. The only occasions this might happen is when someone starts on too high a dose, or doesn't test enough, or increases by too large an amount. None of those are present in Eddie's case.

I think you can safely say that Eddie has lost his blues and could use an increase.

Yes, while I know there's no current test for GH output--like why isn't there?--you'd think someone would have come up with something mathematical to calculate possibility.

IM vet is tomorrow. We'll be talking about Eddie's BG numbers, the length of post-SRT time, Cabergoline, you know...

Oh, and when I asked about "too much insulin" seeming like not enough, I meant it in the context of insulin resistance...
 
There used to be. But since feline acromegaly was so rare, (or so they thought at one point), I guess it wasn't economically feasible to keep doing it.
You'd think because people were afflicted with acromegaly that there would be some interest in seeing what happens with treatment in cats...Ugh.

Anyway, BG crazy-high. Keep thinking the acro is getting desperate to pump out the IGF-1 along with whatever GH is going on.

Did increase.
 
So frustrating, Jodey. If only there was more good information and research. :(

Good luck with the increase for Eddie! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top