10th July - Karre AMPS 5.2 / 94 (Relapse Condo)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Morning Jane and what beautiful greens for Karre today. It looks like he is getting back on track. Have a good morning and scritches to Karre.
 
Keep in mind that for a long term diabetic, especially one who's back from the Falls, numbers need to drop below 40 for a decrease or you need 7 days of nearly all green numbers.

I hope Karre is feeling good.
 
Thanks Sienne. We're definitely keeping the points you raise in mind. Karre's most likely not a classic "long term diabetic" though, since he only needed insulin for 5 weeks after his diagnosis, and then spent three and a half years being completely off it :-) His insulin-dependent days were few, thank goodness. So we know he's got a very good chance of being weaned off the juice again.

We'll hope for a few all-green cycles. Thank goodness, as shown in his SS, the "nearly all green" criterion has definitely been approached, and if he keeps up the numbers he's had, and even improves them a smidge, he'll hopefully qualify for his next decrease. But we're not in a rush. Karre needs to be safe and do this in his own time. We read up again on the Tilly-Protocol's guidelines, of course, since that's what we stuck to under LL guidance the first brief time Karre needed insulin assistance.

Quoted from the Tilly Protocol (www.tillydiabetes.net):
"When the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a healthy cat and stays under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week, attempt to reduce the dose. Alternatively, if the nadir glucose concentration is 40 - <50 mg/dl at least three times on separate days, try lowering the dose. If the cat drops below 40 mg/dl once, reduce the dose immediately! The reduction is done very slowly in a step-by-step manner (0.25 or 0.5 IU increments). At each newly reduced dose, try to make sure the cat is still stable in the normal range before reducing the dose further."

Thanks for keeping us aware of the safest practise, Sienne! It's great to have you giving us feedback!
Jane
 
Re: 10th July - Karre AMPS 5.2 / 94 - Update (+8)

A bit of an update on this cycle:

AMPS 5.2 / 94
(+1) 5.0 / 90
(+2) 4.8 / 86
(+3) 4.6 / 83
(+4) 4.6 / 83
(+5) 5.4 / 97
(+7) 5.5 / 99
(+8) 5.4 / 97

Looking at his SS over the past 5 days - What do you guys think, Sienne, Libby, Michelle, everyone? Should we stick to the 0.5u, or try to bump it up to 0.75u to help him into all-green cycles?

Jane
 
Hi! I completely missed your posts before now. :oops: I'm glad to see you guys again - yet also sorry since Karre's fallen off the insulin wagon. Looks like he's making a very good start towards OTJ again, though. If this was cause by a pancreatitis flare, he should settle down again nicely. :)
 
Re: 10th July - Karre AMPS 5.2/94 -- PMPS 4.9/88

Camille and Cyclone said:
Hi! I completely missed your posts before now. :oops: I'm glad to see you guys again - yet also sorry since Karre's fallen off the insulin wagon. Looks like he's making a very good start towards OTJ again, though. If this was cause by a pancreatitis flare, he should settle down again nicely. :)

Quite so, Camille! Lovely to see you too, and at such an exciting time for Salem!

Yes, it's unfortunate that Karre fell off the wagon for a bit. But you're right, he does seem to be heading for his second gum-chewing trial! Especially with tonight's very first green PMPS :-) Fab progress!

Again the dosing question: With this progress, we feel he's ok on the 0.5u, and we'll wait until he drops low or gives us a good few days of all-green. What does everyone think?

Jane
 
Dosing should follow the rules as much as possible. (Not that I always do that myself!) Yes, IMO stick with .5 until he drops lower or you have a week of green. You test plenty enough to catch drops.
 
Thanks, Camille. Sienne has reminded us of the importance of being diligent with the protocol. You're both right of course, and we will be good beans and follow the rules :-)

We're so grateful to have the wonderful support we've been offered here. Thank you all so much!
We're so happy about the first all-green cycle!

Jane
 
No dosing advice here, just wanted to pop in and meet y'all. Sorry Karre has had to go back on insulin, hopin' it's for a brief time!

Keep up the beautiful numbers, Karre, and y'all have a great day -

Libby (& Hershey, too!)
 
Hi Jane,
I am sorry to see you 2 back(but glad and very nice to meet you this moring!)
Nice surfin the greens today!
hopefully it will not be long before Karre is off the juice again(anti-jinx!!!)
:mrgreen:
 
Thank you both, it's nice to meet you, too :-) Karre gave us 2 all-green cycles in a row, hooray! Hopefully, he's started a trend and will do the same today!

His new condo will up shortly.
Jane
 
hi jane! i've admired your beautiful pictures of your fur family.

although if all of the numbers are under 120, i think you would just hold the dose and after 7 days in that range, then try to sneak a decrease and see if he holds. as long as he is in numbers under 120, his pancreas can heal.

with the numbers you've posted, i'd probably just be patient and wait for the 7 days of all greens. he's looking great.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top