11/05 Calistica is hospitalized-possible kidney infection

Status
Not open for further replies.

Thelma and Calistica

Member Since 2011
Yesterday's condo
Yesterday's readings:
AMPS 115; +2 206; +3 186; +10 214 +11 224
PMPS 242; +2 291; +4 266

Calistica is feeling better. Her appetite is back since 5PM last night! Thank you all for sending all those healing thoughts Calistica's way.
We need to fast our baby for an U/S next Wed. Are there any guidelines for this? I'm really concerned about doing this.
Have a great day!
 
Re: 11/05 Calistica's AMPS 178 - Need advice about fasting

Stopping by to say hello and wish you a great day. I don't have any advice on fasting. I would think it might depend on where in the cycle the fasting should happen. Someone with experience will help I am sure.

You are doing such a great job with Calistica!
 
Re: 11/05 Calistica's AMPS 178 - Need advice about fasting

Yay on the appy! I also have no advice on fasting, but someone (multiple someones) will.
 
Re: 11/05 Calistica's AMPS 178 - Need advice about fasting

First, I would speak with your vet. Sometimes, they give these recommendations forgetting that you have a diabetic cat. I don't think it's wise to shoot without food but again, I'd speak with your vet. I know that my vet will typically ask that Gabby not get any food past a certain time when she's having a dental and will be anesthetized but vets differ in terms of how they handle this.
 
Re: 11/05 Calistica's AMPS 178; +2 134;+3 94; +3.5 76; +5 69

Thanks everyone. Sienne, we would not shoot the morning we fast her.
I don't think Calistica is feeling well at +5. I offered her a little food after the +5 test and she only ate the Halo chicken but not her food so I got some dry k/d which we only use as treats every two weeks when she gets her claws cut. I gave her about 8 little pieces and will check her in 1/2 hour.
 
Re: 11/05 Calistica's AMPS 178; +2 134;+3 94; +3.5 76; +5 69

Beautiful numbers for a beautiful girl this morning!

Sasha (drooler puppy) says YUCK on any of the 'fasting' stuff - FUD! I sez FUD! PWEASE! FUD? I sitz up prette - FUD? Oh pwease, I iz starvin', pwease....fud...fud....fud?

Big hugs Thelma - you've done amazing with Miss Calistica!
 
Re: 11/05 Calistica's AMPS 178; +2 134;+3 94; +3.5 76; +5 69

Hi Lyresa, thanks so much. Calistica's BG went down to 65 within 20 mins of the 69. I gave her a little more Hill's k/d dry and at +5.40 she was 100. I know she doesn't feel well. We may have to take her to the ER.
Please sending prayers Calistica's way. I am so worried!
 
Re: 11/05 Calistica's AMPS 178; +2 134;+3 94; +3.5 76; +5 69

69 and 65 are basically the same numbers - meters aren't that accurate for you to call a difference.

what is she doing besides being uninterested in eating? are there other symptoms that you're concerned about today?

can you tempt her with some low carb foods? some cats are extremely sensitive to the crunchies and even a bite will make their BG soar.

what's the ultrasound for?

good tempting foods - rotisserie chicken, canned tuna, cheese - other tricks include warming the food, putting it on your finger and trying to finger feed her. i've wiped it on punkin's paw or lips to get him to clean it off.

baby food of only meat & broth is sometimes good

if you think her tummy is upset, 1/4 of a Pepcid AC will sometimes help

eta - so your concern about wednesday and the fasting is because she won't be getting an insulin shot? i don't think i'd worry too much about that - you have enough else going on to worry about. it'll be like you gave a fur shot - one skipped shot won't be a problem and she'll get back on track before long.
 
Re: 11/05 Calistica's AMPS 178; +2 134;+3 94; +3.5 76; +5 69

Julie, I was afraid her numbers would keep dropping so I gave her the dry food. Maybe it was too much huh?
She's not perky at all. She's never not excited about food though. she's just lethargic. This is not an upset stomach thing.
She has not been feeling well the last couple of days. Her creatinine was high yesterday at 3.5. she's been fighting her first UTI but I thought we were out of the danger zone since she's been on antibiotics since mid-October.
The ultrasound is to check her kidneys.
I've warmed up her food and tried feeding her with my finger but that didn't work. She has had plenty of food today so I can understand why she's isn't hungry.
 
Re: 11/05 Calistica's - we're taking Calistica to the ER 2PM

dry food takes a while to get into their system and then it stays there for a longer while. 60's aren't low numbers, but if she was low you would want to use either high carb canned food, or low carb canned and add something like karo or honey to increase the carbs. with her IBD i don't know what would be suggested, but you could ask for advice on that so you are ready when you need it.

at the beginning of trying to steer numbers you can even just use the low carb canned food. that will give a little rise.

please give us an update when you get back from the ER. i'm thinking about both of you.
 
