11/02 Wilson AMPS 17.8, +3/9.9, +4/7.3, +5/6.3, +6/6, +7/6.2 PMPS 35+, +2/35+

Status
Not open for further replies.
Ok. First, breathe, and know most of the people coming here have been there. 178 is nothing to be concerned about, though it’s lower than usual. It’s highly unlikely you’ll see dangerous levels (but DO be viligent). It’s more likely that you’ll see a bounce in the coming days when the liver panics about lower numbers.

In this case, I’d keep a close watch, but remain calm. You may be close to the right dose!
 
Haha! I’ve totally been there! All I got in return was a poked up, angry kitty. If you’re feeling particularly anxious text him once an hour, max. Seriosuly, don’t go poking more until he gets around 80. I, frankly, don’t think you’ll get there, but if you do, you can switch to 30min if it’ll ease your worry. Don’t fear the insulin!
 
Thank @Elizabeth B. My stomach is churning. How often should I check him? I feel like I should every 5 minutes...
You are ok. :bighug: I know how scary it is. How long ago was the +3? I would test @ +4 but you do what makes you comfortable and what Wilson will tolerate (love his name btw).

Plenty of strips and HC gravy food?
 
Looking good still. Got 6 +6. Slowing down more. Feeling more relaxed now.
So the next question is how many units do I give for PM shot. Of course I'll keep testing but if he is say under 10 or 15 should I still give a shot? If so a reduced shot? Reduce by how much?
 
79351AA7-BCF0-4A4F-9622-8688F03D39BA.jpeg
 
I can see the right sheet now and today’s numbers. What a great day!!! SLGS stands for start low, go slow and TR stands for tight regulation. These are the two protocols the board uses for dosing. If you haven’t seen the sticky, be sure to check it out.

I don’t know your cat like you do, so while he is slowing in his decrease he may drop further. That said, if I were planning to be around the next cycle, I’d be inclined to hold the dose and see how it goes.
 
I won't be online tomorrow AM (your PM). Hubby takes Sunday AM duty so I get one morning to sleep in and catch up on rest.

Odds are that Wilson will bounce (but he might not, especially with the food change).

Please update the thread title when you shoot PM with the standard format (using mine for an example: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/02-10-18-texas-gizmo-pmps-199-2-210-4-5-161.190947/)

and if you get into trouble modify the thread title with "Help" and change the prefix to a "?"

upload_2018-2-10_21-4-16.png

upload_2018-2-10_21-3-3.png


If you don't get any response here - post over on the main forum. Carla (@carfurby) is usually up around the time you should shoot your PM shot (I am too except for Sundays). Also @Girlie's mom is in Australia. I have tagged them and hopefully they can check on you.

You did great tonight!! I am off to bed.
 
Well, I'm no-one to offer guidance at all however from all I have seen and read through the past months and if you will be around to check on the venerable Wilson you might wish to hold the dose but do post up the PMPS number .
 
Well as expected Wilson bounced. And hard! PMPS over 35. The meter read HI. He did however get into the other cats dry food 40 minutes before the test. Luckily it was MD. I don't know how much he ate. Would this have affected the result in that short amount of time? I gave him his usual 2.5 units and and still gave him his raw food. This has no carbs. Seems I am starting all over again tomorrow. :(
 
Last edited:
He did however get into the other cats dry food 40 minutes before the test. Luckily it was MD. I don't know how much he ate. Would this have affected the result in that short amount of time?

Yes! If a cat gets into food before a test, 10-15 minutes after eating is usually ok, but after that you'll have food-influenced numbers. That's why we try to not feed 2h before a PS test.

He could also be bouncing from the lovely blues.

You'll see where he is tomorrow! Keep at it :)

Can you get a +2 or before-bed test tonight?
 
Got HI on the meter again @ +2. No more tests today. His poor ears have taken a beating today. Hopefully AMPS will be a lot better.
 
Not surprising he bounces. That’s ok. He’ll stop bouncing when he gets used to being in lower numbers. Glad you didn’t reduce. He didn’t quite earn a reduction.
 
Well, I'm no-one to offer guidance at all however from all I have seen and read through the past months and if you will be around to check on the venerable Wilson you might wish to hold the dose but do post up the PMPS number .
Should shoot usual dose unless a reduction has been earned. In this case he didn’t earn one.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top