11/06/13 Monet AMBG 114 PMPS 110 (AT2) advise needed please

Status
Not open for further replies.

MonetsMom

Member Since 2013
Yesterday's condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=107587

Good Morning LL.... So glad this week is about 1/2 over !

Monet was feeling good this morning...me a bit sleepy :lol:

At a suggestion by Marje, I did a food test this morning. I set alarm for 2:30 to get up 3 hours prior to his testing time and feed him. Then at 5:30 prior to me leaving for work , I tested his BG and it was 114.

My syringes ,with 1/2 inch marking, will come today so based on what you guys think I can start giving Monet the .25 dosage if you think I should ??? What scares me is I am not home during the day to do any testing and I do not want his number to drop low again like it had a couple of times previously. I am at work from 5:45 am until 4:30 pm during the week. From what some of you have told me I really need to be injecting Monet 2 times per day with perhaps .25 units. Is this still what everyone thinks based on his numbers ???

Sorry to be such a pain to you guys but I just want to make sure I am doing the best thing for Monet to improve his chances of one day being OTJ. My Vet had instructed us to only give him the insulin if his BG was > 150....but as u guys have proven to me, he might not be making the best calls for Monet.

Any advice / suggestions would be so very much appreciated.

Hope everyone has a WONDERFUL Day and all kitties get good BGs!
 
Re: 11/06/13 Monet AMBG 114 (AlphaTrak 2) advise needed plea

I do think Monet needs a little help to get his numbers into normal range. If you're comfortable with 0.25u, that's fine. If you want to start lower, that's fine too.
 
Re: 11/06/13 Monet AMBG 114 (AlphaTrak 2) advise needed plea

Monet's numbers are creeping up, especially at PMPS, so it'd be better for you to continue giving insulin to help.

If you're not comfortable with giving .25 when you have to leave for work, you could try .1. If you started there tonight, your 6th cycle would be Saturday morning and if it wasn't enough, you could go to .25 for Sat night and the 2 cycles Sunday (If there's no reason to continue the .1 longer than 6 cycles)

This is what .1 looks like
01unit-1.jpg


You hold the syringe, so in the end, it has to be what you're comfortable doing
 
Re: 11/06/13 Monet AMBG 114 (AlphaTrak 2) advise needed plea

Hi Sienne and Chris .. Hope you both and China and Gabby r having a great Wednesday !

Thanks for your responses ... I have been checking board all day to see if anyone would offer advice.

I am just so afraid of getting Monet in that hypo state again by injecting when his BG level is lower, especially since I am not home to test during the day. My husband is home most of the day working but he is not any help when it comes to testing .
So the suggestion of trying the .1 is what I think wilI try first and see how that goes.

Thanks again for taking time to resply today to my post.
Hope you both have a great evening !
 
Re: 11/06/13 Monet AMBG 114 (AlphaTrak 2) advise needed plea

Hi Rise! Not sure if this helps but the other day, I was terrified to dose Twice because I knew he was gonna go really low (pretty sure he did too), and I had to go to work because I have taken way too much time off. It was suggested to me to leave out mc food if I thought he would go to low. I did this and when I got home 11 hours later he was in the green...and a lot of food was gone. Twice will definately eat when he goes low and I don't know if Monet will but it is an option. The reason I wanted to shoot that day even though I knew I would be nervous, was because I just HAVE to get his numbers down. He is high way too much and that is no good for him. Monet is not in the high ranges, so I want to make sure you know that I am in no way suggesting you follow my lead, but it might give you something to consider. Another great suggestion I have received is to shoot those low numbers on a day off and leave food out. Then just monitor without intervening to see if Twice will "help" himself.
I am truly rooting for you and Monet! I have learned to trust the experience of our new family here. If you are afraid at all, experiment when you are going to be there to intervene "if need be", and like Chris mentioned, you hold the needle.
You truly are a great mama Rise, that's why you're here ;-) :-D
 
Re: 11/06/13 Monet AMBG 114 (AlphaTrak 2) advise needed plea

Thanks Kim for all of your encouraging words, it DEFINITELY helps to hear this !
It makes me feel better when I hear tips and suggestions like you just gave me .

I hope you can soon get Twice's numbers down .... So Twice, if you r listening right now... we want some low numbers from you ASAP ;-)

Hope you and Twice have a nice evening !
 
Re: 11/06/13 Monet AMBG 114 (AlphaTrak 2) advise needed plea

Hey Rise I just thought of something else that might be helpful. I hate to admit this...but I have become a bit of a 'stalker'. Yep. I'm not proud, but desperate times call for desperate measures :lol:
So what I find helpful is following fellow newbie posts, to see what they ask and hear the answers they get. I still post my own questions because every situation is different, but I am also learning things in advance that I haven't had to ask or thought to ask yet.
 
Re: 11/06/13 Monet AMBG 114 (AlphaTrak 2) advise needed plea

reading other people's posts is extremely educational! Kim, you're not the only one who does it. it's one of the advantages of a public forum where all advice is given openly. you can read advice from a variety of people and see if others have the same questions you have. i highly recommend it!

are you sure your husband couldn't be persuaded to check monet even once, say at am+3? my husband starting out holding punkin while i did the shots, then helped me hold him while i tested, then eventually he offered to try it. i didn't have to do or say anything, he just was sucking it up and doing what needed to be done - which is what we've all done!!

if your husband helps enough, maybe he'd be willing to give it a try. with monet doing so well this little venture with insulin might not last too long - and the chances of it being shorter increase with being able to give 2 shots daily with enough monitoring in between. maybe if he understood that it would help. seems to me like that would be the ideal solution.
 
Re: 11/06/13 Monet AMBG 114 (AlphaTrak 2) advise needed plea

Too funny Kim... U stalker u. :roll:
Again a very good tip ... I will follow in your foot step and start stalking too.
What do you just search for "new member " ???
 
Re: 11/06/13 Monet AMBG 114 PMPS 110 (AT2) advise needed ple

just look at the subject lines. the newest people typically don't have the format done on their subject line. as you peek at posts, you'll quickly figure out who is new and who is experienced.
 
Re: 11/06/13 Monet AMBG 114 PMPS 110 (AT2) advise needed ple

Thanks Julie ... My husband is not a patient person and I really have to take my time with Monet when I do the testing. I hope maybe if sees how stressful this is on me he will step up and help me out with it. I will keep my fingers crossed :smile:
 
Re: 11/06/13 Monet AMBG 114 PMPS 110 (AT2) advise needed ple

I just tested Monet and his PMPS was 110 (AlphaTrak) ... So. as you guys suggested , I gave him what I think was a .1 unit injection ...it looked like hardly anything. Thanks for the picture Chris that helped ! So we will see how Monet reacts to that... Thanks again for everyone's support and help ...u guys ROCK :RAHCAT
 
Re: 11/06/13 Monet AMBG 114 PMPS 110 (AT2) advise needed ple

Well if Monet stays in normal numbers for a week on the .1, you can just show him the insulin bottle after that :lol:

There actually is a dose smaller than .1, but we'll cross that bridge when we get to it..IF we get to it...Monet is doing so great, I think I see a trial in his future
 
Re: 11/06/13 Monet AMBG 114 PMPS 110 (AT2) advise needed ple

Thanks Chris for your encouraging words ..I am going to need more of those today as I just injected Monet this morning (Thursday) with .10 even though his AMPS BG was 95! I am freaking out a bit since I am @ work already and not home to watch my baby :roll:

Hope China does well today and you have a GREAT Thursday !
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top