Re: 11/05 Calistica's - we're taking Calistica to the ER 2PM

oh, no!

sending prayers and positive energy to sweet Calistica...

celi & binks
 
Re: 11/05 Calistica's - we're taking Calistica to the ER 2PM

Thinking of Calistica and you and Ray. Sending healing energy and hoping for a good result. Let us know.
Liz
 
Re: 11/05 Calistica's - we're taking Calistica to the ER 2PM

praying for Calistica...i know how much she means to you and Ray....

update when you can.....


hugs!
 
Re: 11/05 Calistica's - we're taking Calistica to the ER 2PM

Sending Calistica a ton of healing vines and please let us know how she is.

Interesting about fasting for the U/S so food doesn't block the view. My cats have had tons of U/S over the years and none have been fasted nor has "food" in the gut been an issue. Esp when looking at kidneys. While skipping a shot won't hurt her, I just find this very curious and wonder if it's really a necessity to fast her for an U/S.

I understand about the fluids/heart balance. I didn't remember she had heart issues. I've had to do that before so it is a fine line to walk. There are ways to deal with it like giving less squids bid instead of more in one sitting and making sure they absorb all before you give the next ones but your vet can advise you.

(((Thelma)))....hoping and praying for your girl.
 
Re: 11/05 Calistica is hospitalized-possible kidney infectio

My baby was hospitalized tonight. The vet thinks it could be that the UTI triggered a kidney infection. She was slightly dehydrated and her glucose was in the 200's at about 4PM.
He said her kidney values were higher than yesterday and her pcv was better than yesterday. She is also more acidic. All three issues could be a result of the dehydration. They did blood and urine work. Tufts doesn't have a radiologist on the weekends but they will do a preliminary ultrasound but it's not a high res device like the one the radiologist would use.
They also did blood typing because Calistica is anemic. The fluids will dilute the blood and she may need a transfusion. He also tested her for ketones and that test was negative.
Marje, Calistica's u/s have always been to look at her intestines but while there they also look at all the other organs. It makes sense what you're saying about the not fasting for a kidney u/s.
Today was Ray's bday. We were both so sad about our little girl. They allowed us to see her before we left. She didn't want to be there. :cry: Tufts will call me tomorrow with an update. I hope they allow us to visit her tomorrow too. I would love to be able to bring her home tomorrow but I'm not holding my breath for that. What happens next depends on how she does overnight.

Thank you all for all those healing vines. Please continue to keep my baby in your prayers.
 
Re: 11/05 Calistica is hospitalized-possible kidney infectio

poor baby!!

we're sending concentrated healing vines to her!

1-vine.jpg
 
Re: 11/05 Calistica is hospitalized-possible kidney infectio

Thelma-BIG loooong hug...please edit the original message and change to another icon - the candles and rainbow mean our babies have crossed. I almost had a heart attack thinking we'd lost our beautiful girl.

BIG LOOOOONG hug again, thoughts and prayers too
 
Re: 11/05 Calistica is hospitalized-possible kidney infectio

Thelma --

Please take the candle icon off of your condo. The candles and the rainbow indicate that a cat has died. I know that wasn't your intent but I had a very sharp intake of breath when I saw the candle and Calistica's name.
 
Re: 11/05 Calistica is hospitalized-possible kidney infectio

Many prayers for Calistica. LantusLand prayers are very powerful...we're all behind you.

Like Sienne, I also was stunned when I saw the candlle...and was relieved to see that Calistica is still here with us.
 
Re: 11/05 Calistica is hospitalized-possible kidney infectio

so glad you followed your instinct and took her in. she's lucky to have you, thelma! sending happy birthday wishes to ray & healing thoughts to calistica!

LotusFlower2.313174927.jpg
 
Re: 11/05 Calistica is hospitalized-possible kidney infectio

I, too, saw the candle, and thought that Calistica had passed away. That's only for when cats have passed away.

I'll be sending you tons of healing vines and positive thoughts for Calisitica and you folks.
 
Re: 11/05 Calistica is hospitalized-possible kidney infectio

Oh dear, my heart jumped into my throat when I saw the candle. I am sending prayers and healing vines for Calistica.

Pattie
 
Re: 11/05 Calistica is hospitalized-possible kidney infectio

Sending vines and prayers for Calistica. So glad she is with us, as I, too, saw the candle and thought the other had happened. Hugs.
 
Re: 11/05 Calistica is hospitalized-possible kidney infectio

I am sending many healing vines to Calistica. I will be hoping that she feels better and can come home soon.
 
Re: 11/05 Calistica is hospitalized-possible kidney infectio

Sending healing white light and feel all better soon vines to Calistica cat_pet_icon
Lots of hugs from us and paws being crossed.
 
