Is there a better way or something I'm not doing when stacking multiple numbers in a box so that they don't appear partially hidden?
You did it correctly on the 28th but the font just needs to be smaller. So click on the box, then click on the number to the left of the "B" for "bold". The numbers are the font size. Just select 7 or 8 and you should be able to see all the numbers in the box.
Sandy has a great point...the +10/+11 test will show you if he's coming up, still going down, etc. I will very often get a +10 for Gracie so I know where she's been when I get ready to shoot at the next PS.
Remind me what time you shoot.....if it's earlier than 6 my time, I'll be around to look for you and help but I'm thinking you shoot around 9 which is 7 my time and I'll be out again for a while tonight. But if I'm not around, hopefully someone will be. However, a few example scenarios (Julie left some on your condo from yesterday).
Let's say he continues to come up without food the remainder of the cycle but then dips back down into the 70s at shot time. I'd recommend you go ahead and shoot the regular dose on time, feed LC, test at +1 and +2 to start. If he's still coming down, feed a couple more tsps LC or as we say, "lather rise repeat" until he stops. Could he come lower? yes, he could but you will be testing and you can give him some HC to bring him up if he's getting around 50 and you are getting nailbite_smile nailbite_smile But you are going to be testing and you are starting to get an idea of how he responds to food. You did a GREAT job today. Have confidence.
Example 2: the carbs you gave him earlier wear off and he starts back down so by PMPS, he's at 60. The best thing to do, because he wouldn't have been dropping very much very fast, is to shoot the normal dose on time, feed his normal LC helping, test/feed as necessary at +1 and +2. You can even get a +.5 to start with if you are really nervous. He may very well come back down on you but it's Saturday night and no time like the present to learn to deal with those lower numbers. ;-) Can you stall? Yes you can but what I've often seen happen is the number continues to drop to the point where you are forced to skip. Whereas if you shoot the 60 and feed, you have a better chance of getting the numbers to start coming up a bit before he onsets. Does that make sense?
When Gracie was on lantus, she loved to drop all cycle and give me a 50 something at PMPS. I learned early to shoot, feed to bring the numbers up before onset. Sometimes with her, I'd give her a little something right before +10 to slow the drop into PMPS because if I didn't, I knew she'd be around 50 at PMPS and then keep dropping even if I fed her. ECID. That's normally not necessary to do but with her, I had to. I think I've only skipped two shots from low numbers in +4 years. The first was just what I described above....she was 81 @ PMPS, I stalled, she dropped and kept dropping until she was 49 and I couldn't shoot. I should have shot the 81 because I had dealt with low numbers and could have handled it. The second time, she was in the 40s at PMPS and after two hours and a little food, was still in the 40s so I had to skip.
Example 3: he's below 50 at PMPS. Stall, don't feed, test every 20-30 mins, when he's on the rise
reduce the dose to 2u, and shoot. Why reduce the dose? Because if he goes below 50, he earns a reduction.
Please feel free to let me know what questions you have.