107 Preshot - Should I give insulin?

Status
Not open for further replies.
My cat powder was diagnosed 4 weeks ago (538). I started home testing and changed his food to fancy feast. For the first few weeks his numbers were amost always over 200 sometimes over 300 on 1 unit of Lantus. I increased to 1.5 units and his numbers came down under 200. For the last four days his preshot numbers have been low around 107 so I lowered his dose back to 1 unit. He has been staying low. I have to work so I have not been able to test throughout the day therefore I do not know if he is getting even lower during the day. Should I keep giving him this dose if his preshot numbers are low or should I bring it down to .5 units? Please help!
 
Dear Caryn -

Hopefully you've not given the dose already. I would call anything under 200 a "no shot". For my guy, my magic number is 250 and I reduce the dose to half.

If you have given the shot already, be sure to check him VERY regularly - as you don't want his numbers to drop so severely he goes hypoglycemic. Test every half hour to hour, and report back. If he gets below probably about 65, put the red 911 (above as you're writing your post) which will draw the attention of some more experienced folks here.

Good luck!

Lu-Ann

PS - were you my neighbor in Bromley Hall???
 
Whether or not to shoot depends very much on your comfort zone, which protocol you are following and how much data you have on your kitty. Without a spreadsheet to check it would be very difficult for anyone to give you advice to shoot however Lantus kitties on the tight regulation protocol (what I'm following) are regularly shot safely well below 100 and even in the 50s - when the carer is data ready to do so. The key thing is safety so if you're not sure it's okay don't do it. Please set up a spreadsheet as soon as you can. The link to help you do so is here:

http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=50130
 
If you were following the lantus TR protocol and IF you had lots of data gathered that showed you all those mid-cycle numbers, then it would be possible to give a shot on a number like that. Lantus dosing us based on the lowest point of the cycle, the nadir, rather than on the preshot numbers. The best place for you to post a lantus specfic dosing question is in the TR forum. Make sure your subject line says something like "new lantus user dosing help needed!" It is a very busy forum but lots of experience there. Until yiu have enough data to know that ut is safe to shoot, you should skip when in doubt on a number below 200.

Carl
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top