11/03 bailey uk. yet more advice pleae!

Status
Not open for further replies.

anna and bailey.uk england

Member Since 2014
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=127701

first of all id like to point out we're sat snuggled on the sofa in our usual speck! puuuurfect night!

im just a little worried im doing the right thing! some have said you'll see low numbers then high numbers on a bounce for too much insulin some have said constant highs. its all abit contradictory. I just need abit of reassurance im doing the right thing.at the mo im doing everything via protocol .this is all soooooo frustrating! :=(
its odd theres absolutely nothing wrong,food not changed yet were heading up. I don't care what we get to as long as hes better! I just don't seem to be getting anywhere...................

although I must tell you all...........................I have a boy who hates going out yet ran out into the carpark wed night so I ran after him.managed to grab him after much hissing and booing (which is what happens when he leaves the confines of my flat) but then I slipped and headbutted the wall.it was either that or drop the boy and I wasn't doing that so mamabean now has an egg on her head and a horrid wound on her nose! the things we do :roll:
 
Hi Anna - it is so frustrating when you don't see any movement. Right now I'm taking Neko up in dose and she hasn't been that high for almost two years. No idea why, but sometimes they just need more juice. Some have noticed it's a seasonal thing and I did notice I had to increase Neko this time last year. I too worry about being overdose, but as long as Bailey has a bit of a curve going, and he did go down at least 100 points today so he's not high and flat, and you are following the protocol for increases (which you have), then it's very unlikely he's overdose. Just keep on increasing every 4 cycles by .5U until you see some blue at which point you can slow the increases. You'll get there. :YMHUG: Some cats just need more juice. Is his weight stable? The fact that he's feeling good and getting into trouble is a good sign.

Healing vines for your head - that sounds painful.
 
looking back at his spreadsheet, he was up to 9u before he started coming down in dose. I suspect that he's been sitting in high numbers for so long that it's just taking more insulin to move his blood sugar down. I'd stick with the 4 shots and increase until you're seeing significantly better numbers, Anna, nadirs under 200 at least.

Are you sure he got checked for iaa before? I was thinking it was only acromegaly that you had him checked for. If you have those test result numbers, could you post them for us and add them in his spreadsheet, please? I keep thinking his spreadsheet looks like a cat with acromegaly - going up and down in dose like this. But I could certainly be wrong. If I remember correctly, we haven't seen his test numbers, though, and that would be helpful.

I don't think he's on too much insulin at all. There's absolutely nothing to make me think that. I think he needs more insulin.

Your poor head! ouch! but you saved your boy! :-D well done!
 
hi Julie, he was tested for absolutely everything. hes had scans to check all kinds, xrays, numerous bloods,a specialist whos gone in with a camera to see why his spleen was enlarged but EVERYTHING came back negative. tests for IAA,Acro,FIV,FIP, pancreatitis, muscle disease, kidneys, dental check.......the list goes on but id be here all day ;-)hes had a complete overhaul. he was in 4 times to the vets for all these different things but barr diabetes hes a healthy boy. it just doesn't make sense! I haven't got the test results now but I can ring the vet and get them again.

meanwhile we'll up that dose again today! :roll:
 
it might be that looking at his tests would help us see something that has gotten missed.

many people add a tab onto their spreadsheets just for labwork. I have one on punkin's ss. You can copy the whole column with the names of tests and paste it into a page for Bailey if you want. You'll need to check the reference ranges (what a lab considers normal) because that can vary between labs, depending on how they do their tests.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top