10th/11th Feb: Tyler &M: 10th AMPS=227:+6=164:+9=182:PMPS=forgots:+3=160: 11th AMPS=335: PMPS=297

Status
Not open for further replies.

PussCatPrince - GA

Member Since 2017
May the poop be with you.

Evening all from Poop Palace.

Tyler remains on the 1 unit of insulin. There is no plan in my head for me to change that at all for the time being unless his numbers rocket down to lime green or blast up into black. Reasons being that his diet is completely to pot now ; the diarrhea ; we see the vet Tuesday. I'm looking at the dose as a holding dose.

Tyler also mostly remains under the downstairs bedroom bed where he has a 270 degree view of any feet approaching to check the bum area. Not daft is this cat & I do not blame him at all for this. He has also picked the place nearest the shower room where he can poop free & comfy in one of 3 trays , thereby saving energy on those wobbly legs of his. From there he can then make his way direct to the kitchen , wherein lies the magical grotto, the food cupboard.

He didn't go for a walk today. Neither did we. It's torrential rains out there.

I've obviously been spending quite a bit of time cleaning and renewing trays, cleaning flooring and carpet from where his soiled tail or bum comes into contact + his tail area which is now looking rather bare of fur. :(

The diet: Process of elimination. He is currently getting nothing but the renal dry. No B12 tabs with pink coating. No wet. This is not at all what I want of course but I am trying to see if this firms up the poop at all , as dry kibble ( I think you guys call it that) was what he was fed in the hospital.
I already tried the pro-biotics, pumpkin, SEB with wet food before he was admitted and it made no difference so this is what I try now.
Of course, it may be the fluids/drip + the B12 shots+ the dry kibble stuff firmed up his stools . It may be that no insulin re diabetes did something as diabetics can be plagued with diarrhea or constipation.

Looking at Tylers numbers, I think the vet might wish to decrease the dose not increase the dose. This will be hard for me but I really want for me and this vet to work together re. Tyler and the way to go with that is not to butt heads but to allow him, the vet, his space to think it all through just as he allows me to blather on. I do not view this as a risk at all as I am free to over ride at any time. In any case Tylers diet is no good at all at the mometn and until that is settled , I cannot follow either method for control.
He , the vet, printed off a tome on pancreatitis for me to read. I had already seen but it shows he is a thinking man.

Ty is otherwise alert . Wanting to eat, wobble , walk and poop. Sounds a lot like my rascal of a Dad was right up to his final days.

Mr Poodle Cut Poop Puss is still in the zone.

M
 
Update on Sunday evening:
For the first time ever I just caught him doing the licking lips thing.
So. I have to get off all the renal dry . Add in a little renal wet and a whole lot of water to make a soup.
 
Mr Poodle Cut Poop Puss is still in the zone.

I love your names for him :D

Here's hoping that you find the "purrfect" (or close to perfect) food for Ty and that his poos harden up! Happy to hear that he is still moving around, eating, pooping, etc. Hugs to you and Ty! :bighug:
 
May the poop be with you! :joyful::joyful::joyful:

I'm glad you've kept your sense of humor throughout this ordeal with Ty and his poor rear end. I hope you find the right mix of food that firms up the issue for once and for all! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top