11/03 Rufus AMPS 260, +7 259, PMPS 354

Status
Not open for further replies.

RuBee

Member Since 2010
Last Post: 10/25; start of fluctuation

Well, I've been gone for a while - my bug came back with a vengeance, and then I just tried to play catch up with Rufus' numbers. It didn't work. :YMSIGH:

On the 1st, I jogged Rufus' Lantus up to 0.75u. It hasn't seemed to make a dent quite yet, and for all I know it may not. I was reluctant to make any adjustment, considering that his numbers simply evened out on their own the last time he played this game, but... he's felt so awful, I just wanted to see if we could give him a boost.

Rufus went to the vet on the 28th, I think, where he acted perfectly normal ( :roll: ). He had some X-Rays done that showed narrow hip sockets and a little developing arthritis in the spinal column - we thought that might account for his slowed movements. Rufus was prescribed Buprenex, in the hopes of lowering his stress and pain and thus, his numbers. It definitely lowered the stress (he was one melllooooow guy) but his numbers didn't do squat. I believe he will be heading back to the vet soon enough for some bloodwork and a more thorough exam. He's just not acting right - I know part of that can be attributed to his elevated levels, but there's something else there. That and, even though we're feeding him nearly twice the amount of food of a higher calorie content, he's still losing weight. :sad:

Rufus, Rufus, Rufus... what have you gotten yourself into this time. ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 11/03 Rufus AMPS 260. We're back... and no better

I'm glad you increased Rufus' dose.

I'm surprised that your vet prescribed an opiate for Rufus. Bupe is a pretty heavy medication. Have you tried Cosequin or one of the other glucosamine/chondroiten compounds?
 
Re: 11/03 Rufus AMPS 260. We're back... and no better

sorry to hear your bug came back .. thats no fun ... I hope that you can get this all figured out at the vets before to long .. 260 isn't a bad place to start the day, but Im sure you'd like to see rufus lower .. try and have a good day guys!
 
Re: 11/03 Rufus AMPS 260. We're back... and no better

Hmm, wasn't aware Buprenex was an opiate, although I should have guessed. The happy-go-sleepy effect it had on him should have been evidence enough.

I think she was theorizing that Rufus' elevated numbers might be resulting from either stress or pain, and wanted to hit both possible culprits at once, although I don't think any of us really thought that pain was really his problem. I'm sure it will become an issue at some point, but the signs right now are fairly minor. The dose that he was prescribed was .2ml per 12-24 hours. We went with 24 hours. He mostly just slept in the sunlight in his (current) favorite chair and purred when he was pet. And it definitely cut back on the John-Finn beatings. :roll:

As for the other prodcuts... nope. We hadn't even considered arthritis until I noticed how slowly he was walking the day we brought him in.

(And thanks! It's good to be back... on my butt at the computer. :lol: )
 
Re: 11/03 Rufus AMPS 260. We're back... and no better

Oh Bee....sorry for the troubles....and I ma glad you increased his dose. This is the 5th cycle already on the .75u isn't it? I am sorry also about the weight loss....and I hope with the vet's help. you can get to the bottom of his issues. You know him best and if he doesn't seem "right" to you, maybe there is something bugging him. Bloodwork is a good next step.
Sending healing vines to Rufus...feel better soon boy!
 
Re: 11/03 Rufus AMPS 260. We're back... and no better

Hoping the vet finds the source of Rufus's problems. Sending lots of healing and calming vines for him and you.
 
Re: 11/03 Rufus AMPS 260. We're back... and no better

sending lots of healing vines your way...hope things get better quickly.

hope you don't mind a lighthearted comment here...but Rufus Ruffies ? :smile:

celi & binks
 
Re: 11/03 Rufus AMPS 260. We're back... and no better

sending lots of healing vines for Rufus hope he gets to feeling better really soon for you
 
Re: 11/03 Rufus AMPS 260. We're back... and no better

Welcome back, we've missed you two. Sorry things aren't going better, but I'm glad you're taking him back to the vet. After all, you know Rufus, and if you think there's something more going on, there most likely is. I hope it gets figured out soon and that you both feel better.
 
Re: 11/03 Rufus AMPS 260, +7 259

Curiouser and curiouser. Rufus (even with the dose increase) is just not budging. His AMPS and +7 varied by one point. He nommed on a chunk of Winnie's food, but thankfully it was the good stuff (that bologna-type stuff), so the carb count should be lower than the average cheap canned food for dogs.

I am really not impressed by the lack of reaction we're getting from the .75, and since tonight will be the 6th cycle, I think it might be time to go back to 1.00u starting tomorrow. I hope this will be the appropriate dose for him. Goodness, he does like to jump around, though!

(And thank you, everybody. We'll get Rufus feeling better as soon as possible. As for myself - I'm just peachy keen now, so he doesn't have any excuse to hold on to whatever he's got! ;-) )
 
PMPS 354. Yuck... but not unexpected. 1.00u starting in the morning. Not much to be said other than, "GAH!". We'll see how tomorrow goes. (It will look something like this: @-) ). See you all. :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top