Re: 11/05 Calistica is hospitalized-possible kidney infectio

Thank you so much everyone. So sorry I scared you with the candle. I thought they could be used for prayers too.
I am praying my baby can come home tomorrow night. I am really scared. Calistica has been very healthy and now all these things are happening at one after the other.
Poor Ray. I know it broke his heart when he saw his little girl in the cage in the ER. We didn't dare touch her and I then I looked at him and he was all red. I could tell his heart was breaking. He really adores Calistica.
I was trying to be brave for Calistica and I told her that they would make her feel better there
 
Re: 11/05 Calistica is hospitalized-possible kidney infectio

More hugs...it's so hard to leave them....lots of prayers for all of you.

Now...breathe...

Hugs,
 
Re: 11/05 Calistica is hospitalized-possible kidney infectio

Tons of healing vines and positive energy for sweet Calistica! And hugs for you and Ray. Happy Birthday Ray!
 
Re: 11/05 Calistica is hospitalized-possible kidney infectio

I know this brings back memories of when you hospitalized Petuly... I know you are a mess...I can imagine

Sending lots of prayers for Calistica...she is in good hands...
 
Re: 11/05 Calistica is hospitalized-possible kidney infectio

We are sending Calistica all the healing snowflakes from our 6" of snow last night, that's a lot of snowflakes.
And we wish Ray a happy birthday and are so sorry beloved Calistica is in the hospital for his birthday. Paws crossed she is home with you both very soon.
 
Re: 11/05 Calistica is hospitalized-possible kidney infectio

More snowflakes, light, and healing vines for your sweet baby that she will feel so much better tomorrow and be home soon.


Pyelonephritis will cause elevated kidney values in most circumstances. Did they start her on baytril? Kidney infections usually require 4-6 weeks on ABs and typically baytril.

While each radiologist obviously has their own protocol, it's still odd to me that they would fast her to look at her intestines, etc. I could buy a new car (ok...slight exaggeration) with the $$ I spent on U/Ss of every internal organ and still have never had anyone fast my cats. These are board certified radiologists, too, not technicians so it's interesting to me the different approaches but it is what it is and whatever helps your doctor help Calistica is the most important thing.



HAPPY BIRTHDAY RAY!!!!!
 

Attachments

  • Animated-snow-cute-cat.gif
    Animated-snow-cute-cat.gif
    170.1 KB · Views: 1,426
Re: 11/05 Calistica is hospitalized-possible kidney infectio

I just want to pass on hugs and wishes for a complete recovery. I know your hearts are so worried about your girl. She is in good hands, getting the care she needs so she can be back home with you guys.

Sending you lots of hugs.
 
Re: 11/05 Calistica is hospitalized-possible kidney infectio

Sending snowflakes, white light, healing vines prayers and positive vines to Calistica. She is a beautiful kitty and I hope she responds quickly and can return home to complete her recovery.
 
Re: 11/05 Calistica is hospitalized-possible kidney infectio

Dear Thelma and Ray,
We are sending positive thoughts, beautiful healing vines, and prayers to help Calistica tonight. I hope she will be able to come home tomorrow and that everything will be under control. She is a very brave kitty. Sending you strength and hugs,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 11/05 Calistica is hospitalized-possible kidney infectio

Sending healing vines and white light for a speedy recovery.
Antelope-Light-Dance.jpg
 
Re: 11/05 Calistica is hospitalized-possible kidney infectio

Thelma,
Hope you and Ray are hanging in there! I am sorry to hear about Calistica. Missy, Phoenix and I send her all our prayers and wishes for a speedy recovery!
 
Re: 11/05 Calistica is hospitalized-possible kidney infectio

Thanks so much everyone, for your prayers, healing vines, snowflakes, hugs and good wishes for Calitica's recovery.
Claudia the memories about Petuly are vivid in my mind and the transfusion faction really threw me over the edge. They were different circumstances totally but the transfusions didn't work for Petuly.

Marje, I don't know what antibiotic the vet was going to put Calistica on but it was going to be something other than Clamavox probably. I don't understand the fasting part. In the IBD group everyone is always told to fast their cats for a U/S. I will ask Calistica's vet tomorrow when she's back at the hospital after the weekend.
I will post an update as soon as the ER vet calls me today.
Thelma, Ray and Calistica
 
Re: 11/05 Calistica is hospitalized-possible kidney infectio

for what it's worth, I had to fast Jazzy for her abdominal ultrasound. Part of what they were looking at was her colon, and they wanted her to be empty (also in case they had to put her under to get the right view).

I hope Calistica is feeling better today. The IV will really help her.
 
Re: 11/05 Calistica is hospitalized-possible kidney infectio

Please update when you can. Calistica and you are in my thoughts. It's so hard to have a sick kitty!!
 
Re: 11/05 Calistica is hospitalized-possible kidney infectio

I haven't had much of a chance to get on the boards yesterday and am just seeing your condo. I know how worried you must be and I'll be sending tons of healing vines and prayers today. Hope you can take your sweet baby home with you today.
 
Re: 11/05 Calistica is hospitalized-possible kidney infectio

Sending Healing Prayers to your dear furbaby Calistica & hope she will be much beter & well real soon!
Hugs from us! Green Healing vines & hope it will all be fine.--Thinking of you all.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top