11/04 Shishi PMPS 212 +9 271 BG rising

Status
Not open for further replies.

will and shishi

Member Since 2010
Morning all

So two weeks ago it seems that I have found the right dose for Shishi, which was 3 units every 12 hrs. Injections were given on time for all of the shots.

I was holding the dose just shy of 1 week, and decided to increase it to 3.25 units every 12 hrs. I know some cat might respond to dose increase with high BG's, I ignored and held new dose.

Trying to get her preshot in the blues and nadirs in the greens but it seems that her BG is rising even after 4 days of dose increase.

I tested her for ketones and it turned out negative. She has had feline herpesvirus before and started to tear from 1 eye, don't know if this has anything to do with the elevated BG's. She has not had lysine for a while.

She threw me a curve ball yesterday and started to exhibit signs of neuropathy, kicking legs, unsettled and walking in circles and lying down and getting back up frequently and twitching legs and legs extended.

She has had neuropathy before her diagnosis ( Feb 2010) and after some insulin the neuropathy subsided. neuropathy started again when I took her off insulin for 1 week ( Aug 2010 ), again after reintroduction of insulin the neuropathy subsided.

But now the neuropathy is here with insulin and its strange to me, I want to see if it goes away on its own. if not I might have to try the right kind of B12.

Anyways, should I keep increasing the dose to 3.5 units after a few days, or is there something else I am not seeing.
 
Morning Will and Shishi! nice to see you!
Here is the link to your last post Oct 23: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=28038

Glad to see that you are going with the smaller increases now...nice and steady. We usually increase after 6 cycles by .25u so yes, I would go to the 3.50u if you will be able to watch. I have the feeling the increase might just bring on the greens. Let's see what others say...
Is there a way that you can post daily so that we can watch Shisi's progress?
We link the previous day's condo to the first post of each day....and that way, we can just click to see what transpired the day before.

I hope that others will be by to talk to you about the B12 for the neuropathy....
How is she acting and feeling? We watch for the 5 Ps each day:
Peeing
Preening
Popping pooping
Purring
Playing...
We report our WCR Whole Cat Report by using the 5 Ps...
Are you able to do a curve during the weekend?
 
Hello All

I will make a effort to post here everyday.

It will be difficult to answer the five P's but I will try, as I have to give a slight history of each.

Peeing - Before she was diabetic she has golf ball size pee, which was normal. After diabetes, she had baseball or softball size pees. When she was in the greens 2 weeks ago for the first time, on some days she would have golf ball size pee, and on some days it will be baseball or softball size pee. But now it will be baseball size.

And yes I know there is a difference in baseball and softball size, its around there depending on the days.

Preening - She used to always groom pre diabetes, after diagnosis (Feb 2010) she stopped grooming and sometimes would start to lick other surfaces other than herself. Eg carpet and my hands. Around Aug 2010 she started to have a bad coat. Dandruff started to appear on coat and stayed there up till now. She recently started to groom herself again in the last 2 weeks. And continues to do so but dandruff still present.

Popping - unsure of definition.

Purring - She used to always purr pre diabetes. About a year or half year pre diagnosis ( May 2009 ) She stopped purring all together. She recently started to purr again but not as loud about a month ago.

Playing - She has not chased anything or responded to toys for about 4 or 5 years now. The only form of playing she responds to is petting. She might play bite or grab my hands upon petting but thats about it. Not much change throughout diabetes.

I am able to do curves during the weekend.
 
Are you able to update your SS with today's numbers please Will...thank you.
My two don't really "play" any more. But we just report when any of the Ps appear during the day. How is she doing today....the walking around in circles is unusual. Is she still doing that?
 
I think Pat meant "pooping" not "popping" as that one P you didn't recognize!!

Will & Shishi said:
She threw me a curve ball yesterday and started to exhibit signs of neuropathy, kicking legs, unsettled and walking in circles and lying down and getting back up frequently and twitching legs and legs extended.

These don't really sound like symptoms of neuropathy to me. Generally, neuropathy involves a cat not walking on its toes. Instead, they walk on their hocks and may have some weakness in their legs. As a result, they don't jump or may have difficulty on slippery floors, climbing, etc.

Did you think to get a BG test when you saw the symptoms you noted? I wonder if Shishi's BG was low.
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
I think Pat meant "pooping" not "popping" as that one P you didn't recognize!!

Will & Shishi said:
She threw me a curve ball yesterday and started to exhibit signs of neuropathy, kicking legs, unsettled and walking in circles and lying down and getting back up frequently and twitching legs and legs extended.

These don't really sound like symptoms of neuropathy to me. Generally, neuropathy involves a cat not walking on its toes. Instead, they walk on their hocks and may have some weakness in their legs. As a result, they don't jump or may have difficulty on slippery floors, climbing, etc.

Did you think to get a BG test when you saw the symptoms you noted? I wonder if Shishi's BG was low.
i agree with sienne. those really don't sound like symptoms of neuropathy. i think you should talk to your vet about these symptoms.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top