Re: 11.01.13 Shadow AMPS~89
MORE BEAUTIFUL NUMBERS!!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
saw this from last night:
Hell, my friend tests herself at least twice a day so why shouldn't cats?
BINGO!!
Can you believe from shooting blind 2U BID to this in just a couple weeks!

WOW!
I think you should share with your vet in detail what you are doing. Maybe it will help her to better understand and help another patient in the future.
Many cannot conceptualize how these teensie amounts of insulin can do anything..but your kitty is case in point. It can!
When we were first DX that vet would have started us on 3UBID to be
'conservative'. I found this out only later because I asked for my records after we moved on and saw it in the notes. Turns out 1U BID was too much for Hank pretty quickly. He also responded to micro-doses. So by the time we try vet #3 we were already well on our way down the dosing ladder with help from the wonderful folks here. However had no vet at this point.. and what if the insulin dropped/broke or something else were to happen? So we tried another vet who I heard had a diabetic cat of her own. Figured I could learn something and she would 'get it'. While she was impressed with our charts and fine with home testing,..she herself tested her own cat only every now and then
'if he looks funny'. Said he is rarely under 200. I thought to myself, well how do you know he wasn't this morning? ;-)
By then we were on .50 or .25U which she just thought was not enough to even bother. (or measure). She said fine to take him off then not conceiving that .25 much less LESS than that was even doing anything. We continued for at least another couple weeks.. going from .25, .10, drop, then....
essence of insulin ;-). I wanted it to stick! Sometimes I think taking them off is almost as scary as putting them on. :lol:
Regardless you now 'get it'. And the more people who do get it the better for more kitties who you hope can get OTJ.
So happy for you and your boy! He must feel so much better!!