11/02 Buddy AMPS 353 PMPS 403 +2.5 374 +5 387

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 11/02 Buddy AMPS 353

Buddy, buddy, buddy ... what are you doing up on the pink floor? That color does not look good on you ... come on back down now, ok? Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 11/02 Buddy AMPS 353

Thanks, you too!

Thinking about buying fresh insulin. The vial is about 2.5 mos old and I have no real way to tell if it is any good. Can't judge on loss of regulation, he's never been regulated.
 
Re: 11/02 Buddy AMPS 353

Good idea about getting new insulin. Hope that will show some better numbers. Of course, he could be getting wonderful blues and greens at night when no one is looking...or testing...yeah, maybe THAT'S it....
:roll: Was that a good enough hint Tony?? :mrgreen:
Hope you have a Happy Tuesday...
 
Re: 11/02 Buddy AMPS 353

I know Pat. Trying to keep on top of things, not so very easy. Hopefully starting a new job in 2 weeks with a 30-40min commute. Sigh, breath. That's life changing again. . . .

Let's talk new vial for a second. He is unregulated, no way of telling makup of the current vial. Should I consider taking dose down a little with the new one or just watching him like a hawk the first few days? Man I gotta save up for this. . .

Tony
 
Re: 11/02 Buddy AMPS 353

I don't reduce the dose with new Lantus. If you're concerned that your Lantus is toasty, I'd just keep an eye on the numbers and if you're really concerned, start the new juice when you can be around to monitor.

Most of us by pens vs. vials. It's more expensive for the initial outlay but it ends up being more economical because there's less waste. You might call around for pricing or, look at this info that Jill posted about discounts on Lantus.
 
Re: 11/02 Buddy AMPS 353

Sienne,

I saw the discount coupon really doesn't get the 5X3mL packs less than about $190. So I've been contemplating canadadrugsonline. Is there any worry that shipping beats up the insulin (shaking, jostling etc.) Even though package may not be beaten up, doesn't mean it was handled all that gently. . . I've seen a lot of people who use this source for Lantus only use it for 30 days/cartridge. I was hoping to be confident with at least 2 mos./cartridge/pen. Just curious, about to pull trigger soon. My vial was pushed off the table 1X and is almost 2.5 mos. old. . . .

Tony
 
Re: 11/02 Buddy AMPS 353 PMPS 403

Your insulin may be done... and it's more economical in the long run to get the multi cartridges... can't speak for the source - I'm already in Canada and relative affortability of lantus is one of the few advantages that we have...

I also agree with Pat... you need more spot checks. Even if Buddy needs more insulin, people will be extremely reluctant to provide you with any kind of advice if you only have PS values. No pressure... just saying.
 
Re: 11/02 Buddy AMPS 353 PMPS 403

Helen,

Working on more numbers tonight. Frankly, I've hit the wall and am worn out by all this. I'm close to breaking down and buying more insulin. Wish my Vet had mentioned the pens/cartridges when she wrote the script. Would have done that straight away. Now I gotta buck up for $190 at Costco, or trust canada drugs online. The supplier I might be able to trust, just the shippers I'm not so sure they'll treat the package gently enough to not beat up the insulin. . .


Tony
 
Re: 11/02 Buddy AMPS 353 PMPS 403

Hi Tony - I trusted the same Canadian pharmacy that you are contemplating. It arrived wrapped in an ice pack and the box was very safely packed inside a styrofoam box. The little cartridges have almost no air in them, so I'm not sure how much aggitation they endured. They seem to work just fine. There are folks here that change out their cartridges every 28 days and there are folks here that use their cartridges all the way to the end and the box of 5 cartridges of 3 mls each last them a year. I am on my first cartridge, so I'm just passing along the information I gleaned from LL when I was trying to make the same decision you are currently. The last vial I bought came from Walmart pharmacy and it was $102.

There are stickies in the Supply Closet about discount pharmacy cards, I haven't used one but lots of folks here do. and here is a link: http://www.felinediabetes.com/phorum5/r ... 12,1772312.

Also here is a link to Binky's frugal feline diabetes page - maybe it will have some good suggestions for you.
http://binkyspage.tripod.com/frugal.html

Here is a google shopping page I just pulled up - there is a $100 vial listed, http://www.pharmacyrxworld.com/buy-Lant ... ridge.html $115 with free shipping, http://www.drugworldcanada.com/Insulin/Lantus/. here is a link for a $75 vial, http://www.bessed.com/lantusinsulinprice/

link for $65 vial http://www.northdrugstore.com/view.cart.php $82 vial http://www.canadamedicineshop.com/index ... d/5476.htm $95 for cartridges here: http://www.pharmacyrxworld.com/buy-Lant ... inges.html

the pens are supposed to be the best deal, but a vial for $65 ... not too terrible.

I don't know what to tell you. Good luck with it.
 
I've never used the cartridges, but it seems like they would ship much better than a vial would. I also did not change the dose when starting new insulin, but I did wait for a day when I would be home for 2 days to be able to monitor closely.
 
Tony --

Are you sure about the discount card on Lantus? The person who told Jill about the discount card got her Lantus for 75% off the retail price. I think she paid $49 for a pack of 5 pens. You might want to call around or stop by a local pharmacy with the card and see what they say the price will be.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top